We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“AWESOME place to stay in Tahoe” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Sunnyside Restaurant and Lodge

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Sunnyside Restaurant and Lodge to your Saves list
Sunnyside Restaurant and Lodge
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   1850 W. Lake Blvd., Tahoe City, CA 96145   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 7 Hotels in Tahoe City
Santa Cruz, CA
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“AWESOME place to stay in Tahoe”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 2, 2006

We loved Sunnyside. We stayed here for a few days and had a great time. The rooms were very clean and very comfortable. The beds have down pillows and comforters. We had a room with a beautiful view of the lake. The front desk was very kind and helpful. I liked the complimentary samples of Bath and Body Works shampoo, conditioner and soap.

The lakeside deck and restaurant is awesome. The food is a bit overpriced but very good. The service is fair. The deck is a great place to relax and have some drinks and food.

There is also a sundeck which faces the west on the second floor to catch some afternoon sun. That is a nice place to relax in the later afternoon.

We definitely are going back to Sunnyside every summer from now on. This place is highly recommended.

  • Stayed August 2006, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

152 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    63
    50
    20
    10
    9
See reviews for
31
73
4
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (34)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
basalt, colorado
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 7, 2006

We loved our stay at Sunnyside in June of 2006. The room was huge with a great deck with a comfortable bed, down comforter, fireplace, and large bathroom.

We did check out the restaurant and had a great experience - both the food and service were excellent. We had a great view on the deck and a beautiful sunset.

  • Stayed June 2006
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 7, 2006

My family has a second house in Tahoe so we just went to Sunnyside for meals and to rent watercraft. The food was fine, though not worth the prices, and the waiter was a bit pretentious. The folks that handled the watercraft rentals were rude at best (not referring to the office personnel, as they were quite pleasant to deal with).

Stayed July 2006
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Southern California
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 3, 2006

Sunnyside was recommended to us by a number of friends who own 2nd homes in the area. We were not disappointed. The Lodge is located right on the lake. Our room wasn't fancy, but had every amenity we could have wanted.

The continental breakfast was very good, with homemade pastries and muffins and great coffee. The restaurant has a number of options: a more casual menu in the bar, and a steakhouse with excellent service. The wine list in the restaurant was very interesting, with many limited production wines.

The food and service was terrific, and the staff at the front desk was very helpful in helping us explore the area. Don't miss renting a bike and riding along the Truckee River.

  • Stayed April 2006
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Jose
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 3, 2006

Nice rooms, great views! Our room had a deck, not a balcony, but a deck! The bar service was excellent, yet the reception desk was lacking. Food was 3 star at 5 star prices. I would stay here again.

  • Stayed April 2006
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
2 of 5 stars Reviewed February 28, 2006

My husband's brother made reservations for us at this hotel when we joined them for skiing at Tahoe this past Christmas. My first problem is that the hotel and restaurant are not handicapped accessible. I use a cane for arthritis and I had a lot of trouble getting up and down all the stairs. The building was obviously an old motel with outside walkways/halls and stairs. Now these areas have been enclosed but are not heated. Not good when we arrived in a snow fall. The breakfast is really poor and only had cereals and commercial baked goods. But the biggest problem is that there is no place to sit. There is a little alcove overlooking the lake that has about 4 tables. Not enough for a hotel of this many rooms. We ended up taking our breakfast back to the bedroom. Since they provide trays, presumably they are aware of this problem and don't care.

I was surprised to read good comments about the restaurant. It seems the specialty is grilled steak and may be that is OK. My clam chowder was all flour and no clams, my husband's fried calamari which the waitress said was a signature dish was tough with greasy breading. WE couldn't eat it. The main dishes like pasta with seafood were very overpriced ($25) and the seafood was old and dried out. As previously noted, the bathroom is small, the sink is in the room and it looks like what it is-- a 60's motel that has been renovated and is resting on its past fame.

Stayed December 2005
Was this review helpful? Yes 8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MA
Top Contributor
57 reviews 57 reviews
27 hotel reviews
Reviews in 43 cities Reviews in 43 cities
117 helpful votes 117 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 21, 2005

Just stayed here for 2 nights, midweek. Had a great time - rooms aren't the best, but very comfy and most have decks (make sure to request a lake-side room w/deck) and the hotel is right on the lake (not for ppl who want luxurious accomodations). Our room also had a nice fireplace. The bathroom setup in our room was a bit different - sink over by the closet and toilet and bath/shower in another room.

The staff were very nice and helpful. The food at the restaurant was very good, including some great desserts. The bar is very hopping after skiing, and I could imagine that it gets pretty crazy in the summer too with the outdoor deck and proximity to the lake. (The hotel often has cheaper lift tickets than some of the mtns, so it would be good to check in w/them if you are going skiing.)

Other good things include: tea and coffee and fresh baked cookies available from 3pm-5pm upstairs; and continental bkfst including drinks, granola, yogurt, cereals, pastries. Would likely be a very nice place to stay in the summer b/c the lodge is located right next to the bike trail and on the lake for boating stuff. Convenience store located right next door also.

Nearby places: Homewood ski resort a few miles down the road is great - cheap lift tickets, good terrain, not crowded, probably the best view of the
lake in the place. Just a few miles up the road is the Tahoe Bakery - opens early (0600) and has great pastries, to go foods, coffee, and sandwiches. A definate recommend.....

Had a great time at the Sunnyside and would stay again!

  • Stayed April 2005
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Sunnyside Restaurant and Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sunnyside Restaurant and Lodge

Address: 1850 W. Lake Blvd., Tahoe City, CA 96145
Location: United States > California > Lake Tahoe (California) > Tahoe City
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 7 Hotels in Tahoe City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Sunnyside Restaurant and Lodge 3*
Number of rooms: 23
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Sunnyside's spectacular location on the pristine West Shore makes it the place to be in Lake Tahoe. Panoramic views of the lake and mountains beyond abound from nearly every table and during the summer, guests can also enjoy alfresco dining on Lake Tahoe’s largest outdoor deck.The Lakeside Dining Room features new American cooking – fresh, vibrant presentations of American classics with a focus on premium seafood and steaks. The award winning wine list has been carefully selected to complement the menu and offers a wide variety of wines including some rare & limited offerings. Our Mountain Grill offers a more casual atmosphere and is seated on a walk-in basis only.Sunnyside is also a classic lakefront lodge with guest accommodations overlooking Lake Tahoe. The 23 mountain inspired lodge rooms are inviting places to sink into after the day's activities. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Despegar.com, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Sunnyside Restaurant and Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sunnyside Restaurant Hotel Tahoe City
Sunnyside Hotel Tahoe City
Sunnyside Tahoe City

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Sunnyside Restaurant and Lodge, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.