We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Well situated economical hotel at Tahoe City” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Pepper Tree Inn

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Pepper Tree Inn to your Saves list
Pepper Tree Inn
2.0 of 5 Motel   |   645 N. Lake Blvd., Tahoe City, CA 96145   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #4 of 7 Hotels in Tahoe City
Atlanta
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Well situated economical hotel at Tahoe City”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2012

We stayed for four nights mid july over a week-end. The hotel management is friendly, helpful, and responsive to requests. Room was large enough, with frig & microwave, whole coffe beans and grinder, clean...although week-end "maid service" was not as good as the regular maid service during the week. Best part is hotel is located across the street from great restauarants (e.g., Wolfdale, Jakes on the Lake, Rosie's), bicycle rental, bike path, shopping mall, etc. If you make a reservation I recommend you call the hotel directly rather than over internet so you can ask for a room in the high rise. The room we got over the internet was along the front second floor. The lights strung along the front shine in the room at night. And noise from roadway was prominent over week-end...not the best for sensitive sleepers. Overall we enjoyed this hotel stay very much and the price is right! They accept AAA as well.

Room Tip: Calal the hotel directly and ask for a room in their high rise. Great view of the lake, no lights r...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

133 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    30
    50
    27
    11
    15
See reviews for
34
59
2
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (39)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Salt Lake City, Utah
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 1, 2012

This property has a great location across the street from beautiful Lake Tahoe in a quaint little town. The room was nice but not spectacular. Not a huge room and the closet area was tucked back into a corner behind the wall, access to it was very strange. Unit appeared to be clean, but the carpets were a little questionable. Noise from trucks behind the build at random times was annoying. No smoking signs posted everywhere but the staff all seemed to be smokers and were outside the office blazing butts. The continental breakfast was good and the staff was friendly. The view of the lake and the moderate temperatures made the stay enjoyable.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Las Vegas, Nevada, United States
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 29, 2012

The inn was ok, people at the front desk have no clue what hospitality means.... To say they were unfriendly and rude would be how your arrival will be, The rooms are nice and clean but bad odors that never go away, the bathroom has no exhaust fan!

for me the crowd noise went on all night
I know it is not the hotels fault but good luck getting any sleep

Room Tip: The rooms smell!,
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nevada City, California
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 27, 2012

We took the kids up for a spur of the moment overnight to Lake Tahoe. It's hard to know how a hotel actually is by the pics they show online but I must say, for the Pepper Tree Inn, I was pleasantly surprised. The staff was friendly and helpful and we got a great deal on the room. We got a room with a nice big Jacuzzi tub and even the kids had a blast with the jets. We were on the 6th floor so the view of the lake was incredible. The pool was clean and relatively private from the road. The free breakfast in the morning included make-them-yourself waffles, bagels, cereal, juices, coffee, hot chocolate, breads, pastries, hard boiled eggs, breakfast burritos, yogurts, and more that I can't remember. The room was a little small but it was very clean and the cabin- decor was cute. They had Sleep Number beds that my husband loved but I wasn't as fond of but the sheets were clean and that is way more important. This isn't a 5 star hotel but for the price I don't think you can get better in the area. We will go again for sure.

Room Tip: The higher the floor you're on the better your view of the lake. There are several restaurants...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Franconia, New Hampshire
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 3, 2012

We stayed on the 7th floor and had a great view of the lake. The room was very clean and comfortable and had all amenities, including a coffee pot that has a bean grinder for fresh ground coffee in the morning. A real treat! Expanded continental breakfast included. We were there in mid-May and it was quiet since there weren't many people there, but I would imagine that it gets noisy during the summer season. We have learned to always travel with ear plugs.
Good restaurants within walking distance, nice walking trails on the lake side of the road.
A very pleasant stay

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santa Fe, NM
Top Contributor
124 reviews 124 reviews
46 hotel reviews
Reviews in 48 cities Reviews in 48 cities
91 helpful votes 91 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 29, 2012

Had a nice view of Lake Tahoe from our fourth floor room. The room had all the amenities we needed. Tahoe City is small, but everything was a surprisingly easy walk from the hotel--restaurants, grocery store, lake trail, etc. Staff was very helpful when we wanted to ride bikes; telling us where to rent and the best trails. My wife likes to travel with her own pillow and when she forgot it, they had it the mail the next day.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Jose, California
Top Contributor
118 reviews 118 reviews
30 hotel reviews
Reviews in 42 cities Reviews in 42 cities
44 helpful votes 44 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 16, 2012

Tahoe City is a tiny town and as such you worry about the quality of the hotels as all are rated 2 stars. The Pepper Tree is the best place in town. It is clean, recently updated and the owners are awesome. We were there for a volleyball tournament and they knew that and had copies of directions pre-printed for the guests. They have a nice little breakfast included and the location is right on the main street near restaurants, the lakefront and all.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Pepper Tree Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pepper Tree Inn

Address: 645 N. Lake Blvd., Tahoe City, CA 96145
Location: United States > California > Lake Tahoe (California) > Tahoe City
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 7 Hotels in Tahoe City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Pepper Tree Inn 2*
Number of rooms: 44
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We are a privately owned one-of-a-kind B & B, centrally located in the heart of Tahoe City, directly across the street from Lake Tahoe. Our 7-story tower building is the 2nd tallest structure on the CA side and affords our guests a beautiful view of the lake from their balcony. Recent room linen & towels upgrades and 32" flat screen TV's. We offer our guests free off-street & underground parking, free access to our secure WiFi, 8-free HBO Channels via our new Direct TV upgrade, a free "extended" continental breakfast in our quaint breakfast room, and a Staff who is sensitive and dedicated to our guests needs and comfort. We have a seasonal outdoor heated swimming pool to which we have just added a new privacy fence, and offer recommendations to area attractions and even discount coupons to our favorite area restaurants. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Pepper Tree Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Pepper Tree Hotel Tahoe City
Pepper Tree Motel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Pepper Tree Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.