We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A pleasant stay!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Sunnyside Restaurant and Lodge

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Sunnyside Restaurant and Lodge to your Saves list
Sunnyside Restaurant and Lodge
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   1850 W. Lake Blvd., Tahoe City, CA 96145   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 7 Hotels in Tahoe City
Moscow, Russia
Top Contributor
87 reviews 87 reviews
78 hotel reviews
Reviews in 73 cities Reviews in 73 cities
54 helpful votes 54 helpful votes
“A pleasant stay!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 8, 2013

The place is very well located at the western shore, the staff members are positive and helpful. The only thing that wasn't that good was breakfast - too smal room (just 2 tables for 4 and 2- for 2 people), quite limited choice.
But in general we liked it very much and it is definitely recommended

Room Tip: Try to get a room with the lake view - it is not just a question of aesthetics, but of your comfort...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

150 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    63
    49
    19
    10
    9
See reviews for
31
72
4
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (34)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Moorestown, New Jersey
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 3, 2013

After a long drive from SF, we were pleasantly greeted and checked into a rustic room overlooking the lake and deck restaurant. It was beautiful. We didn't mind that the room and bathroom was a little dated as others had spoken of as we found it quaint and clean and part of the charm of this hotel. The location was terrific to town, Squaw Valley, and Emerald Bay. The restaurant was hopping every night on the deck but our room,even so close, was not noisy. Sitting out on our balcony listening to the hum below, watching the lake and sunset while waiting for our dinner reservation was outstanding and so relaxing after a day of hiking. Breakfast was delicious and welcoming. Also, they made up a bedroll cot for our third child, which was terrific! We were able to get five in a room! Yay!

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
Top Contributor
97 reviews 97 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
67 helpful votes 67 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 1, 2013

We have eaten at Sunnyside many, many times. The other night we were a party of 8 and there were so many problems. I must say that the server was very nice, possibly tired from a day of skiing, and who knows what was going on in the kitchen! Drink orders came 20 minutes after ordering, at 40 minutes in we asked about the appetizers--our salads arrived, we asked again about the appetizers "whoops" and so cancelled them (if the order was ever given to the kitchen)--6 out of 8 main courses arrived luke warm and had to be sent back--server was apologetic--
We will return because we have had so many great times here--hopefully the kitchen and servers pay attention to Tripadvisor reviews and review the problems.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milton Keynes, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 26, 2012

From the moment we arrived (late, after a snowy 12hr journey from San Francisco) we felt very welcome and found the staff to be extra-ordinarily helpful. Although the kitchen had closed the man checking us went out of his way to open up the pantry & laden our weary arms with home made goodies, food & drink. The rooms were lovely & the views over Lake Tahoe - wow - breathtaking!
There was a huge amount of snow during our three night stay but each day all paths & the car park were cleared by special machines & tractors.
The whole place had a brilliant Christmassy vibe (handy for our stay Dec 23-26th) & the meal we had in the main restaurant on Xmas day was superb. Our server, Christopher, could not have been more helpful!

  • Stayed December 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
California
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 26, 2012

We took advantage of an off season special...$270.00 for 2 nights, $60 hotel credit and champagne in the room at arrival. We had a lake view room. This was a great deal. The room had a great view (#32) and was fine. It was a little bit dusty, like it hadn't been used in awhile but not anything to make me feel it was unclean. The bed was comfortable, the staff was great, the complimentary breakfast was great, the afternoon tea and cookies was fun.
All in all a good value and a fun get away.

Room Tip: #32 was great
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Port Orange, Florida
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 23, 2012

I loved the location, and the view of the lake. For the rates that they charge they need to give the rooms a makeover. The wallpaper is from the 80's, mismatched furniture, needs a fine tune cleaning. Dust on the doors and in the corners of the bathroom mirrors. Some people may find this "quaint" but we did not. The queen room was larger, but the bed was very uncomfortable. The "upgraded" king room had a crazy bathroom set up. The breakfast buffet was nice, but there were not enough tables to sit and eat. If you were lucky enough to have a table in your room, then you were lucky enough to have a place to sit and eat. The staff was friendly.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 7, 2012

We loved the Sunnyside, having stayed there for 4 days recently while visiting our son in Lake Tahoe. The location was among the best in Tahoe City, and the lakeside dining was terrific. We enjoyed the spacious room, from which we had a view of the lake. The continental breakfasts were really a full breakfast, and we enjoyed the morning newspaper while having early coffee - being on east coast time at first. Plenty of parking, and the staff we talked with were very friendly. Lots of places to have the breakfast besides the admittedly small room with 2-3 tables. We enjoyed our stay.

Room Tip: The ones with a side view of the lake are probably better than the full frontal, since those have th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Sunnyside Restaurant and Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sunnyside Restaurant and Lodge

Address: 1850 W. Lake Blvd., Tahoe City, CA 96145
Location: United States > California > Lake Tahoe (California) > Tahoe City
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 7 Hotels in Tahoe City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Sunnyside Restaurant and Lodge 3*
Number of rooms: 23
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Sunnyside's spectacular location on the pristine West Shore makes it the place to be in Lake Tahoe. Panoramic views of the lake and mountains beyond abound from nearly every table and during the summer, guests can also enjoy alfresco dining on Lake Tahoe’s largest outdoor deck.The Lakeside Dining Room features new American cooking – fresh, vibrant presentations of American classics with a focus on premium seafood and steaks. The award winning wine list has been carefully selected to complement the menu and offers a wide variety of wines including some rare & limited offerings. Our Mountain Grill offers a more casual atmosphere and is seated on a walk-in basis only.Sunnyside is also a classic lakefront lodge with guest accommodations overlooking Lake Tahoe. The 23 mountain inspired lodge rooms are inviting places to sink into after the day's activities. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Hotels.com, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Sunnyside Restaurant and Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sunnyside Restaurant Hotel Tahoe City
Sunnyside Hotel Tahoe City
Sunnyside Tahoe City

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Sunnyside Restaurant and Lodge, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.