We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Loved the view, but rooms need a makeover” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Sunnyside Restaurant and Lodge

Save Saved
You added Sunnyside Restaurant and Lodge to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Sunnyside Restaurant and Lodge
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   1850 W. Lake Blvd., Tahoe City, CA 96145   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 7 hotels in Tahoe City
Port Orange, Florida
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“Loved the view, but rooms need a makeover”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 23, 2012

I loved the location, and the view of the lake. For the rates that they charge they need to give the rooms a makeover. The wallpaper is from the 80's, mismatched furniture, needs a fine tune cleaning. Dust on the doors and in the corners of the bathroom mirrors. Some people may find this "quaint" but we did not. The queen room was larger, but the bed was very uncomfortable. The "upgraded" king room had a crazy bathroom set up. The breakfast buffet was nice, but there were not enough tables to sit and eat. If you were lucky enough to have a table in your room, then you were lucky enough to have a place to sit and eat. The staff was friendly.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

137 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    58
    43
    19
    9
    8
See reviews for
29
68
4
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (32)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 7, 2012

We loved the Sunnyside, having stayed there for 4 days recently while visiting our son in Lake Tahoe. The location was among the best in Tahoe City, and the lakeside dining was terrific. We enjoyed the spacious room, from which we had a view of the lake. The continental breakfasts were really a full breakfast, and we enjoyed the morning newspaper while having early coffee - being on east coast time at first. Plenty of parking, and the staff we talked with were very friendly. Lots of places to have the breakfast besides the admittedly small room with 2-3 tables. We enjoyed our stay.

Room Tip: The ones with a side view of the lake are probably better than the full frontal, since those have th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reno, Nevada, United States
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 24, 2012

We went to Sunnyside for our 29th anniversary, and were very disappointed in the room. The bedside lamps were dusty, and not just a little dusty - but very very noticeable. We can live with dust, but the hair in the tub/shower was, ugh - I can't even describe how horrific I find that. My husband has a number 2 buzz cut and I have curly hair. The hair in the tub/shower was blonde and brunette. No mold, no signs of tub ring, just hair. When we got home I showered. We used to live at the lake and always wanted to be able to afford to stay at Lodge, so imagine our dissapointment. We ordered some desert and was told we would have it in 10 minutes, seemed fast for room service, but it never came. We called around 9pm, the restaurant wasn't busy, so 20 minutes would have been fine. But after an hour, we figured we were S.O.L. Thankfully it wasn't added to our bill at checkout.
It was great being back at the Lake for our 29th, and having coffee on the deck off our room in the morning. Thankfully we didn't order it from room service.

Room Tip: Enjoy the food in the restaurants, and the views from almost every window. I suggest never staying a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 24, 2012

Skip the breakfast, which is included in the room rate, unless you like juggling a cup of tea and your food on your lap! There are only 2 tables to really sit and eat at, and one of them is so close to the food line, you are practically bumping elbows with other patrons. There's also 2 sofas with very small low tables, and everything is right on top of one another. The worst part is that the area looks out over the restaurant deck with 50+ tables! Why can't they serve breakfast there??? For a hotel with over 30 rooms, this is ridiculous! The room was very nice but on the small side, and the balcony is tiny. Also, we could hear loud music from the bar from 4 PM on, which ruins the quiet setting. They told us we could get a discount at the Squaw Valley tram ride by showing our Sunnyside guest card, but the staff at Squaw Valley never heard of any discount.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
South San Francisco, California
Top Contributor
78 reviews 78 reviews
27 hotel reviews
Reviews in 38 cities Reviews in 38 cities
75 helpful votes 75 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 17, 2012

This review is about Sunnyside's pier bar because they have the BEST BLOODY MARYs on the planet!! Pull your boat right up to the pier and they will valet it to a bouy and "park" it while you enjoy the bar drinks and atmosphere. The bartenders are very fast and friendly and serve up some great adult beverages....ask for extra spicy on your Bloody Mary for a jump start to your morning boating adventure!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reno, Nevada
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 10, 2012

Slow service. Food was good but french fries were cold. First drink in a nice glass. 2nd one in a glass coffee mug. I think they ran out of glasses. I think the mug holds less than the regular drink glass...at least it appears that way. Also..we were told 30 minutes for an outside table. We decided to go inside and as soon as we ordered our drinks, we were told our outdoor table was ready. It took a long time for the drinks ro arrive at our outside table. The restaurant looks very nice and has great views. I will go back knowing I need to bring my patience.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 9, 2012

Stayed here the week after labor day. We arrived on a Thursday night without a reservation and got the 'last room', which I think meant 'the one we can never rent'. It was on the ground floor right next to the highway, which gets very noisy starting at about 6 am on weekdays. Coupled with the folks upstairs arising before 6 am and making lots of noise (the building and plumbing don't seem very well insulated) it was a rude awakening! The next night they moved us to an upstairs room closer to the lake (and in all fairness discounted both rooms somewhat) so overall it was a decent stay. I would agree with other reviewers that the rooms are feeling a bit tired and dated, especially for the $200-$300 a night rates they charge during high season. The bar and restaurant have great decks in the summer and a lively bar scene without being raucous. Location is very handy to Tahoe City and West Shore attractions like Emerald Bay.

Room Tip: Avoid rooms closest to the highway!
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Sunnyside Restaurant and Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sunnyside Restaurant and Lodge

Address: 1850 W. Lake Blvd., Tahoe City, CA 96145
Location: United States > California > Lake Tahoe (California) > Tahoe City
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 7 hotels in Tahoe City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Sunnyside Restaurant and Lodge 3*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Sunnyside's spectacular location on the pristine West Shore makes it the place to be in Lake Tahoe. Panoramic views of the lake and mountains beyond abound from nearly every table and during the summer, guests can also enjoy alfresco dining on Lake Tahoe’s largest outdoor deck.The Lakeside Dining Room features new American cooking – fresh, vibrant presentations of American classics with a focus on premium seafood and steaks. The award winning wine list has been carefully selected to complement the menu and offers a wide variety of wines including some rare & limited offerings. Our Mountain Grill offers a more casual atmosphere and is seated on a walk-in basis only.Sunnyside is also a classic lakefront lodge with guest accommodations overlooking Lake Tahoe. The 23 mountain inspired lodge rooms are inviting places to sink into after the day's activities. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, Tingo, Priceline, BookingOdigeoWL, Hotels.com and Venere so you can book your Sunnyside Restaurant and Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sunnyside Restaurant Hotel Tahoe City
Sunnyside Hotel Tahoe City
Sunnyside Tahoe City

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Sunnyside Restaurant and Lodge, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.