We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“great location and good value for money” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Tamarack Lodge

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Tahoe City
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Tamarack Lodge
Save
You added Tamarack Lodge to your Saves list
2311 N. Lake Blvd., Tahoe City, CA 96145   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #7 of 7 Hotels in Tahoe City
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“great location and good value for money”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 30, 2013

I stayed here for one night as part of a trip round California. I checked in slightly early but was pleasantly surprised to be given one on the cabins as the room I'd booked wasn't ready. This was a really nice touch especially as it was the first night of my trip. Located about a mile from Tahoe City it is set in such a beautiful location.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

32 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    8
    15
    5
    2
    2
See reviews for
12
8
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Ottawa
Level Contributor
15 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 9, 2012

This was our first trip to Lake Tahoe, and we loved it! The stay at Tamarack Lodge was very enjoyable. The owners are very pleasant and made sure we had a good stay. Their advice about things to do at Tahoe was invaluable. Although there is no lake view, the rooms are well-equipped with a nice kitchenette. We will definitively be back!

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Greeley, Colorado
Level Contributor
121 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 23, 2011

Spent weekend here as a off the beaten path place to get away. Family owned. Lodge has a typical motel type rooms, a family cabin and several smaller "cardroom" cabins. The place is located on the north shore of Lake Tahoe about half way from the Nevada stateline and Squaw Valley. No Lake View. Northshore casno are about twenty minutes away, skiing the same, with Southshore and Reno roughly an hour away. Nice rooms, no frills. The history of place dates back to early 1930's. Hollywood stars of the time wanting to get away found this place as a backwoods, no reporters place to stay. Clark Gable, Spencer Tracy and Jimmy Stewart stayed here. Legends of week long movie star poker parties were held here, hence the "cardrooms". Clark Gable and Marilyn Monroe spent time here for both of their last movie "The MIsfits". A nice out of way place to stay, good value and no frills.

Room Tip: Talk to the owners about the history of place, great stories.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Simi Valley CA
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 6, 2011

I just got back last night from Lake Tahoe. This was our first visit there. I truly enjoyed the service at the Tamarack Lodge, the room was very clean, I did not have a problem with the water, (maybe because it is summertime). The room had everything I needed. The kitchennette had pots and pans, cups, plates and glasses, a coffee-maker, toaster and microwave. Great value for the money! Every where else on the Lake was over $180 a night. We arrived earlier than anticipated and because the room was vacant, the manager let us check-in super early. My biggest problem was our upstairs neighbor, these people were so inconsiderate, they let their kids run while even late at nite. This wouldn't bother me so much if it was in the day time, but we are talking after 11:00pm. Maybe next time I stay there I will get a cabin. Great place to stay and save some $$$! The internet service was slow, but I was not there for business so it didn't really bother me.

Room Tip: Rent a cabin or stay on the 2nd floor not the 1st
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
Level Contributor
29 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 7, 2010

Spent 2 nights here over the Labor Day weekend, for my first visit to Tahoe. The rooms were a bit dark and got quite chilly at night - I slept in my sweatshirt and socks. The water did not get hotter than lukewarm in the morning, but was hot for our afternoon post-beach showers.

The location isn't too bad, about a mile from Tahoe City so easy to walk there. However, it felt a bit too isolated for our group of 6 women in their late 20s. We drove to Kings Beach everyday or other places.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sacramento
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 9, 2010

We've stayed here a few times, the most recent was July 2009 and had a wonderful time. Very friendly Managers! I would highly recommend The Tamarack!

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Elko, Nevada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 9, 2010

We love staying at the lodge! The short nice walk to the lake is great, it is quiet and peaceful on the grounds. I have stayed in the motel rooms and a cabin in the back and was very happy with both. The large cabin in the front is beautiful. Sitting around the fire at night is great! The Inn Keepers (Susanne, Sean and Family) are very friendly and inviting!! We will be back soon! Can't beat the price for a nice vacation!!

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Tahoe City
1.4 mi away
Americas Best Value Inn-Tahoe City/Lake Tahoe
3.5 mi away
Sunnyside Restaurant and Lodge
18.5 mi away
Beach Retreat & Lodge at Tahoe
Beach Retreat & Lodge at Tahoe
#20 of 70 in South Lake Tahoe
4.0 of 5 stars 345 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.2 mi away
Resort at Squaw Creek
Resort at Squaw Creek
#3 of 5 in Olympic Valley
4.0 of 5 stars 807 reviews
2.6 mi away
Granlibakken Tahoe
Granlibakken Tahoe
#1 of 7 in Tahoe City
4.0 of 5 stars 348 reviews
5.3 mi away
Cedar Glen Lodge
Cedar Glen Lodge
#1 of 7 in Tahoe Vista
4.5 of 5 stars 684 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Tamarack Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tamarack Lodge

Address: 2311 N. Lake Blvd., Tahoe City, CA 96145
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Lake Tahoe (California) > Tahoe City
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 7 Hotels in Tahoe City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 21
Also Known As:
Tamarack Hotel Tahoe City
Tamarack Motel Tahoe City

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Tamarack Lodge, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.