We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Diner” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Bear Beach Cafe

Bear Beach Cafe
3310 Lake Tahoe Blvd, South Lake Tahoe, CA (Not Tahoe City), Tahoe City, CA 96150
(530) 541-2321
Improve this listing
Ranked #23 of 55 Restaurants in Tahoe City
Price range: $1 - $20
Cuisines: Eclectic, International, Californian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Dinner
Durham, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
216 reviews 216 reviews
144 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 66 cities Reviews in 66 cities
72 helpful votes 72 helpful votes
“Great Diner”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 30, 2013 via mobile

Remember its a diner, standard fare, but with a few nods to modernity such as the omelette with avocado and mango salsa. Busy when we visited, but with exceptionally friendly staff, especially our waitress. All of the food was pretty good and for a diner you could have no complaints.
I read the previous review and I have to say the cranberry and walnut muffin felt home made, warm and with a great crusty top, perhaps just an aberration.
Highly recommended.

Visited December 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

87 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    24
    37
    15
    8
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
San Francisco, California
Top Contributor
100 reviews 100 reviews
56 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 37 cities Reviews in 37 cities
45 helpful votes 45 helpful votes
“South Lake Tahoe, not Tahoe City”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 14, 2013

First, this restaurant is in South Lake Tahoe. Not sure why it shows up in TripAdvisor as being in Tahoe City.

We stayed at the Inn By the Lake, which is right next door to Bear Beach Cafe. For that reasons, and due to generally favorable TA reviews, we decided to walk over for breakfast one morning. Overall, the restaurant itself is nothing special. Pretty average coffee shop/diner style decor, and nothing really unusual on the menu. But it really was a great breakfast. I had the "Papa Bear" skillet scramble. Wife had the Lakeview omelette. Both were delicious, and the portions were huge. Dishes I saw walking by to other tables also looked similarly huge and tasty. My only negative comment would be about the muffins that come with breakfast. They claimed they were freshly baked in-house. I'm skeptical. They were just OK. No crusty top, a bit on the small side and not a lot of flavor. Not bad, but they definitely tasted more store-bought than homemade.

We went to Heidi's Pancake House our second morning there. It was really disappointing (see my separate review). Wish we had gone back to Bear Beach Cafe.

  • Visited October 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nokomis, Florida
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Pricey but good”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 7, 2013

Convenient to the Inn and had a great breakfast and a good lunch. Chicken wings were mini sized.
They allow a booth offering dinner cruise tickets for timeshare tour...don't do it

Visited October 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Columbus, Ohio
Top Contributor
119 reviews 119 reviews
75 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 55 cities Reviews in 55 cities
65 helpful votes 65 helpful votes
“Go for breakfast”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 12, 2013 via mobile

They give good hearty portions. 25$. Good view and pet friendly. You can sit outside. Service was really good. Good coffee and potatoes. Sweeter bacon. Ok gravy

  • Visited September 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Jose, California
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
“Great view”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2013

This place has decent food, and a great view of the lake! I suggest it only for the breakfast as that's what they are known for.

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Bear Beach Cafe also viewed

Tahoe City, Lake Tahoe (California)
South Lake Tahoe, Lake Tahoe (California)
 
Tahoe City, Lake Tahoe (California)
Tahoe City, Lake Tahoe (California)
 

Been to Bear Beach Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Bear Beach Cafe, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.