We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Guess Sunnyside isn't for everyone, but it did me good!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Sunnyside Restaurant and Lodge

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Sunnyside Restaurant and Lodge to your Saves list
Sunnyside Restaurant and Lodge
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   1850 W. Lake Blvd., Tahoe City, CA 96145   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 7 Hotels in Tahoe City
Los Angeles, California
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Guess Sunnyside isn't for everyone, but it did me good!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 10, 2013

Throw out the 10 best reviews and the 10 worst reviews and you've got yourself a pretty darn good place to stay.. The food was good but a bit overpriced as you would expect. Spend some time on the deck outside with a cold one and enjoy the beauty. A pool would be a great addition, but the lack of room prohibits it. Friendly and very helpful staff. We'll be back!

Room Tip: Stayed in rm 35, no a/c but fans were enough to keep us comfortable.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

152 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    63
    50
    20
    10
    9
See reviews for
31
73
4
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (34)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Cuba, Illinois
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2013

My husband and I came to Lake Tahoe for our son's wedding and chose Sunnyside for our four day stay. Everything at Sunnyside was wonderful! The staff was friendly and helpful. The complimentary breakfast was excellent with one hot egg casserole each morning and many assorted pastries and cereals. The restaurant served excellent food both inside and outside on the deck. All of the staff that we had contact with were both pleasant and helpful. The rooms were both clean and suitable for a lake. We had a beautiful view of Lake Tahoe from our balcony. The sunrise and sunset was picture perfect each day. We would recommend you stay there while in the area. We are looking forward to going back and would stay there again.

Room Tip: Choose a room with a Lake view. The corner suite was quiet and had an excellent view of the Lake.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
california
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 15, 2013 via mobile

Make sure to sit outside on the deck and order the fried zucchini. It just doesn't get any better. The bar menu is better and better priced than the restaurant. If you have a boat, you can dock if and then eat!

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Jose, California
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 13, 2013 via mobile

Everything was terrific..tomato basil soup, Kobe beef hamburger, steelhead trout with gnocchi and mushroom sauce (fantastic...will try to reproduce at home). Their Hula pie is huge, but just OK...their berry crisp was to die for.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newark, California
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed May 29, 2013

Me and my family spent a night in this lodge as we were camping in William kent campsite across the street and it was freezing cold the previous night.

I stayed in room 28 and when i went down to my car to bring some water to drink we had in the car, I was denied entry by the "guard" at the main door of this lodge. He told me I could not bring any liquor into the building and also that he was not allowed to let anyone take anything out of the building. I might be slow but i think he was trying to implying something. I told him it was just water and he could smell it if he wanted. He basically told me he would not do that and advised me to throw it away.

What's interesting is that there were other individuals (white) entering the lodge with bags clearly from supermarket shopping and I was the only one picked upon. I just could not believe I was not allowed to bring water to my room, but mostly about the explanation provided by the "guard".

I went inside and told the manager about it. I finally was able to bring my water inside but the guard was surprised to learn i was staying at the hotel. I supose hispanics are either unlikely visitors or we just do not have the resources to pay for a $230 dollar night stay at this place.

The moral for me is that while it is true most customers I saw staying there were white, they should train their personnel better and be friendly with all ethnicities. This place is just a shame, I would not recomend it to anyone who is not white and do not arrive in a nice premium or luxory car.

What I really regret is that my family had to experience this bitter experience. This basically spoiled my stay at lake Tahoe (I know, perhaps I should not have allowed this incident to affect me that much...)

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rocklin, California, United States
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed May 27, 2013

It's called Sunnyside RESTAURANT and Lodge because everything about it caters to the restaurant. Parking during the day is impossible because of the deck and restaurant patrons. We booked a room with a lake view, and were VERY unhappy. Our room was directly over the inside bar, and overlooking the deck. The noise was overwhelming until about 1:00 am!
Hotel management told us that if we had booked by phone instead of online, they would have warned us about the noise, but they made no effort to give us a quieter room.DO NOT STAY IN ROOM 37,38 OR 39 unless you don't mind staying up all night. They serve a small breakfast right down the hall from these rooms, so you are woken up by the preparation noises before 7:00 am. In this day and age, who doesn't book their travel online? The management needs to make people aware of the problems with these rooms before booking.
The deck does have an incredible view of Lake Tahoe, but the food was pedestrian, drinks are expensive and the crowd is massive. The formal restaurant, open for dinner only, was better food.

Room Tip: stay away from rooms 37, 38 and 39
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ojai, California
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 23, 2013

We stayed in room 20 which I think may be one of the best rooms even though it is on the two lane highway. The room is a corner room so it has windows on two walls. The room also appeared to be bigger than the other rooms. I would not spend extra for a room directly facing the lake because those rooms look too small. The restaurant is very good -- one of the better restaurants in Tahoe City. Also, go to Christy Hill restaurant -- one of the best meals I have ever had, and I have eaten in Michelin starred restaurants.

Room Tip: Request room 20 -- a corner room -- on the highway but not noisy during the night.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Sunnyside Restaurant and Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sunnyside Restaurant and Lodge

Address: 1850 W. Lake Blvd., Tahoe City, CA 96145
Location: United States > California > Lake Tahoe (California) > Tahoe City
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 7 Hotels in Tahoe City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Sunnyside Restaurant and Lodge 3*
Number of rooms: 23
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Sunnyside's spectacular location on the pristine West Shore makes it the place to be in Lake Tahoe. Panoramic views of the lake and mountains beyond abound from nearly every table and during the summer, guests can also enjoy alfresco dining on Lake Tahoe’s largest outdoor deck.The Lakeside Dining Room features new American cooking – fresh, vibrant presentations of American classics with a focus on premium seafood and steaks. The award winning wine list has been carefully selected to complement the menu and offers a wide variety of wines including some rare & limited offerings. Our Mountain Grill offers a more casual atmosphere and is seated on a walk-in basis only.Sunnyside is also a classic lakefront lodge with guest accommodations overlooking Lake Tahoe. The 23 mountain inspired lodge rooms are inviting places to sink into after the day's activities. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Expedia, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, Despegar.com, Hotels.com, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Sunnyside Restaurant and Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sunnyside Restaurant Hotel Tahoe City
Sunnyside Hotel Tahoe City
Sunnyside Tahoe City

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Sunnyside Restaurant and Lodge, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.