We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Do not make a reservation here!!!!!” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Tahoe City Inn

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Tahoe City Inn to your Saves list
Tahoe City Inn
2.0 of 5 Small Hotel   |   790 N. Lake Blvd., Tahoe City, CA 96145   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #3 of 5 Tahoe City B&B and Inns
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Do not make a reservation here!!!!!”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 20, 2012

Arrived here today, July 20, 2012. Room is bad. No air, no screens on windows. The only window that opens with a screen is on a balcony where people can walk by and look right into the room. Close the blinds and there is no air. Room smells of old. asked for another room, upgrade, anything. They have nothing better or different to offer. It is a Friday afternoon at Lake Tahoe. We are not going to try to find something else now. We are 70 years old. Just a warning. Do NOT make a reservation here!!!!!


Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

64 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    18
    9
    14
    9
    14
See reviews for
16
24
4
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (8)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Meridian, Idaho, United States
Level Contributor
50 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 9, 2012

The room was small, poorly lighted, and only partly updated. Nice TV with DVD/VCR combo (Tapes available at the front desk). A little noisy. For example, could clearly hear the neighbor's hot tub upstairs (they quit at 11pm, fortunately). Desk staff was friendly and continental breakfast was above average.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Davis, California
Level Contributor
12 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 4, 2012

So you get there and you're like wow this looks old and crappy. But then you walk inside and are greeted by the NICEST ladies ever. Then you go to your room open the door and its like a little heaven. The beds are the comfiest bed EVER. Soft but not sinky. The jacuzzi tubs are fabulous. Some rooms have heart shaped tubs, others are normal shaped. They are big and deep. You can even watch movies from the bath tub/ in room jacuzzi. They have a huge movie rental to. Dogs are allowed for an extra $20. The walls are a bit thin and you can hear others but the hotel is great about 10 o'clock quiet time. And to use the jets in your in room jacuzzi make sure to get there before ten pm because you cant run them after that. The rooms are very clean (carpet is a little old but who spends their time laying on the carpet when you have the best bed and jacuzzi ever). You can walk to the Tahoe City restaurants and to the lake. It truly is the best.

Room Tip: Ask for a heart shaped bath! They are the perfect shape for two people to relax.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 19, 2012

Stayed at the Inn for 2 nights and was very impressed. Loved the personal jacuzzis in the rooms and the management was so very friendly. Rooms were very clean and well taken care of as well. I highly recommend!

  • Stayed February 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Palo Alto, California
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed February 3, 2012

They "lost" our reservation. We made a reservation for Friday and Saturday night two weeks in advance on their own website. When we showed up, they first told us that I must be mistaken, and then when I showed the confirmation email they said they forgot about it. They then told us that they could not house us for two nights, as they were fully booked Saturday night. We later heard of walk-ins without reservations getting rooms Saturday night.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Tahoe City hotels

Pine Grove, California, United States
Level Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 24, 2011

I was a little skeptical about this place after reading the reviews, but always say "don't knock it till you try it!" I am so glad I gave it a chance! It's not the Ritz Carleton; it has its own great character. The staff is worth coming back for all on its own! From the minute of check in, to the next day, we have been nothing but pleased! The rooms aren’t perfect, and the shower is a little awkward but the bed is super comfy! Will write more before we leave, we would highly recommended by us! The free movie selection rocks! We will be back!

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Salt Lake City, Utah
Level Contributor
13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 20, 2011

Our experience was anything but good at this Motel!
The location was great and we were just Walk-Ins + German Accents -> let's double the price!!!
We went in July, so I understand if the prices are higher than off season BUT we paid for a 2 Queenbed Room $150 + tax = $170
Expedia and other sites price the room at about $80-$100.
The room we were given SUCKED! The beds hung thru. The bathroom had things wrong with it. The Continental Breakfast didn't have much to offer.
We wouldn't stay there again and do not recommend it!!!

Room Tip: Test lay the bed? Have a laptop handy and check rates online?
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TahoeCityInnManager, Manager at Tahoe City Inn, responded to this review, January 13, 2012
I'm sorry to hear that you did not have a good stay with us. We would love if you gave us another chance. We would like to offer you a 15% discount on your next stay. If you decide to give us a second chance we would like to offer you a stay in our remodeled rooms.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Tahoe City
0.3 mi away
Americas Best Value Inn-Tahoe City/Lake Tahoe
18.2 mi away
Beach Retreat & Lodge at Tahoe
Beach Retreat & Lodge at Tahoe
#20 of 70 in South Lake Tahoe
4.0 of 5 stars 350 reviews
2.5 mi away
Sunnyside Restaurant and Lodge
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.5 mi away
Granlibakken Tahoe
Granlibakken Tahoe
#1 of 7 in Tahoe City
4.0 of 5 stars 348 reviews
0.1 mi away
Pepper Tree Inn
Pepper Tree Inn
#3 of 7 in Tahoe City
3.5 of 5 stars 147 reviews
6.4 mi away
Cedar Glen Lodge
Cedar Glen Lodge
#1 of 7 in Tahoe Vista
4.5 of 5 stars 685 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Tahoe City Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tahoe City Inn

Address: 790 N. Lake Blvd., Tahoe City, CA 96145
Location: United States > California > Lake Tahoe (California) > Tahoe City
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 5 B&Bs / Inns in Tahoe City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Tahoe City Inn 2*
Number of rooms: 33
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, Odigeo and Agoda so you can book your Tahoe City Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Tahoe City Hotel Tahoe City

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Tahoe City Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.