We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Second year, just as good” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Alpine Meadows Stables

Alpine Meadows Stables
2600 Alpine Meadows Rd, Tahoe City, CA 96145
530-583-3905
Improve this listing
Ranked #6 of 12 Activities in Tahoe City
Type: Tours, Horseback Riding Stables
Activities: Horseback riding
More attraction details
Attraction Details
Owner description: Offers scenic guided tours in the Tahoe National Forest as well as pony rides for kids.
Walnut Creek, California
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Second year, just as good”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 19, 2012

They are a great stable, nestled off the road and in business since the late 60's! Friendly and professional, great with nervous kids and adults alike! This is the second year we've gone with my 8 year old niece insisting it become a tradition!

Visited August 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

13 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    9
    2
    1
    0
    1
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Sunnyvale, California
Top Contributor
66 reviews 66 reviews
11 attraction reviews
Reviews in 42 cities Reviews in 42 cities
58 helpful votes 58 helpful votes
“City Slickers”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 1, 2012

A nice change of pace if you are in the Truckee/Tahoe City area and are looking for something to do. I'm not a big hiker, but I do enjoy nice scenery. Not having to walk and still getting to enjoy nature is a bonus in my book. Our family of four took the one hour ride, but I think we could have handled two. The ride is very slow and the horses are used to the trail. Our guide, Matt, was great at talking with the kids on all kinds of subjects, not just horses. If you are a big rider, this quiet pace may not be enough for you. I'd suggest the private rides they have available, but for the average person it is just right. We rode after a rain storm so there was no dust, but I suggest a bandana on a clear day. Very reasonably priced as well (including tip). Also note this is check or cash only activity.

Visited July 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, California
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“overall a nice ride”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 22, 2011

Me & my wife took this ride at 11am, it was a beautiful weather. she was lil nervous in the beginning but as the ride continues she got more comfortable and enjoy it a lot . But for me the riding trail was rugged & dusty (better is they have chosen half hilly & half meadows trail) The tour guide was very friendly. I think it is something you should do if you visit this area.

Visited August 2011
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Coronado, California
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
8 attraction reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Excellent ride!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 23, 2011

Great experience. e went for a two-hour ride to the top of the ridge between Alpine Meadows and Squaw Valley and had great views of Squaw. The people and horses were great to work with - even my 12-year old who had never ridden and was a bit nervous did just fine.

Visited July 2011
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Best horse back riding deal!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 6, 2010

After checking out all the stables in the Tahoe area, Alpine Meadows offered the lowest price for the longest time. $100 for 4h! The staff is great and the horses are well-trined. 4h can be a long time! You might want to do the 1 or 2 hour rides. Great time! Ani the horse is the sweetest! The guide was a pro!

Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Alpine Meadows Stables also viewed

Tahoe City, Lake Tahoe (California)
Tahoe City, Lake Tahoe (California)
 
Tahoe City, Lake Tahoe (California)
 

Been to Alpine Meadows Stables? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Alpine Meadows Stables, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.