We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Why did I not know about this place?” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Christy Hill Restaurant

Christy Hill Restaurant
115 Grove St, Tahoe City, CA 96145
530-583-8551
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Reserve with OpenTable
Christy Hill Restaurant is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #2 of 54 Restaurants in Tahoe City
Price range: $30 - $30
Cuisines: Seafood, Contemporary, Californian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romance, Local cuisine, Outdoor seating, Special occasions, Scenic view
Dining options: Dinner, Reservations, Late Night
Dining style: Casual Elegant
Transit: Bus stop available right across the street.
Nevada
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Why did I not know about this place?”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 14, 2013

A friend recently recommended this place. I've been coming to Tahoe for many years and just hadn't stumbled across this jewel. The location is exceptional. Great lake views. Food was 5 star! I had the Halibut and my wife the Scallops. Yum! Service was perfect - just right amount of attention without being intrusive. Recommend reservations as they seemed to be turning lots of people away. Prices are fair for the quality and location.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

110 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    69
    22
    11
    3
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Frederick, Maryland
Top Contributor
104 reviews 104 reviews
71 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 39 cities Reviews in 39 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
“Leery, then loved it.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 1, 2013

I was leery after reading some recent reviews, but we just finished a great dinner. Very appealing vichyssoise. Loved the bib salad, fresh, light, delicious. The new Moroccan lamb dish was terrific. It paired really well with the Argentinian old vine Malbec on their list.

My husband was disappointed in the bison short ribs, but he HATES pot roast and the ribs had that type of consistency. He willingly finished the lamb that I couldn't.

The wild berry shortcake was a good mixture; the cream segment was delightful, the shortbread was heavenly, the strawberry sauce was flavorful. I would have liked 50% more berries. The last bite was the basil leaf! I expected mint and was completely taken off guard, but the finish to the dish was really quite good. An appealing lingering clean taste.

As others have said, it's a great setting overlooking Lake Tahoe. Reservations are a really good idea. The servers worked as a great team and with a great attitude.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
“Lovely food, beautiful views.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 30, 2013

Christy Hill has a fantastic location overlooking the Marina in Tahoe City. Whether you sit outside or stay in behind the wall of glass, you won't be disappointed by the views. The food was fresh and delicious and the service very good. I was dining alone but was made to feel very welcome and comfortable. There was a nice atmosphere both amongst patrons and staff.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
Top Contributor
131 reviews 131 reviews
88 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 43 cities Reviews in 43 cities
60 helpful votes 60 helpful votes
“Good Food & View”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 27, 2013

The heirloom tomato and burrata salad was fantastic, as was the duck main course. The halibut was overdone from my point of view, though others at our table enjoyed it. We had a reasonable bottle of Italian valpolicella for $40. We ate outside on the deck, enjoying the great view.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oslo, Norway
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Amazing”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 7, 2013 via mobile

This is a perfect place to have dinner at. The best service with very good food and a very nice atmosphere!

  • Visited July 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Christy Hill Restaurant also viewed

Tahoe City, Lake Tahoe (California)
Tahoe City, Lake Tahoe (California)
 
Tahoe City, Lake Tahoe (California)
Tahoe City, Lake Tahoe (California)
 

Been to Christy Hill Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Christy Hill Restaurant, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.