We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful five nights at Cottage Inn, Tahoe City, Ca.” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Cottage Inn

Save Saved
You added Cottage Inn to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Cottage Inn
P.O. Box 66, Tahoe City, CA 96145   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 5 Tahoe City B&B and Inns
Shaker Heights, Ohio
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Wonderful five nights at Cottage Inn, Tahoe City, Ca.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 24, 2012

My husband and I returned home last week from a destination wedding in Lake Tahoe, Ca. We found Cottage Inn among the options the bride and groom listed on their wedding website. At first glance I thought the cabins at Cottage Inn were a bit over-the-top with decorative bears climbing on them but as I looked closer at the website and examined the rooms and compared this place to other options I knew this was the place for us. We stayed in Sierra Siesta which was as big as a small rental cabin! We had a huge bathroom with modern shower and a large counter top to spread out all our stuff. Usually I am searching for a shelf but this one was perfect! The king bed was comfortable, there was a small fridge for our leftovers from meals out, snacks and water bottles. The windows are beautiful crank ones that open to fresh air. We had been in a Sheraton the week before hermatically sealed and dependent on air conditioning so this was a 180 for us. I loved being able to feel the fresh air and smell the wonderful pine scent. In addition to our great room, we loved the breakfasts served in the Lodge. Every morning was different and each one yummy. Our favorite was the stuffed French toast, however. Coffee is ready for early risers at 7:30am and there is seating in the lodge as well as outside on the deck. The weather when we were there was spectacular so even though it was cool in the mornings, we did have some breakfasts outdoors. What a treat. The staff was terrific and helpful. We recommend this place to all who are going to Tahoe City.

Room Tip: At first we were booked into a small room which when we got there and I looked in the windows I was...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

95 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    68
    16
    8
    0
    3
See reviews for
4
76
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (17)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Boston, Massachusetts
Top Contributor
83 reviews 83 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 42 cities Reviews in 42 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 8, 2012

We only had one night at the Cottage Inn and wished we stayed another. The property is just lovely--beautiful vintage-look, cozy cottages with most modern amenities. Everything is well kept. The quiet beach a short walk away is a nice spot to relax and look at lovely Lake Tahoe. The hearty breakfast was delicious. A couple surprises on our visit, positive and negative. The staff serves wine and cheese for guests each afternoon, and were very friendly and helpful in choosing local dinner spots. However, the office closes at 9pm and no staff is on the property after that. Also, there are no phones in the room so make sure you are comfortable with that situation. No AC either, but we were there in late August and certainly didn't need it. Would love to go back.

Room Tip: Rooms facing the center lawn might be best, as the "lake view" rooms actually look at the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alpharetta, Georgia
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 27, 2012

My boyfriend and I choose this bed & breakfast after driving around the west part of the lake from South Lake Tahoe to the very Northern part. We were deciding what area to stay in, there were plenty of hotels in South Lake and also cute places in Tahoe City but after spotting the Cottage Inn, we knew where we wanted to spend our 4 days vacation!

The Cottage Inn is in a perfect location, although right off the road you still feel tucked in the cozy forest. They have a private lakeside area with a rocky beach, which makes for some amazing views! Also within walking distance there is a little convenient store with a deli and the main necessities. There are also some yummy restaurants nearby (I recommend eating at Spoon). In the evenings you can lay in the hammock or play a game of giant checkers outside!

The room was the perfect size with a comfortable bed. We felt safe and cozy. The included breakfast is definitely one of the main highlights of the experience. You literally feel like you are visiting a friend for breakfast at their house. The meals are freshly made and are simply delicious! You just head to the main cottage, take a seat and the juice and meal come almost immediately upon arrival! The staff was also friendly and helpful.

I would definitely stay here again and suggest it to my friends and family also!

Room Tip: Definitely look at the website before you choose your room, they are all themed differently and some...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 20, 2012

We stayed here in August this year for approximately one week. From the get-go, not counting the amazing atmosphere and location right on the lake, the staff was extremely friendly and helpful. We were immediately greeted with advice on activities in the area and places to eat. The lodge is just warm in general. (Not the weather though! Very nice weather.)

Kathy cooks breakfast every morning and it was just perfect. Included in with the breakfast is coffee and later on in the day free wine/crackers/cheese. Everything was accommodating.

The cottages are quaint, built with quality and the wood floors creak in just the right way. The bathroom is just perfect, and you get plenty of towels and nice toiletries to go along with it. The housekeeping is super and always knows how to not disturb at all. They somehow seem to always clean up just how and when you want them to, almost omnisciently.

The private beach you get access to is nice. I reccommend renting bikes and biking the trail to Squaw Valley and to Truckee.

No other place in Tahoe City has the same authenticity and friendliness. 10/10 And we will be back!

Room Tip: Wake up for the breakfast! It's worth it. The area is safe and feel welcome to walk around durin...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sonoma county, CA
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
75 helpful votes 75 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 15, 2012

The grounds are very nice. The lake is close enough but not in the back of the property as it is insinuated. The small private beach that the Cottage Inn is free to use is much more crowded than the public beach. We stayed in the Bears Den because of our tiny dog. This is the only room to stay in for that reason but it was unpleasant due to the people upstairs as when they walk the entire cabin creaks and moans. It is a deal breaker for future stays. The morning breakfasts were great; eggs bene, breakfast panini etc. We'd be back time and again if not for the loud, annoying creaking. One very odd thing to note: as we were driving up to the lake from home, we received a text at 6:30 a.m. stating that the receipt of our balance had just gone through on our credit card. What? We hadn't even arrived yet! I called to check and I was informed, rather curtly, that payment was the morning we arrive NOT UPON arrival! Hmmm!

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
susanne425, General Manager at Cottage Inn, responded to this review, October 11, 2012
thank you very much for your review.
I do wish to comment on a few things though. we are on the lake side of the highway, and where the path takes you from our grounds to Tahoe Park Beach, a private homeowners beach, you just have to cross that little street on the lake side of us to get to the beach area.When a guest calls and makes a reservation, we do explain ,that we charge for a multiple night stay the remainder (1.nights prepayment is done at time of booking) on the morning of arrival to give us more time during the check-in period to explain the lodge and show guests to the rooms.this is also written in the confirmation we email at time of booking.
Our cottages were built in the late 1930's and are all wood structures. Unfortunately there are noises here and there.But had we known right then that this bothered you we would have been able to move the folks upstairs to another room.We try to make everyone's stay as pleasant as possible, but we need to know right away to be able to solve the issue. Yes, due to the fact that you had to bring your dog-an exception on our end as we don't take dogs-this was the only room available to accept you with your small pet.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sonoma, California
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 23, 2012

We just returned from our second stay at the Cottage Inn on West Lake Tahoe Sunnyside resort area. Although they are a busy Inn, they have many rooms so you can usually get a reservation for a few nights without much effort. Each room is themed and very clean, some more spacious than others. The breakfast is wonderful and the staff is attentive. It's an adult crowd (no kids under 12) which adds to the relaxation. The bonus is the location, a short distance (2 mi) from the summer-time crowds that descend upon Tahoe City. There is access to the private HOA lake-front picnic area and swim beach. You can grab a cocktail, lunch or dinner at the lovely and popular lake-front Sunnyside Inn just down the road. The is a small store and a few good eats around the corner, as well as a bike trail that heads in opposite directions for 10 miles. There are a few cons... the rooms mostly boast queen beds that look like a full, that feel too firm and too small for us (and we have a queen). At night and early morning, it can also get noisy from the ever-growing road/traffic noise that seaps into the rooms if windows are open. It can make it hard to get a good night's rest and stops us from staying more than a few nights (that and the prices aren't cheap). I hope this spurs a bed upgrade in the future... until then, we will most likely return for amenities, prime location and easy access to our favorite part of the lake.

Room Tip: away from the road.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
susanne425, Manager at Cottage Inn, responded to this review, October 11, 2012
we appreciate your second review very much.
all of our rooms have either 1 queen or 1 king bed. Both of the rooms you stayed in this time have 1 queen and we always buy the medium type firmness of the mattresses.. Mattress firmness is very personal and we went with the medium to have the chance of making the mattress softer by adding pads to them.We have made a note in your file to add the pad on your future stay.
Not all of the rooms can handle a king size bed but we will add more in the future where space allows us to do so.
Around the Lake is only one major Highway and almost all lodging facilities are located along that Highway.Within the next weeks we will replace the windows in the building you stayed the first nights with new triple pane glass hoping that that will make it quieter.
looking forward to seeing you next year again
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
california
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2012

My Wife and I try to get up to Lake Tahoe once a year for our anniversary. We always stay at the North Shore and usually at B &B's. This year we tried the Cottage Inn for the first time. It turned out to be a good choice. The staff were there when you needed them and were friendly and helpful. The rooms are as cute and clean inside as they are on the outside. The grounds are beautiful, very Tahoe esque . It is in a good location with access to a private beach where we enjoyed a little picnic on the shore. Also within walking distance to a little market and Sunnyside where you can go for food and drinks on their deck on the lake. The Cottage also offers afternoon wine and snacks to enjoy which is a good idea while waiting for the Tahoe city traffic to die down. A very good choice for a romantic get away. I am sure we will be staying there on our next Tahoe visit.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Cottage Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cottage Inn

Address: P.O. Box 66, Tahoe City, CA 96145
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Lake Tahoe (California) > Tahoe City
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 5 B&Bs / Inns in Tahoe City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Cottage Inn,located 2 miles south of Tahoe City,is a cluster of charming cottages with an 'old Tahoe' feel but 'todays' amenities.All rooms have private shower bathrooms, gas fireplaces, TV/VCR/DVD, seating area, some with a 2 person bathtub for special occasions.A full breakfast is served every morning (included in stay) in the main lodge as well as cookies and snacks/wine in the evenings.Our guests have access to a private beach adjacent to our property,bike path southbound or northbound can be picked up behind the property.Secure bike storage onsite.Boat/kayak/paddle board rental nearby.Many restaurants easily to be reached within a few minutes.We are located close to major ski resorts like Homewood,Alpine Meadows and Squaw Valley. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline and Booking.com so you can book your Cottage Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cottage Hotel Tahoe City

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Cottage Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.