We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A highlight of our stopover” 5 of 5 stars
Review of North Lake Tahoe Historical Society and Gatekeepers Museum

North Lake Tahoe Historical Society and Gatekeepers Museum
130 W. Lake Blvd., Tahoe City, CA
530-583-1762
Improve this listing
Ranked #9 of 32 things to do in Tahoe City
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: This small museum documents the history of Nevada's native peoples and its settlement in the 18th and 19th centuries.
Ann Arbor, Michigan
Top Contributor
319 reviews 319 reviews
135 attraction reviews
95 helpful votes 95 helpful votes
“A highlight of our stopover”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 19, 2012

We really enjoyed this museum. Didn't expect to find it in this super big tourist area. The staff was pleasant and we did enjoy what we saw.

Visited September 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

26 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    10
    12
    3
    1
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Sunnyvale, California
Senior Contributor
47 reviews 47 reviews
27 attraction reviews
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
“Most beautiful place to hold a wedding ever.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 11, 2012

The views of the lake and the surrounding Sierras make for the most romantic of settings. Tahoe City is far more than just a place to eat and get gas on the way to South Shore or to ski. Stop and walk around. Look over Fanny Bridge. You will be caught up in the romance too.

Visited June 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mountain View, California, United States
Top Contributor
72 reviews 72 reviews
44 attraction reviews
47 helpful votes 47 helpful votes
“Historical Place on the banks of Truckee River!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 24, 2012

If you are interested in history, you must visit the place. The Gatekeeper’s Museum is big museums and holds various historical artifacts including Native American baskets, photographs, clothing, maps and newspapers. You can enjoy the truckee river from this place and also see the Dam on the river with Blue waters.

Visited September 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Elk Grove, California
Top Contributor
189 reviews 189 reviews
52 attraction reviews
138 helpful votes 138 helpful votes
“Lots of History Here!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 3, 2012

If you're a history buff, and we are, then you don't want to miss the Gatekeeper's Museum. The parking is horrible at the Y, so, we biked in from William Kent Campground. The California Indian basket collection is outstanding, as well as the historical collection State Parks has amassed at this location. The museum itself is interesting and authentic, which was rebuilt to replace the former original building which didn't survive the fire (set by local boys some time ago).The $5 entrance fee is a modest contribution, so make sure you take time to talk the beautiful grounds and take in the lakeside and dam. The grounds are immaculate, so consider a picnic lunch and take your time at the location.

Visited August 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shaker Heights, Ohio
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Wedding venue”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 24, 2012

The wedding we attended was on the shore of the lake at Gatekeepers Museum. The setting was lovely. We were glad we had visited the museum on another day however to see the collection of Native American baskets.

Visited September 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed North Lake Tahoe Historical Society and Gatekeepers Museum also viewed

Tahoe City, Lake Tahoe (California)
South Lake Tahoe, Lake Tahoe (California)
 
Tahoe City, Lake Tahoe (California)
South Lake Tahoe, Lake Tahoe (California)
 

Been to North Lake Tahoe Historical Society and Gatekeepers Museum? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage North Lake Tahoe Historical Society and Gatekeepers Museum, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.