We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Right on the Lake!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Sunnyside Restaurant and Lodge

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Sunnyside Restaurant and Lodge to your Saves list
Sunnyside Restaurant and Lodge
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   1850 W. Lake Blvd., Tahoe City, CA 96145   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 7 Hotels in Tahoe City
Sacramento, California
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“Right on the Lake!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 5, 2012

We really enjoyed our stay at this lodgy hotel. It is historical, but has been remodeled over the years. The room was clean and pleasant. The bathroom was pretty dated with a tiled shower and oak cabinets....just felt average. Our room had a very small deck with 2 chairs facing the lake and the busy restaurant below. In the room there were a couple of wine glasses, a cork screw and a wine list with some very reasonable bottles available right there in the room on a wine rack! A Rombauer Chardonnay for $32.00 I think. Such a deal! The beds were comfortable. They only had a room with 2 queen beds available for a lakeview. There was no air conditioning on a very warm Tahoe day, but we weren't in the room that much.

In the morning the hotel provided an expanded Continental breakfast in a cozy room and the coffee was quite good. There was an egg/quiche type dish with homemade salsa, some pastries, bagels, yogurt, etc... It kept us happy until lunch.

We ate lunch at the hotel restaurant...run by the Dukes of Hawaii chain.....and it was very good actually. Hubby had the Burger and I had the Fish and Chips....Mahi Mahi I think. I could hardly finish mine because the pieces of fish were so generous! This place was absolutely hopping because of the the view and the fun atmosphere. People were boating over from all points on the Lake and getting boat taxied up to the dock of the restaurant....such fun!

In the winter there is a bus to a few ski slopes that stops right out in front of the hotel.

Room Tip: A room farthest away from the lobby will be quieter and not above the restaurant yet still have a La...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

152 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    63
    50
    20
    10
    9
See reviews for
31
73
4
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (34)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Montecito, California
Top Contributor
98 reviews 98 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
45 helpful votes 45 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 21, 2012

Got the $290 lake view room for a couple of nights: great view as advertised, and even nicer once patio shuts down at 9:00 and it actually gets quiet!
Room was tired and needs a refresh. Come On Ownership! poorly arranged, only a small glass table & 2 chairs with an outlet 8 feet away. get rid of oversized chest of drawers and work in a small sofa so you can sit and look at lake, desk would be nice, baths need to be updated, wallpaper is old, light fixtures need a change out, ceiling fan is old and wobbles on high, relocate flat screen to corner. Room was clean and lines/comforter were fine. Hot water went out just when I was going to take a shower, but they got it going again in 45 minutes.
Can't speak to the non-lake view rooms layout.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled solo
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 20, 2012

I have been going here since i was young. The deck, view and food are wonderful. You can boat or walk in. I go here with all ages and always have a wonderful time and wonderful, perfectly cooked meal. Be sure to make reservations for the deck in the summer. I I love dinner time around 7:30. You can go casual or dressed up.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sparks, Nevada
Top Contributor
91 reviews 91 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
56 helpful votes 56 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 17, 2012 via mobile

Patio deck lunch was much better than my last visit... All is forgiven. Gotta try the Fish and Chips... Might want to ask for fries in lieu of the sweet potato fries. I'm just not much of a sweet potato guy

Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Prescott, AZ
Top Contributor
70 reviews 70 reviews
28 hotel reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
76 helpful votes 76 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 14, 2012 via mobile

I would definitely recommend a stop here for lunch in the summer. It can get quite busy, but worth it to sit outdoors and enjoy the lake. My daughter had the steak salad and I had a fish sandwich & they were both very very good. Lovely place, nice people, good food - what's not to like?

I've also had drinks here in winter and it was cozy and classy.

Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ottawa, IL
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 27, 2012 via mobile

My family and I have been coming to Tahoe-Donner for 27 years, since my wife and I honeymooned here. We and our 3 young adult children love this area, and we love eating at this great restaurant every time we come to Tahoe. It's simply our very favorite place to share rich time over good food and fellowship. And you cannot get a more fabulous view of the Lake! The staff is warm, professional and service oriented. I highly recommend this dining experience to anyone looking for an evening to enjoy.

Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Phoenix, Az
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 27, 2012

First time visit to Lake Tahoe. A friend recommended Sunnyside Lodge so I called for reservations. They were able to accommodate our dates, but we would have to move rooms once. Great!

We arrived from Reno airport about 6 pm and checked in; very pleasant and efficient front desk staff. I was a little surprised there was no bellboy or offer to assist with luggage. Our room was up a series of stairs and while I am able to carry 50 lb suitcases up stairs, I really didn’t feel like it.

Our room (#34) had an excellent lake view. With two queen beds, the rooms are a little tight but are comfortable with all the amenities you would want except a small refrigerator. Sunnyside has a great wine selection in each room at very reasonable prices, along with a cooler, two wine glasses and a cork screw. Our room (believe all lake view rooms) had a very small deck with chairs for two people. The deck is so small and tight with two people seated, but much better than no deck at all.

With the room comes a complimentary continental breakfast in a small room on the second floor. This was not fancy but really great and more than sufficient. Aside from juice, coffee, milk and assorted bread there were cereals, fruits, hard boiled eggs and a warm egg dish. In the afternoon Sunnyside offers coffee, tea and cookies in this same room which was a great way to wake up from a nap. While room prices are reasonable, these two inclusions probably saved us $35 per day.

The Sunnyside restaurant/deck is a major happening and draws patrons from around the lake for good reason. We ate here several times and enjoyed it very much. Really broken into two restaurants, both with deck seating, but one offering an inside, slightly more formal setting and a different menu. Both restaurants were great. Because of the popularity of the place, it is crowded from opening to close, which is relatively early. This however means there is the constant noise associated with the crowd which can be heard in the rooms if you have your patio door open for fresh air. With the door closed I don’t think you would notice the noise.

Location was excellent unless you feel like you need to be right in the middle of town. It’s a short drive, walk or bicycle ride to Tahoe City for shopping, sightseeing or restaurant alternatives. Near the Lodge there is a small store/deli, a café and assorted shops where we were able to rent a boat, kayaks and bikes.

What really stands out at Sunnyside is the personnel. Literally everyone we encountered, from management to housekeeping, front desk to hostess and wait staff, was friendly, engaging and enthusiastic. This makes a huge difference wherever you travel and it was greatly appreciated. In the end, we did not have to change rooms and were able to get a delayed check-out so we could enjoy brunch on the patio before heading off to the airport.

Room Tip: If you are a light sleeper and go to bed early, the lake view rooms might not be your best choice...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Sunnyside Restaurant and Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sunnyside Restaurant and Lodge

Address: 1850 W. Lake Blvd., Tahoe City, CA 96145
Location: United States > California > Lake Tahoe (California) > Tahoe City
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 7 Hotels in Tahoe City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Sunnyside Restaurant and Lodge 3*
Number of rooms: 23
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Sunnyside's spectacular location on the pristine West Shore makes it the place to be in Lake Tahoe. Panoramic views of the lake and mountains beyond abound from nearly every table and during the summer, guests can also enjoy alfresco dining on Lake Tahoe’s largest outdoor deck.The Lakeside Dining Room features new American cooking – fresh, vibrant presentations of American classics with a focus on premium seafood and steaks. The award winning wine list has been carefully selected to complement the menu and offers a wide variety of wines including some rare & limited offerings. Our Mountain Grill offers a more casual atmosphere and is seated on a walk-in basis only.Sunnyside is also a classic lakefront lodge with guest accommodations overlooking Lake Tahoe. The 23 mountain inspired lodge rooms are inviting places to sink into after the day's activities. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Despegar.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Sunnyside Restaurant and Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sunnyside Restaurant Hotel Tahoe City
Sunnyside Hotel Tahoe City
Sunnyside Tahoe City

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Sunnyside Restaurant and Lodge, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.