We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Better to sleep in your car” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Tahoe City Inn

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Tahoe City Inn to your Saves list
Tahoe City Inn
2.0 of 5 Small Hotel   |   790 N. Lake Blvd., Tahoe City, CA 96145   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #4 of 5 Tahoe City B&B and Inns
Central California
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Better to sleep in your car”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 22, 2012

We arrived at this establishment to be "greeted by a woman who tried to give us as little
information possible. This woman was angry or extremely upset over something and
took it out on us. This particular evening was quite cool and we needed heat in our room, but
after searching, found this room did not have a heater We called the unhappy woman at the
desk, and she informed us that she didn't know if the room had heat or not. I suggested that
she come down and help us search for a heater or give us another room. She opted to give us another room. Upon entering the room. We were impressed by the shabby and dirty
conditions. There were Permanent stains on the floor and upholstered furniture;There was black mold growing in the bathroom window-sill; a hideous heart-shaped tub by the bed that was barely accessable . Since it was late in the day, we tried to make the best of a bad situation. Apparently the peeling plaster and globs of putty on the walls are part of their "remodel" program.. If you can avoid this place, by all means do!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

54 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    17
    7
    9
    8
    13
See reviews for
10
22
4
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 20, 2012

Arrived here today, July 20, 2012. Room is bad. No air, no screens on windows. The only window that opens with a screen is on a balcony where people can walk by and look right into the room. Close the blinds and there is no air. Room smells of old. asked for another room, upgrade, anything. They have nothing better or different to offer. It is a Friday afternoon at Lake Tahoe. We are not going to try to find something else now. We are 70 years old. Just a warning. Do NOT make a reservation here!!!!!


Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Meridian, Idaho, United States
Top Contributor
50 reviews 50 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 9, 2012

The room was small, poorly lighted, and only partly updated. Nice TV with DVD/VCR combo (Tapes available at the front desk). A little noisy. For example, could clearly hear the neighbor's hot tub upstairs (they quit at 11pm, fortunately). Desk staff was friendly and continental breakfast was above average.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Davis, California
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 4, 2012

So you get there and you're like wow this looks old and crappy. But then you walk inside and are greeted by the NICEST ladies ever. Then you go to your room open the door and its like a little heaven. The beds are the comfiest bed EVER. Soft but not sinky. The jacuzzi tubs are fabulous. Some rooms have heart shaped tubs, others are normal shaped. They are big and deep. You can even watch movies from the bath tub/ in room jacuzzi. They have a huge movie rental to. Dogs are allowed for an extra $20. The walls are a bit thin and you can hear others but the hotel is great about 10 o'clock quiet time. And to use the jets in your in room jacuzzi make sure to get there before ten pm because you cant run them after that. The rooms are very clean (carpet is a little old but who spends their time laying on the carpet when you have the best bed and jacuzzi ever). You can walk to the Tahoe City restaurants and to the lake. It truly is the best.

Room Tip: Ask for a heart shaped bath! They are the perfect shape for two people to relax.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 19, 2012 via mobile

Stayed at the Inn for 2 nights and was very impressed. Loved the personal jacuzzis in the rooms and the management was so very friendly. Rooms were very clean and well taken care of as well. I highly recommend!

  • Stayed February 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Palo Alto, California
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed February 3, 2012

They "lost" our reservation. We made a reservation for Friday and Saturday night two weeks in advance on their own website. When we showed up, they first told us that I must be mistaken, and then when I showed the confirmation email they said they forgot about it. They then told us that they could not house us for two nights, as they were fully booked Saturday night. We later heard of walk-ins without reservations getting rooms Saturday night.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pine Grove, California, United States
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 24, 2011

I was a little skeptical about this place after reading the reviews, but always say "don't knock it till you try it!" I am so glad I gave it a chance! It's not the Ritz Carleton; it has its own great character. The staff is worth coming back for all on its own! From the minute of check in, to the next day, we have been nothing but pleased! The rooms aren’t perfect, and the shower is a little awkward but the bed is super comfy! Will write more before we leave, we would highly recommended by us! The free movie selection rocks! We will be back!

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Tahoe City Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tahoe City Inn

Address: 790 N. Lake Blvd., Tahoe City, CA 96145
Location: United States > California > Lake Tahoe (California) > Tahoe City
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free Parking Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 5 B&Bs / Inns in Tahoe City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Tahoe City Inn 2*
Number of rooms: 33
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Despegar.com, Expedia, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Tahoe City Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Tahoe City Hotel Tahoe City

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Tahoe City Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.