We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lake Pier Bar ROCKS!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Sunnyside Restaurant and Lodge

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save Saved
You added Sunnyside Restaurant and Lodge to your Saves list
Sunnyside Restaurant and Lodge
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   1850 W. Lake Blvd., Tahoe City, CA 96145   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #3 of 7 Hotels in Tahoe City
South San Francisco, California
Top Contributor
102 reviews 102 reviews
31 hotel reviews
Reviews in 42 cities Reviews in 42 cities
83 helpful votes 83 helpful votes
“Lake Pier Bar ROCKS!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 17, 2012

This review is about Sunnyside's pier bar because they have the BEST BLOODY MARYs on the planet!! Pull your boat right up to the pier and they will valet it to a bouy and "park" it while you enjoy the bar drinks and atmosphere. The bartenders are very fast and friendly and serve up some great adult beverages....ask for extra spicy on your Bloody Mary for a jump start to your morning boating adventure!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

148 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    61
    49
    19
    10
    9
See reviews for
30
71
4
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (33)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Reno, Nevada
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 10, 2012

Slow service. Food was good but french fries were cold. First drink in a nice glass. 2nd one in a glass coffee mug. I think they ran out of glasses. I think the mug holds less than the regular drink glass...at least it appears that way. Also..we were told 30 minutes for an outside table. We decided to go inside and as soon as we ordered our drinks, we were told our outdoor table was ready. It took a long time for the drinks ro arrive at our outside table. The restaurant looks very nice and has great views. I will go back knowing I need to bring my patience.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 9, 2012

Stayed here the week after labor day. We arrived on a Thursday night without a reservation and got the 'last room', which I think meant 'the one we can never rent'. It was on the ground floor right next to the highway, which gets very noisy starting at about 6 am on weekdays. Coupled with the folks upstairs arising before 6 am and making lots of noise (the building and plumbing don't seem very well insulated) it was a rude awakening! The next night they moved us to an upstairs room closer to the lake (and in all fairness discounted both rooms somewhat) so overall it was a decent stay. I would agree with other reviewers that the rooms are feeling a bit tired and dated, especially for the $200-$300 a night rates they charge during high season. The bar and restaurant have great decks in the summer and a lively bar scene without being raucous. Location is very handy to Tahoe City and West Shore attractions like Emerald Bay.

Room Tip: Avoid rooms closest to the highway!
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sacramento, California
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 5, 2012

We really enjoyed our stay at this lodgy hotel. It is historical, but has been remodeled over the years. The room was clean and pleasant. The bathroom was pretty dated with a tiled shower and oak cabinets....just felt average. Our room had a very small deck with 2 chairs facing the lake and the busy restaurant below. In the room there were a couple of wine glasses, a cork screw and a wine list with some very reasonable bottles available right there in the room on a wine rack! A Rombauer Chardonnay for $32.00 I think. Such a deal! The beds were comfortable. They only had a room with 2 queen beds available for a lakeview. There was no air conditioning on a very warm Tahoe day, but we weren't in the room that much.

In the morning the hotel provided an expanded Continental breakfast in a cozy room and the coffee was quite good. There was an egg/quiche type dish with homemade salsa, some pastries, bagels, yogurt, etc... It kept us happy until lunch.

We ate lunch at the hotel restaurant...run by the Dukes of Hawaii chain.....and it was very good actually. Hubby had the Burger and I had the Fish and Chips....Mahi Mahi I think. I could hardly finish mine because the pieces of fish were so generous! This place was absolutely hopping because of the the view and the fun atmosphere. People were boating over from all points on the Lake and getting boat taxied up to the dock of the restaurant....such fun!

In the winter there is a bus to a few ski slopes that stops right out in front of the hotel.

Room Tip: A room farthest away from the lobby will be quieter and not above the restaurant yet still have a La...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montecito, California
Top Contributor
97 reviews 97 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 21, 2012

Got the $290 lake view room for a couple of nights: great view as advertised, and even nicer once patio shuts down at 9:00 and it actually gets quiet!
Room was tired and needs a refresh. Come On Ownership! poorly arranged, only a small glass table & 2 chairs with an outlet 8 feet away. get rid of oversized chest of drawers and work in a small sofa so you can sit and look at lake, desk would be nice, baths need to be updated, wallpaper is old, light fixtures need a change out, ceiling fan is old and wobbles on high, relocate flat screen to corner. Room was clean and lines/comforter were fine. Hot water went out just when I was going to take a shower, but they got it going again in 45 minutes.
Can't speak to the non-lake view rooms layout.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled solo
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 20, 2012

I have been going here since i was young. The deck, view and food are wonderful. You can boat or walk in. I go here with all ages and always have a wonderful time and wonderful, perfectly cooked meal. Be sure to make reservations for the deck in the summer. I I love dinner time around 7:30. You can go casual or dressed up.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reno, Nevada
Top Contributor
85 reviews 85 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
55 helpful votes 55 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 17, 2012 via mobile

Patio deck lunch was much better than my last visit... All is forgiven. Gotta try the Fish and Chips... Might want to ask for fries in lieu of the sweet potato fries. I'm just not much of a sweet potato guy

Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Sunnyside Restaurant and Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sunnyside Restaurant and Lodge

Address: 1850 W. Lake Blvd., Tahoe City, CA 96145
Location: United States > California > Lake Tahoe (California) > Tahoe City
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 7 Hotels in Tahoe City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Sunnyside Restaurant and Lodge 3*
Number of rooms: 23
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Sunnyside's spectacular location on the pristine West Shore makes it the place to be in Lake Tahoe. Panoramic views of the lake and mountains beyond abound from nearly every table and during the summer, guests can also enjoy alfresco dining on Lake Tahoe’s largest outdoor deck.The Lakeside Dining Room features new American cooking – fresh, vibrant presentations of American classics with a focus on premium seafood and steaks. The award winning wine list has been carefully selected to complement the menu and offers a wide variety of wines including some rare & limited offerings. Our Mountain Grill offers a more casual atmosphere and is seated on a walk-in basis only.Sunnyside is also a classic lakefront lodge with guest accommodations overlooking Lake Tahoe. The 23 mountain inspired lodge rooms are inviting places to sink into after the day's activities. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Orbitz, Booking.com, Priceline, Hotels.com, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Sunnyside Restaurant and Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sunnyside Restaurant Hotel Tahoe City
Sunnyside Hotel Tahoe City
Sunnyside Tahoe City

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Sunnyside Restaurant and Lodge, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.