We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A very nice place.” 5 of 5 stars
Review of River Grill

River Grill
55 W Lake Blvd, Tahoe City, CA 96145
530-581-2644
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #9 of 56 Restaurants in Tahoe City
Certificate of Excellence
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic
Dining options: Drinks, Dinner, Reservations
Brentwood, California, United States
Level Contributor
61 reviews
35 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“A very nice place.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 2, 2013

This is the second time we have eaten here, both times have been very good. The meals are very good with good taste and presentation. Do get a reservation, we were there on a Wed.and it filled up in a hurry at 6 pm.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

121 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    56
    52
    8
    2
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Truckee, CA
Level Contributor
226 reviews
172 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 92 helpful votes
“Wonderful dinner great service”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 22, 2013

We arrived for happy hour, (great happy hour menu...the burger, fries and Cesar for $11.00 looked really good... We'll be back to try), had a couple of really good margaritas before seating done for dinner.
We had the Lamb Shank and beef tenderloin filet, both were very good. The fish of the night sounded wonderful as well...but I have yet to cook a good lamb so I always try it when it's on the menu.
The serving size was more than we should have eaten in one seating for the lamb, and the tenderloin was the perfect size. And we made room for dessert, creme brûlée that was good, but not the best we've every had. (The Lodge in Tahoe Donner has the best creme burllee).
The service was friendly and attentive for being a busy restaurant.
We'll be back!

  • Visited May 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
fremont MI
Level Contributor
61 reviews
50 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“great food, casual friendly people”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 18, 2013

My wife, adult son and partner and I had great food--the seared ahi starter was very fine, the beet salad outstanding, and the four entrees--sea bass, braised short ribs, turkey meatloaf and grilled pork chop, were all very tasty and well prepared. Service was prompt and friendly, recommendations were helpful, and the place was buzzing with happpy folks. The only potential negative is the relativley high noise level--certainly affected by joyful patrons but also by hard surfaces and a lot of people in the space. That said, we will happily return the next time we're in the Tahoe area.

  • Visited March 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tahoe City
Level Contributor
13 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“One of the best restaurants on the North Shore”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 14, 2013

The River Grill in Tahoe City is our "go to" place. If you are looking for a great dining experience that includes great food, fun atmosphere with professional and friendly staff at a reasonable price, go to the River Grill. In the summer months they have outdoor dining along the Truckee River and often times there is great live music. Our most recent visit was Valenties Day......

  • Visited February 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
110 reviews
65 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
“Good, without being particularly special”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 26, 2013

A decent place to eat. Nice location by the river. Centrally located by the main intersection in Tahoe City. But nothing really special. Menu was a bit eclectic. Service was a little bit slow as the place was quite busy. Overall fine without being extraordinary or particularly special.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed River Grill also viewed

Tahoe City, Lake Tahoe (California)
Tahoe City, Lake Tahoe (California)
 
Tahoe City, Lake Tahoe (California)
Tahoe City, Lake Tahoe (California)
 

Been to River Grill? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage River Grill, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.