We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“All was great, except the bed....” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Pepper Tree Inn

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save Saved
You added Pepper Tree Inn to your Saves list
Pepper Tree Inn
2.0 of 5 Motel   |   645 N. Lake Blvd., Tahoe City, CA 96145   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #5 of 7 Hotels in Tahoe City
Gardnerville, NV
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“All was great, except the bed....”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 5, 2012

This hotel was centrally located; we parked our vehicle and either walked and rode our bikes through town. We stayed in Rm 605, which had a nice partially obstructed view of Lake Tahoe. The rooms are as stated by other reviewers...not fancy, but clean and serves the purpose (after all, when you come to Tahoe City it's not to stay in your room!). The toiletries were nice (loved the soap) and plenty of towels. The room included a coffee maker/coffee grinder with free beans and all the necessary coffee treats, microwave, and mini refrigerator. The bathroom and closet were very small, but again served their purpose. The breakfast was good and had plenty of goodies to choose from including waffles, hard boiled, eggs, burritos, fruit, coffee, juice, etc. There was a modest, but clean pool (no hot tub though, which we needed after a 23+ mile bike ride and 2+ mile uphill hiking). All was pretty satisfactory; the reason I am giving this hotel a 3 rather than 4 is because both beds (that's all they had available) in our room seemed like they came from Bedrock (Flintstones) because they were hard as a rock, and our sleep quality truly suffered because of it...I woke up with my body hurting, and not because of all the hiking, etc...the bed was horrid!!!! Also, there was pronounced street/tourist noise (but that's not the hotel's fault.) Other than those rock hard beds, we enjoyed our stay and we will return. (They do offer a nice romance package with a $60 credit to Jake's on the Lake, and sleep number bed, so maybe we'll be back sooner than later as long as we can get a bed we can actually get good rest on!)

Room Tip: The higher the room, the better the view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

129 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    28
    48
    27
    11
    15
See reviews for
32
58
2
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (38)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
San Jose, CA
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 25, 2012

My other half and I spent five days in Tahoe City just last week. After having a problem with last year's motel, I found the Pepper Tree online and made a reservation at basically the last minute. We had an absolutely gorgeous lake view from our room and even ate breakfast each morning on the balcony right outside our door. The room was clean and comfortable and the housekeeping was first rate. I don't understand previous reviews about rude staff at the front desk; everyone was most pleasant during our stay. There is a great deck/patio for gazing at Lake Tahoe - we played several rounds of dominoes there while getting some much-needed relaxation. Tahoe City is a cute little town - everything was within walking distance - and believe me, I'm not one who is known for doing a lot of walking! Nice restaurants - Rosie's, Blue Agave (excellent), Fat Cat. We would definitely stay at the Pepper Tree again, hopefully next summer! Oh yes, rooms have coffee beans/grinder - the coffee was most tasty!

Room Tip: Try to get a room on a higher floor in the tower with lake view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Northern Virginia
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 15, 2012

My wife and I spent one night at this hotel in early August. A worker in the city's visitor information center steered us there, and we got a good deal on a 7th floor room with a king-sized bed and a gorgeous view of Lake Tahoe. The room was clean and the bed was comfortable. The chairs outside on the walkway overlooking the lake were a thoughtful bonus. There was no air conditioning and the provided electric fan was somewhat noisy, but this was a small price to pay for the lake view and convenience of being able to walk to restaurants and the lakeside park. The included breakfast was simple but adequate. We would stay here again.

Room Tip: Rooms on the higher floors of the tower have the best lake views
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 9, 2012

I loved this hotel. My friends and I were on a tight budget and this hotel was perfect for summer. Great pool / balcony area - perfect for kicking back with a beer & deck of cards. Brilliant location. The staff couldn't have been more accommodating. Easy parking. Yummy breakfast (even if it was basic). You can see the lake but there are a few trees in the way. Who's complaining?? Not me!!

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2012

We stayed for four nights mid july over a week-end. The hotel management is friendly, helpful, and responsive to requests. Room was large enough, with frig & microwave, whole coffe beans and grinder, clean...although week-end "maid service" was not as good as the regular maid service during the week. Best part is hotel is located across the street from great restauarants (e.g., Wolfdale, Jakes on the Lake, Rosie's), bicycle rental, bike path, shopping mall, etc. If you make a reservation I recommend you call the hotel directly rather than over internet so you can ask for a room in the high rise. The room we got over the internet was along the front second floor. The lights strung along the front shine in the room at night. And noise from roadway was prominent over week-end...not the best for sensitive sleepers. Overall we enjoyed this hotel stay very much and the price is right! They accept AAA as well.

Room Tip: Calal the hotel directly and ask for a room in their high rise. Great view of the lake, no lights r...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Salt Lake City, Utah
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 1, 2012

This property has a great location across the street from beautiful Lake Tahoe in a quaint little town. The room was nice but not spectacular. Not a huge room and the closet area was tucked back into a corner behind the wall, access to it was very strange. Unit appeared to be clean, but the carpets were a little questionable. Noise from trucks behind the build at random times was annoying. No smoking signs posted everywhere but the staff all seemed to be smokers and were outside the office blazing butts. The continental breakfast was good and the staff was friendly. The view of the lake and the moderate temperatures made the stay enjoyable.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Las Vegas, Nevada, United States
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 29, 2012

The inn was ok, people at the front desk have no clue what hospitality means.... To say they were unfriendly and rude would be how your arrival will be, The rooms are nice and clean but bad odors that never go away, the bathroom has no exhaust fan!

for me the crowd noise went on all night
I know it is not the hotels fault but good luck getting any sleep

Room Tip: The rooms smell!,
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Pepper Tree Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pepper Tree Inn

Address: 645 N. Lake Blvd., Tahoe City, CA 96145
Location: United States > California > Lake Tahoe (California) > Tahoe City
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 7 Hotels in Tahoe City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Pepper Tree Inn 2*
Number of rooms: 44
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We are a privately owned one-of-a-kind B & B, centrally located in the heart of Tahoe City, directly across the street from Lake Tahoe. Our 7-story tower building is the 2nd tallest structure on the CA side and affords our guests a beautiful view of the lake from their balcony. Recent room linen & towels upgrades and 32" flat screen TV's. We offer our guests free off-street & underground parking, free access to our secure WiFi, 8-free HBO Channels via our new Direct TV upgrade, a free "extended" continental breakfast in our quaint breakfast room, and a Staff who is sensitive and dedicated to our guests needs and comfort. We have a seasonal outdoor heated swimming pool to which we have just added a new privacy fence, and offer recommendations to area attractions and even discount coupons to our favorite area restaurants. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Priceline, Hotels.com, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Pepper Tree Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Pepper Tree Hotel Tahoe City
Pepper Tree Motel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Pepper Tree Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.