We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best breakfast spot!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Fire Sign Cafe

Fire Sign Cafe
1785 W Lake Blvd, Tahoe City, CA 96145
+1 530-583-0871
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #1 of 55 Restaurants in Tahoe City
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $5 - $15
Cuisines: American, Coffee Shop, Hamburgers, Diner
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Local cuisine, Dining on a budget
Dining options: Breakfast, Brunch, Lunch
Description: Since 1978, Fire Sign Cafe has been a family owned and operated Breakfast and Lunch restaurant. We pride ourselves on our extensive menu, full of homemade food. Our restaurant has been a local favorite since it opened. It has been featured in several publications such as Sunset Magazine, as well as shown on Rachael Ray's, "Tasty Travels". Our great service and even better food are what keep people coming back!
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
45 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Best breakfast spot!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2013

We have been coming to the Firesign Cafe since it opened in 1978. The food is always great, the portions large and the service friendly. Egg/omelet dishes (artichoke and dill omelet is one of our favorites) are wonderful as are the veggie potatoes and homemade coffee cakes and muffins. You absolutely can't go wrong eating here.

Visited May 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

197 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    132
    54
    9
    2
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Gladstone, Queensland, Australia
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
“Still the best!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2013

This was my family's favorite breakfast place when growing up in Tahoe 18 years later still our favorite and the best!

  • Visited May 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
reno, nv
Level Contributor
117 reviews
93 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Just what I wanted”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2013

On of the nicest things about Fire Sign is that you can get half of a Benedict. Just enough to curb that yummy hollandaise sauce craving and yet diminish the guilt of the indulgence. Been going there for years and if you time it right you won't have to wait too long. Trust me, it's hard to not order my favorite Joe's Special but I have to step out of the box sometimes and those Benedicts are so good!

  • Visited May 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portland, Oregon
Level Contributor
49 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“good food, lovely area”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 24, 2013

besides generous portions and fresh, tasty food, the servers are tops. they remembered the little details that make all the difference. And yes there were two servers involved.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
santa rosa
Level Contributor
40 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“We loved this little place”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 23, 2013

We found this place on Yelp and tried it for breakfast. It was the best french toast I've ever had. My husband had the sausage and eggs and ate every bite. This little place is aparently a local hang out and they definately got it right. The staff were nice and friendly too.

Visited May 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Fire Sign Cafe also viewed

Tahoe City, Lake Tahoe (California)
Tahoe City, Lake Tahoe (California)
 
Tahoe City, Lake Tahoe (California)
Tahoe Vista, Lake Tahoe (California)
 

Been to Fire Sign Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Fire Sign Cafe, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.