We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Like the place, LOVE the owners!!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Tamarack Lodge

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Tahoe City
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Tamarack Lodge
Save
You added Tamarack Lodge to your Saves list
2311 N. Lake Blvd., Tahoe City, CA 96145   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Lift + Lodging Package
Ranked #7 of 7 Hotels in Tahoe City
Chico
1 review
“Like the place, LOVE the owners!!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 6, 2009

I stayed there for a weekend with our dive group and was welcomed in with open arms! The owners sat out with us by the fire and shared stories and their wine. They were wonderful!! The rooms were rustic cabins, though small, but it was just me, so I did not need much more. The grounds were nice as well, and it smelled of Pine. I would be happy to stay there again and have reserved a room in June. If you want a nice, quiet and relaxing place that is close, THIS IS THE PLACE!!

  • Stayed November 2008
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

29 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    8
    13
    4
    2
    2
See reviews for
10
7
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Martinez, California
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 16, 2009

Yes, the Tamarack is inexpensive compared to other Tahoe City options, but those who have never stayed there before should understand that you get what you pay for. My brother and I stayed there for two nights while on a ski trip. We rented a standard motel-style room (#24) with two queen beds. I am not a motel snob, but this room was barely acceptable. Here's what we got:

Positive:
- Close proximity to Tahoe City (just about a 1-minute drive)
- Decent discounts on lift tickets

Negative:
- An overwhelming scent of PineSol when we arrived
- A 15-inch TV with snow on every channel
- One tiny bar of soap at the vanity
- Two plastic sample size packets of body wash in the shower (not refreshed the 2nd day until we asked)
- The most low-flow shower head I have ever experienced
- Debris (tissues, cups) from a previous guest still behind the night stand
- Large black ants crawling on the nightstand (and perhaps on my brother at night)

We were afraid to walk in bare feet or socks in the room, and we didn't want to touch anything that fell on the floor anywhere in the room. If you can afford to stay elsewhere, you probably should. If not, then be forewarned.

  • Stayed March 2009, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CA
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 3, 2009

We have stayed at the Tamarack on numerous occasions for business and just for fun. The managers, Sue and Eric are wonderful people. We really enjoy the setting on the property.

  • Stayed August 2008, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sacramento
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 12, 2009

This place is about 1.5 miles from Tahoe City. We had stayed in one of the cabins This place has lots of history and the people at the front desk make sure you know that. They give you this paper about it being in the family since 1927. If you are a history buff, then you would like this. The cabins are all knotty pine, so you feel real woodsy staying there. We were there in the Winter time, so we really did not get to take a long walk, but from what I can see it would be nice in the spring and summer. The ski slopes are about 10-15 minutes away, depending on the traffic. We could see the lake from the place and the walk is not far to get there. We definely would go back in the summer to see the property without the snow.
The rooms are real quiet and conformable and they have small kitchens to beable to cook in.

  • Liked — how quiet and clean it was
  • Disliked — that we could not stay longer
  • Stayed December 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newport Beach
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 18, 2008

This is the best value you can get in the area. It's located less than a 5 minute drive from Tahoe City and approximately 15 minutes from Sqaw or Alpine. The cabins with queeen rooms are cozy but don't expect top quality accomodations. I've stayed in this place 2 winters and do recommend this place.

  • Liked — Location and value
  • Stayed February 2007, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Somerset
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 17, 2008

Tamarack Lodge is located a mile or so east of Tahoe City, which is located on the North Shore of Lake Tahoe, California. As 2 couples, we were looking for a 'condo' with 2 bedrooms and decent kitchen facilities. The 2 bedroom/2 bath cabin fitted the bill perfectly and at around $150 a night for the 4 of us it represented good value. Each bedroom had its own bathroom which made it ideal for 2 couples. The cabin was clean and really cozy, but we had a fair few ants in the kitchen, not quite reaching invasion quantities but noticeable. For us it wasn't really a problem and we accepted that the cabin was located in the forest and this was their turf, also we weren't paying premium rates. There is a nice walk to the nearby lake front and Tahoe City is not too far, although after a days skiing we weren't up for walking there. Tahoe City is very small but really nice and worth giving up a few hours to spend a lazy afternoon by the lake shore. I can imagine that it is beautiful place for sailing in the summer. If you want to ski the resorts around the north shore then this is a great accommodation choice for those on a budget. Cook your own food, (a Safeway is in Tahoe City) and save a packet. I would definitely stay again providing the rates stay this good.

  • Liked — Value, setting, staff.
  • Disliked — Ants.
  • Stayed April 2008, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed December 28, 2007

We arived at ths property and it looked cozy from the outside. The first thing i noticed when i walked into the room was the dead spider crushed in the picture frame. Thoughout the night my wife and I noticed 4 other live spiders before we went to sleep (within an hours span.) There were spider webs in every corner of the room. The bathroom walls and floor were also very dirty. The tamarack lodge has webs in every corner. The only good thing about this place is the price and location. i paid $75 here.
The next morning i mentioned these problems to the older front desk lady and she said "You are in the mountains, these spiders are inevitable." We checked and went to the America's Best Value Inn. There were no insects or spiders here and it was VERY clean. This place is only 0.5 miles down the street from the Tamarack Lodge.
If you like spiders crawling into your bed, stay at the Tamarack Lodge. My wife was disgusted at this place. We slept here, and took showers and the America Best Value Inn. We paid $98 at America's Best Value Inn. Well worth the difference!!!!!!!!
Don't bring your wife here!!!!!!

  • Liked — nothing
  • Disliked — everything
  • Stayed December 2007, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Tamarack Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tamarack Lodge

Address: 2311 N. Lake Blvd., Tahoe City, CA 96145
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Lake Tahoe (California) > Tahoe City
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 7 Hotels in Tahoe City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 21
Also Known As:
Tamarack Hotel Tahoe City
Tamarack Motel Tahoe City

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Tamarack Lodge, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.