We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not what I expected” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Eagle Falls Trail

Eagle Falls Trail
Tahoe City, CA
Improve this listing
Ranked #2 of 31 things to do in Tahoe City
Activities: Hiking
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: A beautiful and well-marked trail.
zapopan
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Not what I expected”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 15, 2013

I had the same impression as Gloria N about this trail. It was not as beautiful as I expected. It is a good place for cardio exercise.

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

118 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    85
    23
    8
    2
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Sacramento, California
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Not as beautiful as reviewed”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 11, 2013

Chose this trail based on the high reviews. Not what I expected. There were a few beautiful sites, but mostly all you see is gray rocks, nothing lush or green. Trails more difficult than expected (and I'm a healthy person), would not take anyone out of shape or children. You're under trees for most of the hike and far from water. We actually went off the trail and made our way down to the creek because we wanted to be by the water. Wasted half a day there, would not go again. Trail does not loop around either, you just have to turn around and go back the way you came. I'm sure other trails are much prettier. Not recommended unless you like looking at rocks.

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
USA
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
6 attraction reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“It's what is at the end that counts!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 10, 2013 via mobile

As long as you take this stoned path with a moderate incline to the lake, it is well worth it! Wear good shoes, bring a lunch and swim trunks and should be a good 3-4 hour trip.

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego
Top Contributor
135 reviews 135 reviews
26 attraction reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
392 helpful votes 392 helpful votes
“It's a great hike - only about a mile or so”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 1, 2013

This is the second time that I've taken the hike to Eagle Falls. It is very picturesque. There is a bit of vertical rise during the hike, but it isn't too bad, even if you're a senior (in relatively good shape).

Bring your camera because the view at the lake is sensational.

Visited May 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
South Lake Tahoe, California
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
13 attraction reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
“Nice Hike”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 30, 2013

The hike up Eagle lake is really nice and a little challenging if you are not used to the altitude. The vistas are beautiful looking down Emerald Bay and Lake Tahoe.

Visited August 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Eagle Falls Trail also viewed

Lake Tahoe (California), CA
South Lake Tahoe, Lake Tahoe (California)
 
Tahoe City, Lake Tahoe (California)
South Lake Tahoe, Lake Tahoe (California)
 

Been to Eagle Falls Trail? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Eagle Falls Trail, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.