We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“unpretentious, genuine, ideal for families” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Alpine Meadows

Alpine Meadows
2600 Alpine Meadows Road, Tahoe City, CA 96146
800-403-0206
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #4 of 20 Attractions in Tahoe City
Type: Ski/ Snowboard Areas, Horseback Riding Stables, Tours
Activities: Skiing
More attraction details
Attraction Details
Owner description: Intermediate and advanced skiers and riders will most enjoy this resort, known for its especially long season.
South Lake Tahoe, California
Top Contributor
88 reviews 88 reviews
28 attraction reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
41 helpful votes 41 helpful votes
“unpretentious, genuine, ideal for families”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 30, 2013

it's a friendly resort - I skied with new friends, locals and Aussies, Scots and Irish tourists. We're already planning a reunion next year

Visited March 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

51 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    30
    12
    5
    2
    2
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
roseville
Top Contributor
61 reviews 61 reviews
20 attraction reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
“Very nice skiing for a variety of people”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 26, 2013

I have been skiing the Lake Tahoe region for over 50 years. Alpine Meadows and Squaw Valley have always been two of my favorites mountains for different reasons. While they virtually sit side by side, the terrain and character of the two are very much different. Squaw has always been more of a skiers, no hold bars type of mountain. Lot's of open terrain, limited trail signs and kind of a take it or leave it attitude. Now that the two areas are owned and operated by the same company, I have seen some notable adjustment in the Squaw Valley situation, while Alpine Meadows still has that more laid back, family style. Alpine has always been the family friendly personality and that has not changed. This year with limited fresh snow since January, Alpine has really done a great job with their grooming. I have skied it numerous times with no fresh snow and give it very high marks for hill condition. In fact, yesterday took a friend up that hadn't skied in over ten years and even with very firm/hard conditions in the morning we could find runs from the top that didn't through him in a total anxiety mode. When Alpine has fresh snow you can always find fresh tree lines to ski or board and if you don't mind a little hiking the back side toward Sherwood forest can be epic. The scenery of Lake Tahoe from many vistas is fantastic.
The lodge and other facilities is adequate with good rental equipment. The lodge is typical lodge food, meaning not bad and overpriced. It has a great deck and the added gas fire pit this year is a nice plus. If you are looking for the more hip vibe with music and deck activities, you can always venture over to Squaw for the apres ski. My one complaint hill wise is the newly built terrain park. If you know Alpine at all you know that the hill from top to bottom funnels toward several main runs. They have built the terrain park in one of the main runs and while their feeling is it makes for a more family friends area, rarely have I seen or talk to anyone that uses it. It takes a lot of the early season snow making to build this and most feel it is a negative in the lay out. Alpine Meadows, are you listening?

Visited March 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sacramento, California
Top Contributor
62 reviews 62 reviews
22 attraction reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
“Great ski resort, lots of runs for all abilities limited hours”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 21, 2013

Just returned from a fun ski adventure at Alpine Meadows in Tahoe City California. Beautiful mountain, lots of snow and runs for all interestes and abilities. The lodge is large, lots of tables for lunch inside and out. A great fire outside on the deck with adirondack chairs around it. Beautiful views of the mountains, lifts, and skiiers.

The hours are very limited. Only 9-4 and the lift tickets are $100. Very pricey for such a short day. The tickets are also good at Squaw Valley but the hours there are also pretty limited. I think only Boreal offers night skiing which is actually really fun .

Visited March 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Schoten, Belgium
Top Contributor
154 reviews 154 reviews
62 attraction reviews
Reviews in 61 cities Reviews in 61 cities
79 helpful votes 79 helpful votes
“Day resort”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 18, 2013

This is a nice ski resort linked with Squaw Valley and on the same ski pass. Good for a day and in need of better quality lifts although there were never any queues.

Visited March 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Frisco, Texas
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
5 attraction reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Great Ski & Snowboarding Spring Break”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 18, 2013

The mountain was majestic. Great runs, groomed well & weather for our time of year WARM, but still a great place to visit. Food & band they had on Saturday were great. Prices FAIR on all things. Wish signing for runs a little better, but I guess it's part of adventure. Would choose this place #1...been to Heavenly in past & did 1 day at Squaw day before Alpine...ALL choose to do Alpine again vs Squaw if that tells you anything...10 skiers & boarders & all said ALPINE MEADOWS. Wonderful spring break trip

Visited March 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Alpine Meadows also viewed

Tahoe City, Lake Tahoe (California)
Tahoe City, Lake Tahoe (California)
 
South Lake Tahoe, Lake Tahoe (California)
South Lake Tahoe, Lake Tahoe (California)
 

Been to Alpine Meadows? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Alpine Meadows, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.