We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful dinner great service” 5 of 5 stars
Review of River Grill

River Grill
55 W Lake Blvd, Tahoe City, CA 96145
530-581-2644
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #3 of 53 Restaurants in Tahoe City
Certificate of Excellence 2014
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic
Dining options: Dinner, Reservations
Truckee, CA
Top Contributor
206 reviews 206 reviews
160 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 54 cities Reviews in 54 cities
84 helpful votes 84 helpful votes
“Wonderful dinner great service”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 22, 2013

We arrived for happy hour, (great happy hour menu...the burger, fries and Cesar for $11.00 looked really good... We'll be back to try), had a couple of really good margaritas before seating done for dinner.
We had the Lamb Shank and beef tenderloin filet, both were very good. The fish of the night sounded wonderful as well...but I have yet to cook a good lamb so I always try it when it's on the menu.
The serving size was more than we should have eaten in one seating for the lamb, and the tenderloin was the perfect size. And we made room for dessert, creme brûlée that was good, but not the best we've every had. (The Lodge in Tahoe Donner has the best creme burllee).
The service was friendly and attentive for being a busy restaurant.
We'll be back!

  • Visited May 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

104 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    49
    45
    7
    1
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
fremont MI
Top Contributor
61 reviews 61 reviews
50 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
“great food, casual friendly people”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 18, 2013

My wife, adult son and partner and I had great food--the seared ahi starter was very fine, the beet salad outstanding, and the four entrees--sea bass, braised short ribs, turkey meatloaf and grilled pork chop, were all very tasty and well prepared. Service was prompt and friendly, recommendations were helpful, and the place was buzzing with happpy folks. The only potential negative is the relativley high noise level--certainly affected by joyful patrons but also by hard surfaces and a lot of people in the space. That said, we will happily return the next time we're in the Tahoe area.

  • Visited March 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tahoe City
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“One of the best restaurants on the North Shore”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 14, 2013

The River Grill in Tahoe City is our "go to" place. If you are looking for a great dining experience that includes great food, fun atmosphere with professional and friendly staff at a reasonable price, go to the River Grill. In the summer months they have outdoor dining along the Truckee River and often times there is great live music. Our most recent visit was Valenties Day......

  • Visited February 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
91 reviews 91 reviews
58 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 39 cities Reviews in 39 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
“Good, without being particularly special”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 26, 2013

A decent place to eat. Nice location by the river. Centrally located by the main intersection in Tahoe City. But nothing really special. Menu was a bit eclectic. Service was a little bit slow as the place was quite busy. Overall fine without being extraordinary or particularly special.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Top Contributor
144 reviews 144 reviews
82 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 75 cities Reviews in 75 cities
125 helpful votes 125 helpful votes
“Very nice meal”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 23, 2013 via mobile

I had the lasagne with Spinich and mushroom. It was really really good. The waitstaff was friendly but it took a very long time to pay the bill. In not sure what the issue was as the restaurant was mostly empty by the time I was done. The bar was packed with boisterous locals. I read my book! :-) I'd eat here again.

    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed River Grill also viewed

Tahoe City, Lake Tahoe (California)
Tahoe City, Lake Tahoe (California)
 
Tahoe City, Lake Tahoe (California)
Tahoe City, Lake Tahoe (California)
 

Been to River Grill? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage River Grill, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.