We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Location and Restaurant” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Sunnyside Restaurant and Lodge

Save Saved
You added Sunnyside Restaurant and Lodge to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Sunnyside Restaurant and Lodge
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   1850 W. Lake Blvd., Tahoe City, CA 96145   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 7 hotels in Tahoe City
Ojai, California
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Great Location and Restaurant”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 23, 2013

We stayed in room 20 which I think may be one of the best rooms even though it is on the two lane highway. The room is a corner room so it has windows on two walls. The room also appeared to be bigger than the other rooms. I would not spend extra for a room directly facing the lake because those rooms look too small. The restaurant is very good -- one of the better restaurants in Tahoe City. Also, go to Christy Hill restaurant -- one of the best meals I have ever had, and I have eaten in Michelin starred restaurants.

Room Tip: Request room 20 -- a corner room -- on the highway but not noisy during the night.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

137 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    58
    43
    19
    9
    8
See reviews for
29
68
4
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (32)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Brisbane, Australia
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 15, 2013

Wow!!! An amazing highlight to an excellent holiday. The staff are friendly, the room and venue filled with character. We loved every part of this stay, Fire place in the room, halls lined with photos of the area and locals, massive views of Lake Tahoe, great food, warm helpful service - this is truly an iconic hotel. Typing this review make me want to go straight back... sigh.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santa Monica, California
Top Contributor
66 reviews 66 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 4, 2013

My go-to hotel on the WestShore, the Sunnyside is a delight. The lakefront rooms are the way to go, all year long. In winter, you are a stone's throw away from Homewood and in Summer, the Chris Crafts pull in to the dock all day long. The restaurant is superb. The bar has Taco Tuesdays which are really fun. The hotel is beautifully finished out, the beds are yummy and the service is perfect. 4 stars.

Room Tip: Lakefront. Do not short yourself.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
De Pere, Wisconsin
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 27, 2013

We tried this restaurant at the recommendation of a friend and it was wonderful! We had a great table with a view of the sunset over Lake Tahoe. Everything we ate was delicious (the organic green salad and the vegetarian entree with farro and roasted/grilled veggies were especially delicious). Had planned to split the Hula pie for dessert but we were too full. The service was attentive but we never felt like we were rushed.

  • Stayed March 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oroville, California
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 20, 2013 via mobile

Have been going to Sunnyside for the great food, drinks, and view for years. Always add a drink on the deck overlooking beautiful Lake Tahoe to each Tahoe trip. This time I stayed overnight with my daughters and we took advantage of the ski package. Great deal. The included afternoon tea and continental breakfast were a pleasant surprise. Best continental breakfast EVER - and it included an amazing sunrise! Lodge is old but has a lot of history and is very welcoming. Rooms well appointed with DVD players, sofa beds, bottles of wine($), and Aveda bath products.

  • Stayed March 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oakland
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 7, 2013

We have stayed at the Sunnyside Lodge on two separate occasions, and have been quite pleased both times with our rooms Most recently we had a gardenview suite, which is perfect for a family with kids. The fireplace in the room was great for drying out wet socks and boots after a day of play in the snow. The breakfast spread is quite nice, with quality baked goods and bagels and a tasty egg dish each day. It would be nice if they served it downstairs where there is more room, but we never had a hard time getting a seat. The location of the lodge is great...Homewood is just down the road, and you are minutes away from Tahoe City for additional restaurants and shopping. The staff at the front desk were always quite helpful, making dinner reservations, calling for information regarding local attractions, and facilitating an early check-in. My only complaint with the weekend was when I ran out to get some food and upon coming back found that there was no parking by the lodge, or in the overflow parking across the street. It was a busy night at the restaurant. I had to drive in circles in the dark for 10-15 minutes waiting for a spot to free up. It would be nice if they had reserved parking for guests of the lodge. Aside from that, it was a great stay.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bangkok
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 26, 2013

We arrived on a heavy snowy day on Christmas Eve. After 6 hours drive from Sacramento, we found the room was so comfortable. Staffs were so friendly and ready to tend to our needs. Our lake view balcony was waist-deep in snow, but the following day, they cleared it up and our son can enjoy making snowman while waiting for the clear sky.
Breakfast was good, but we had to bring back to enjoy in our room due to limited space in the nook. Due to its best location and service, we look forward to come back over and over again.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Sunnyside Restaurant and Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sunnyside Restaurant and Lodge

Address: 1850 W. Lake Blvd., Tahoe City, CA 96145
Location: United States > California > Lake Tahoe (California) > Tahoe City
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 7 hotels in Tahoe City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Sunnyside Restaurant and Lodge 3*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Sunnyside's spectacular location on the pristine West Shore makes it the place to be in Lake Tahoe. Panoramic views of the lake and mountains beyond abound from nearly every table and during the summer, guests can also enjoy alfresco dining on Lake Tahoe’s largest outdoor deck.The Lakeside Dining Room features new American cooking – fresh, vibrant presentations of American classics with a focus on premium seafood and steaks. The award winning wine list has been carefully selected to complement the menu and offers a wide variety of wines including some rare & limited offerings. Our Mountain Grill offers a more casual atmosphere and is seated on a walk-in basis only.Sunnyside is also a classic lakefront lodge with guest accommodations overlooking Lake Tahoe. The 23 mountain inspired lodge rooms are inviting places to sink into after the day's activities. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Tingo, Priceline, BookingOdigeoWL, Hotels.com and Venere so you can book your Sunnyside Restaurant and Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sunnyside Restaurant Hotel Tahoe City
Sunnyside Hotel Tahoe City
Sunnyside Tahoe City

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Sunnyside Restaurant and Lodge, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.