We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Inn on the Lake” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Cottage Inn

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Save
You added Cottage Inn to your Saves list
Cottage Inn
P.O. Box 66, Tahoe City, CA 96145   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 5 Tahoe City B&B and Inns
Nevada
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
68 helpful votes 68 helpful votes
“Great Inn on the Lake”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 5, 2013

We just got back from a last minute weekend stay at the Inn. Wow about says it all ! We don't know what they could have done to make our stay any better. The staff are wonderful, always willing to go above and beyond to exceed our expectations. We stayed in the Cowboy romance room which was very nice, has a rustic feel, the fireplace kept us toasty warm, small refrig great for drinks and snacks, and we enjoyed the little sitting area for reading. The room was spotless which is key for me, so kudos to the housekeeping staff. We enjoyed the Happy Hours wine and munchies and movies provided to enjoy later in the room. Breakfast was great, We loved the granola bar which started our morning, and the breakfast to follow was delicious and filling. It was a great way to send us off for a day of hiking.The private access beach/ picnic area was very nice , well maintained, had a bathroom and lots of picnic tables and little benches for enjoying a good book, glass of wine in the evening or just looking at the lake. I gave 4 stars for the sleep quality only because my husband complained of a back ache in the AM from the bed. I think a topper would quickly solve that issue, but everyone has different likes on a bed's firmness so sometimes it makes it hard to please everyone. We were made to feel like visiting family, everyone was wonderful, which made us hate to leave and want to return.Thank you to everyone at the inn for making our Anniversary weekend, one to remember !

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

112 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    79
    20
    9
    1
    3
See reviews for
5
90
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (24)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Dallas, Texas
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 15, 2013

My husband and I visited for four nights to celebrate our 20th anniversary. We had never stayed at the Inn but had heard great things about it and were looking forward to relaxing and enjoying Tahoe lake.
What a wonderful place to stay! We stayed in Sail Away which was immaculate, wonderfully decorated and very comfortable. This room has a king bed, jetted tub and the bath looks newly remodeled and is ADA. We had a slight problem w keeping water in the shower at all times since there was no lip at the shower base but a small towel cleaned it up.
The lodge and grounds are delightful. We enjoyed evening mulled wine w russian tea cakes almost every night and worked on a puzzle, played scrabble or just read and talked. There was a fire going every night and soft music playing and most nights there were a few other guests who also joined us.
The grounds were absolutely beautiful and there was snow and outdoor lights galore.
Breakfast was very tasty...yogurt or milk w granola, juice, coffee/tea, and either an egg dish (omelette of some sort or eggs benedict ) or cream cheese french toast w bacon or pancakes w sausage. All of the food was excellent.
We interacted w Susie or Sandy quite a bit and both were very helpful when we inquired about local activities. The Sunnyside Restaurant and Hotel almost right next door was a recommendation from Susie for Tuesday night beer and burgers. Wow. Great dinner for only $10.
The internet service was spotty in the room but seemed fine in the lodge. We didn't go there to be on the internet so it wasn't a big deal and honestly the internet strength is pretty spotty throughout Tahoe.
If you are just looking for a room to lay your body, go somewhere else. If you are looking for something unique, charming, European feeling, relaxing and low key, this is the place to stay.
We definitely will be back and have already recommended the place to family.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
L.A.
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 13, 2013

We recently had a great stay at The Cottage Inn. Located just far enough outside of Tahoe City that it feels more remote than it actually is, it is also in close proximity to any and all ski resorts on the California side of the lake.

We were treated each night of our stay to wine and snacks, and each morning to a hearty breakfast. Even better, the host was kind enough to grant us a late checkout so we could get one last morning of skiing in. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Placerville, California
Top Contributor
214 reviews 214 reviews
43 hotel reviews
Reviews in 93 cities Reviews in 93 cities
128 helpful votes 128 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 20, 2013

Charmed, I'm sure! My husband and I needed a weekend getaway and we knew a gal who was singing at Jake's on the Lake (Neva, a super talented artist from SoCal) so we decided on Tahoe City. We like to stay on the cheap side and this was about as cheap as we could get last-minute without staying in a total dump. I was tickled to find this quaint but sprawling cottage complex with Christmas lights twinkling in the dark when we arrived. The hosts were gracious and upbeat. Our room, the cheapest of all the rooms at $130/ni was just perfect for the two of us. We stayed in the Twig Room, a toasty little studio atop the Bear's Den. It had a stone propane fireplace, as do all the rooms, and a great little nook for cozying up with a good book. The room was just what I was hoping for. Then there was even a complimentary happy hour with cookies, apps and mulled wine. Breakfast was just as tasty — bread pudding, quiche and hash browns. I'll definitely be staying up there again when I need to get away!

Room Tip: I didn't visit any of the other rooms, but they all seem to have great privacy!
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Haven, Connecticut
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 6, 2013

My partner and I stayed for 2 nights between Christmas and New Year as we were xcountry skiing up at the Nordic center in Tahoe City. We stayed in 'Cozy Corner' and were delighted with our stay. Our room was clean, perfectly sized, and very private as there was nobody to overlook the room. The lake is across a quiet lane, and the jetty and surrounding bay was picture-perfect in the dense snow. Breakfasts were all home-made and a good size (we had homemade granola with yoghurt and stuffed french toast the first day, then a slice of cake and a scrambled egg stack with a breakfast crescent and honey butter the next - i requested veggie, and they happily added veggies instead of meat).

After a hard day's skiing we came back for the sunset and a spectacular moon rise over the lake, and then helped ourselves to a glass of wine, bowl of homemade sweet potato soup, homemade coconut macaroons, and cheese and biscuits, eaten by the fire in the lodge. The macaroons were the best I've eaten.

Everyone was very friendly and helpful (they posted back a few shirts that I'd forgotten to pack). I would thoroughly recommend the Cottage Inn and we would definitely go back.

Room Tip: Cozy corner is not overlooked at the end of the walk way.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 28, 2012 via mobile

My husband and I have never been to Lake Tahoe and since it was our first time celebrating Xmas as husband and wife, we wanted to make it real special. We wanted to have a white Xmas and we definitely got it! The cottage was very cozy, romantic and very private. We stayed at The Enchanted Room and Cottage Time. They were both nice, beds were comfortable. Breakfast was included. The food was average, very plain. Nothing special. Except for the breakfast cake - so yummy! The staff was friendly, helpful and very efficient. It was a memorable Xmas for sure. We will definitely be back!

  • Stayed December 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vegas
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 29, 2012 via mobile

The Cottage Inn experience was truly a breath of fresh air! In today's day and age of resort fees, exuberant prices, and over rated hotels, this one has the total package. The staff was super friendly and extremely helpful. The breakfast in the morning was awesome as well. The cabins are top notch! If you want a true vacation destination, look no further! We can't wait to come back!!

Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Cottage Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cottage Inn

Address: P.O. Box 66, Tahoe City, CA 96145
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Lake Tahoe (California) > Tahoe City
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 5 B&Bs / Inns in Tahoe City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 22
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Cottage Inn,located 2 miles south of Tahoe City,is a cluster of charming cottages with an 'old Tahoe' feel but 'todays' amenities.All rooms have private shower bathrooms, gas fireplaces, TV/VCR/DVD, seating area, some with a 2 person bathtub for special occasions.A full breakfast is served every morning (included in stay) in the main lodge as well as cookies and snacks/wine in the evenings.Our guests have access to a private beach adjacent to our property,bike path southbound or northbound can be picked up behind the property.Secure bike storage onsite.Boat/kayak/paddle board rental nearby.Many restaurants easily to be reached within a few minutes.We are located close to major ski resorts like Homewood,Alpine Meadows and Squaw Valley. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your Cottage Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cottage Hotel Tahoe City

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Cottage Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.