We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good value” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Aviva Inn

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Save
You added Aviva Inn to your Saves list
Aviva Inn
2.0 of 5 Motel   |   955 N. Lake Blvd., Tahoe City, CA 96145 (Formerly Lake of the Sky Motor Inn)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #5 of 7 Hotels in Tahoe City
Tennessee
1 review
“Good value”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 8, 2013

We stayed here 3 nights during February while we were doing some skiing around the Tahoe area. Overall, my wife and I were very happy with our stay.

The service was great. The owner was a very nice lady and always prompt and courteous to help us. The provided free breakfast does not have a huge selection, but it was all very good and fresh and the area kept clean. The breakfast included waffles (cooked fresh on a waffle iron by the owner), hard boiled eggs, toast, several types of cereal, some fresh fruits, orange juice, milk, and coffee. There isn't anywhere to eat in the small lobby though, so you do have to take it back to your room to eat, but they do give you a tray to carry it on.

The inn itself seems to be in good condition. Our room seems to have been recently painted and somewhat updated in decor. It wasn't a super fancy job, but for a value motel it is nice when they keep things looking good. The room was clean and had a working mini fridge and microwave. There was one of the old fat type TVs in the room, but it did work the few times we watched it. The free WiFi worked fine our entire stay. The heater also kept the room comfortable during the chilly Feb nights. The bed was decent and the sheets all appeared clean.

The only negative thing was that the walls seem to be pretty thin. We could easily hear the two guys in the next room talking. One of them was the guy who needs to learn what an "inside voice" is and we could clearly hear everything he said. The other seemed to talk in a normal voice and you could hear him talking, but it sounded muffled yet still annoying when you're trying to go to sleep. I had to play some white noise tracks on my laptop to drown them out at night. If you're a light sleeper this could be a problem unless you come prepared.

The bottom line is I think this was a good value motel. It doesn't have a lot of amenities and isn't that fancy, but it should provide a decent place to sleep at a reasonable price.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

174 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    71
    50
    14
    17
    22
See reviews for
40
48
15
9
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (21)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed February 6, 2013

We were very disappointed in the condition of the room. Bedspreads were dirty/stained. Sheets did not fit, kept coming up. Matress pad lumpy. Bathroom needed some cleaning, towel rack broken. Needed light bulbs which they did replace only one. Will not stay here again.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 1, 2013 via mobile

Rita and her husband strive to keep a clean, safe and beautiful property with modern and efficient rooms. The many amenities include free in room coffee, the fastest high speed Internet in any hotel motel environment available, just when you thought you were going to receive no more than a continental breakfast you are surprised with a full hot breakfast that's tasty and supportive of many items of choice. I highly recommend this place, best prices and value on the north lake.

Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Corte Madera, California
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 31, 2013

Friendly service at the desk.
The rooms were updated nicely.
You can head across the street to Jake's for an excellent happy hour of food and drink until 6:30, or later for their regular fine dining. All of Tahoe City is an easy walk.
There is a nice assortment of breakfast foods to fuel up for a big day of skiing!
We will be back!!

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
California, Maryland
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 29, 2013

I have to admit that I was impressed by the Lake of the Sky Inn...I guess I've been in too many sterile chain hotel rooms. My Lake of the Sky Inn room had character, dark wood floors, interesting color schemes (burnt orange vs royal purple), unique fixtures/accent items and extremely friendly/personable staff.

The Pros;
Free breakfast (homemade belgian waffles, eggs, cereal, fruit, coffee, tea, only thing missing was yogurt :-)
Located across from a grocery store (yogurt!), movie rental place and a McDonalds
Close to at least two resorts that I know of (Alpine Meadows and Squaw)
Close to Tahoe City (restaurants, bars, gas stations and shopping)
Across from bus stop
Plenty of hooks to hang gear on
Front office stocked with trail guides for local ski resorts
Mini-fridge and microwave in room
Decent weekly rates
Can see Lake Tahoe from the Inn
Friendly staff :-)
CHEAP!

The Cons;
No door mat in the room (a problem if you have salt and snow on your shoes/boots)
Not many available outlets in the room (had to charge my phone in the bathroom)
Across from a McDonalds (yep, this is a pro and a con)
Pool was closed (hahaha!)
(not only was the pool closed... but it had been drained so no late night ice skating on it either!

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 13, 2013

We were looking for a place to stay after playing in the snow all day. The motels near the center of town were filling up. Found this motel on the edge of the town and was happy with it. It was away from the hustle and bustle of the town center which is great if you have family. Don't waste your time trying to find a place to stay near the town center, just head for this place.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
Level Contributor
3 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 3, 2013

If you are looking for the best value in town this is it! It's not the Ritz, but the rooms are warm, the best are nice, and the people are fantastic! The lady at the front desk works hard to help with anything you need, she will even cook your waffle for you! Great place!

Room Tip: The Queen Queen is the best deal two beds for the price of a King...very close to all the resorts an...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Tahoe City
0.4 mi away
Americas Best Value Inn-Tahoe City/Lake Tahoe
2.6 mi away
Sunnyside Restaurant and Lodge
18.3 mi away
Beach Retreat & Lodge at Tahoe
Beach Retreat & Lodge at Tahoe
#20 of 70 in South Lake Tahoe
4.0 of 5 stars 353 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.6 mi away
Resort at Squaw Creek
Resort at Squaw Creek
#3 of 5 in Olympic Valley
4.0 of 5 stars 808 reviews
1.6 mi away
Granlibakken Tahoe
Granlibakken Tahoe
#1 of 7 in Tahoe City
4.0 of 5 stars 350 reviews
0.2 mi away
Pepper Tree Inn
Pepper Tree Inn
#3 of 7 in Tahoe City
3.5 of 5 stars 147 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Aviva Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Aviva Inn

Address: 955 N. Lake Blvd., Tahoe City, CA 96145 (Formerly Lake of the Sky Motor Inn)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Lake Tahoe (California) > Tahoe City
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 7 Hotels in Tahoe City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Aviva Inn 2*
Number of rooms: 28
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Booking.com, Odigeo and Hotels.com so you can book your Aviva Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Lake Of The Sky Motor Hotel Tahoe City
Lake Of The Sky Hotel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Aviva Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.