We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Utterly Charming” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Cottage Inn

Save Saved
You added Cottage Inn to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Cottage Inn
P.O. Box 66, Tahoe City, CA 96145   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 5 Tahoe City B&B and Inns
Madison, WI
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
“Utterly Charming”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 15, 2013

We travel to lodges and cabins fairly extensively and this experience was really terrific. We're generally not into the motorized sporting scene and all it brings, so Tahoe is a little more developed than we prefer but we wanted to experience it without all of the cheesiness of the south end of the Lake. This was ideal. Tahoe City is a great location with easy access to nearby destinations inland and around the Lake. And this particular property is a gem -- mostly owing to the exceedingly gracious hospitality of Suzie, the owner and your host. She provides an orientation to your well-appointed cabin, serves up a terrific breakfast, and is a font of great suggestions on how to use your time. The site is a block off the beach but has beach access, which we enjoyed. We find that good properties generally attract good guests and we had very enjoyable conversations over wine, which Suzie serves with appetizers at 5 pm, with several other couples whose company we enjoyed. The cabins are very comfortable, quiet, and extremely well maintained. I highly commend the Cottage Inn.

Room Tip: We were in the ski chalet cabin which had a hot tub and handsome stone fireplace.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

95 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    68
    16
    8
    0
    3
See reviews for
4
76
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (17)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Kelseyville, California
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 9, 2013 via mobile

We stayed here before and had such a wonderful time, we decided to celebrate our Anniversary weekend here. The rooms are adorable, comfortable and cozy. The staff is very friendly and on top of making sure you are taken care of. The breakfast in the Lodge is included and was delicious. There is also a key to allow entrance to the private beach on Lake, just steps away. We will definitely be returning again for another great experience.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alameda, California
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 27, 2013

We found this place on accident. We were originally going to stay in Volcano but due to unforeseen circumstances, we had to keep going. We ended up at Tahoe and both of us hadn't been there in years. We spotted the Cottage Inn while driving due to it's attractive location , kept going for a few miles, deliberated, flipped around and the rest is history! I can't say enough about this place. It felt like we were on vacation, the amount of relaxation that we got from a one night stay was amazing. We stayed in the Skier's Chalet and found it cozy and well decorated. The hot tub was perfect, room was clean and bed was very comfortable. The hosts in the guest hall were very friendly, we enjoyed wine hour with a jigsaw puzzle and their breakfast the next day was satisfying. The grounds were still covered with snow (March) but you could tell that the place was well taken care of. There was a short walk to the lake which was peaceful and uncrowded. Husband woke up at sunset and took some amazing pictures. We want to come back and visit the sail boat room next time! Visited in March of 2012.

Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sunnyvale, CA
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 12, 2013

Lake Tahoe has been part of my life for over fifty years and it's difficult to imagine how can you improve on its beauty and activities, but along came the Cottage Inn!

This weekend was a birthday celebration for a close friend and consisted of four couples. As one of the guest couples, I did no research and just delivered my wife and I to the address at the appointed time.

As you enter the driveway, you are greeted with a small village of wooden cottages surrounding a central grassy area under a tall canopy of fir trees, perfect for relaxing at any time of the day or evening. The cottages show tremendous examples of woodworking and masonry of what you might expect in times past. Inside, the rooms continue the exterior rustic charm with beautiful wood finishes and furnishings, accented some modern conveniences. Each room is presented with a different and tastefully done theme that allows you to drift to the Tahoe days past. Stepping back outside, you are only a two minute stroll to a private beach or with a few more steps, Sunnyside Resort amenities.

The guest staff for our weekend (Suzy, Sandy, Kathy) greeted us with a smile and proceeded to make us feel like part of a large family. This atmosphere spread to all the guests and soon our party doubled in size and provided many laughs and interesting conversations during their happy hour with wine and hors d'oeuvres. Start each day with a homemade breakfast that you can enjoy either in the dining room or on the deck as the sun filters through the trees.

If you are planning a Tahoe getaway, make it complete and stay at the Cottage Inn.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nevada
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
64 helpful votes 64 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 5, 2013

We just got back from a last minute weekend stay at the Inn. Wow about says it all ! We don't know what they could have done to make our stay any better. The staff are wonderful, always willing to go above and beyond to exceed our expectations. We stayed in the Cowboy romance room which was very nice, has a rustic feel, the fireplace kept us toasty warm, small refrig great for drinks and snacks, and we enjoyed the little sitting area for reading. The room was spotless which is key for me, so kudos to the housekeeping staff. We enjoyed the Happy Hours wine and munchies and movies provided to enjoy later in the room. Breakfast was great, We loved the granola bar which started our morning, and the breakfast to follow was delicious and filling. It was a great way to send us off for a day of hiking.The private access beach/ picnic area was very nice , well maintained, had a bathroom and lots of picnic tables and little benches for enjoying a good book, glass of wine in the evening or just looking at the lake. I gave 4 stars for the sleep quality only because my husband complained of a back ache in the AM from the bed. I think a topper would quickly solve that issue, but everyone has different likes on a bed's firmness so sometimes it makes it hard to please everyone. We were made to feel like visiting family, everyone was wonderful, which made us hate to leave and want to return.Thank you to everyone at the inn for making our Anniversary weekend, one to remember !

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas, Texas
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 15, 2013

My husband and I visited for four nights to celebrate our 20th anniversary. We had never stayed at the Inn but had heard great things about it and were looking forward to relaxing and enjoying Tahoe lake.
What a wonderful place to stay! We stayed in Sail Away which was immaculate, wonderfully decorated and very comfortable. This room has a king bed, jetted tub and the bath looks newly remodeled and is ADA. We had a slight problem w keeping water in the shower at all times since there was no lip at the shower base but a small towel cleaned it up.
The lodge and grounds are delightful. We enjoyed evening mulled wine w russian tea cakes almost every night and worked on a puzzle, played scrabble or just read and talked. There was a fire going every night and soft music playing and most nights there were a few other guests who also joined us.
The grounds were absolutely beautiful and there was snow and outdoor lights galore.
Breakfast was very tasty...yogurt or milk w granola, juice, coffee/tea, and either an egg dish (omelette of some sort or eggs benedict ) or cream cheese french toast w bacon or pancakes w sausage. All of the food was excellent.
We interacted w Susie or Sandy quite a bit and both were very helpful when we inquired about local activities. The Sunnyside Restaurant and Hotel almost right next door was a recommendation from Susie for Tuesday night beer and burgers. Wow. Great dinner for only $10.
The internet service was spotty in the room but seemed fine in the lodge. We didn't go there to be on the internet so it wasn't a big deal and honestly the internet strength is pretty spotty throughout Tahoe.
If you are just looking for a room to lay your body, go somewhere else. If you are looking for something unique, charming, European feeling, relaxing and low key, this is the place to stay.
We definitely will be back and have already recommended the place to family.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
L.A.
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 13, 2013

We recently had a great stay at The Cottage Inn. Located just far enough outside of Tahoe City that it feels more remote than it actually is, it is also in close proximity to any and all ski resorts on the California side of the lake.

We were treated each night of our stay to wine and snacks, and each morning to a hearty breakfast. Even better, the host was kind enough to grant us a late checkout so we could get one last morning of skiing in. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Cottage Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cottage Inn

Address: P.O. Box 66, Tahoe City, CA 96145
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Lake Tahoe (California) > Tahoe City
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 5 B&Bs / Inns in Tahoe City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Cottage Inn,located 2 miles south of Tahoe City,is a cluster of charming cottages with an 'old Tahoe' feel but 'todays' amenities.All rooms have private shower bathrooms, gas fireplaces, TV/VCR/DVD, seating area, some with a 2 person bathtub for special occasions.A full breakfast is served every morning (included in stay) in the main lodge as well as cookies and snacks/wine in the evenings.Our guests have access to a private beach adjacent to our property,bike path southbound or northbound can be picked up behind the property.Secure bike storage onsite.Boat/kayak/paddle board rental nearby.Many restaurants easily to be reached within a few minutes.We are located close to major ski resorts like Homewood,Alpine Meadows and Squaw Valley. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Cottage Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cottage Hotel Tahoe City

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Cottage Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.