We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Food was meh” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Bear Beach Cafe

Bear Beach Cafe
3310 Lake Tahoe Blvd, South Lake Tahoe, CA (Not Tahoe City), Tahoe City, CA 96150
(530) 541-2321
Improve this listing
Ranked #21 of 54 restaurants in Tahoe City
Price range: $1 - $20
Cuisines: Eclectic, International, Californian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Dinner
Oakland, California
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Food was meh”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 25, 2013

This place is located on the main street of South Lake Tahoe, and has an unobstructed view of the lake across the street. The service was very good, but the food was lack luster. I ordered the dijon chicken, but the sauce was anything but dijon. It tasted powdery and it was a white sauce, rather than a yellow(ish) sauce. My husband had a burger and said it was really good.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

71 reviews from our community

72% Recommend
    21
    31
    10
    7
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Lynchburg, Virginia, United States
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Great burger great view”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 1, 2013

Great service, amazing burgers, and the price wasn't bad for a tourist spot. Right across the street from the lake with nothing to block the view.

    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Burleson, Texas
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“Good Breakfast”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 27, 2013

We stayed at the Inn by the Lake next door, so we ate breakfast at Bear Beach Cafe each morning before snowboarding.
The service was friendly and quick...we had the omelets the first day; they were very good with large portions. The second day I had the breakfast special which was a breakfast scramble that was very good...my son had the waffles and liked them as well.
We even had dinner there one night because we were too tired to far from the hotel after snowboarding. The burgers were good and cooked how you liked them instead of overcooked...our waiter was friendly, prompt, and helpful.
Bear Beach Cafe also has great views of the lake...

  • Visited January 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Fantastic lake view”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 3, 2013

The restaurant has a great view of the lake. The food is good with a good variety to choose from. The service is prompt and friendly , makes this place a great place to start the day before you hit the slopes.

    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas
Top Contributor
185 reviews 185 reviews
124 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 40 cities Reviews in 40 cities
67 helpful votes 67 helpful votes
“Amazing Food + Great Service + INCREDIBLE VIEW!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 15, 2012

If you are looking to have a great breakfast with an incredible view then this is the place for you. It is positioned right across Lake Tahoe giving you a full view of the lake and mountains. There is outdoor and indoor seating. After ordering we received our food in under 10 minutes and had been poured coffee even before our order was taken. Our waitress Joanne was very polite and friendly, always checking up on us.

The food was delicious. YOU MUST try one of their fresh baked muffins! We had the orange, cranberry, walnut muffin. If was amazing! Freshly baked and you could tell it wasn't their first time to bake a muffin =)

I was a little shocked by the price, but I am from Texas where a big breakfast might cost $7. The average breakfast was about $12. So be warned. Don't go if this will detract from your experience.

  • Visited October 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Bear Beach Cafe also viewed

Tahoe City, Lake Tahoe (California)
Tahoe City, Lake Tahoe (California)
 
Tahoe City, Lake Tahoe (California)
Tahoe City, Lake Tahoe (California)
 

Been to Bear Beach Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Bear Beach Cafe, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.