We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Worth the wait” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Bear Beach Cafe

Bear Beach Cafe
3310 Lake Tahoe Blvd, South Lake Tahoe, CA (Not Tahoe City), Tahoe City, CA 96150
(530) 541-2321
Improve this listing
Ranked #23 of 55 Restaurants in Tahoe City
Price range: $1 - $20
Cuisines: Eclectic, International, Californian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Dinner
Elkhart, Indiana
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Worth the wait”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 19, 2013

We ate a late lunch here on a Wednesday. We had to wait at least 20 min to sit inside for them to catch up. By the time we sat down to order the rush had left and our food was quick. Our server was very friendly and made it worth the wait. We all ordered breakfast.....mama & papa bear skillets and the veggie bennie. No complaints at all.
A little pricey but would definantly go here again for breakfast food.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

87 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    24
    37
    15
    8
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Ohio
Top Contributor
84 reviews 84 reviews
49 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
“Good Family Restaraunt”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 17, 2013

We had dinner at Bear Beach Cafe late June, on our first trip to Lake Tahoe. We arrived after 8p, and crowd was light. The menu has many options, and thember the home fries, with a touch of pepper, quite tasty !

  • Visited June 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Clemente, California
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Good Food, Very Busy Restaurant”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 16, 2013

Had an omelet that was good but a little dry and the country potatoes could have been a little crisper and flavorful. Our server was very nice but forgot to order one of items. This was most likely because she was very busy as I had to flag down a buser to ask her to come back to our table.

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Yuba City, California
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Best view and great food!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 16, 2013

I've been a fan of this spot for breakfast on many occasions of visiting SLT. It sits right across the street from an open view of the lake and you can even eat outside if you prefer. The food is great and the service has always been friendly. Highly recommend!

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kansas City
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
36 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Good Food But Long Wait”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 15, 2013

If you want to have a Sunday brunch in South Lake Tahoe, think twice before going to the Bear Beach Cafe. My wife and I arrived at 11:30 and the wait for a table was relatively short - ten minutes or so. But then the real wait began. It took an hour to receive our food. The food was good but we were a bit soured on the long wait to receive it. As I was paying the bill, the cashier asked if everything was alright. I commented that the wait was inordinately long and she said, "Yes, our kitchen gets backed up an hour or so when we're busy and there's nothing we can do about it." I thought this wasn't a particularly customer friendly thing to say. Of course they could do something about it if they wanted to. An overall review of their processes would reveal solutions to this problem. And one solution would certainly be to train their staff to be more empathetic with customers who have to wait a long time.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Bear Beach Cafe also viewed

Tahoe City, Lake Tahoe (California)
South Lake Tahoe, Lake Tahoe (California)
 
Tahoe City, Lake Tahoe (California)
Tahoe City, Lake Tahoe (California)
 

Been to Bear Beach Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Bear Beach Cafe, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.