We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Come here for a real, personal, and authentic experience.” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Cottage Inn

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added Cottage Inn to your Saves list
Cottage Inn
2.5 of 5 Bed and Breakfast   |   1690 W. Lake Blvd., Tahoe City, CA 96145   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 5 Tahoe City B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Houston, Texas
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Come here for a real, personal, and authentic experience.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 20, 2012

We stayed here in August this year for approximately one week. From the get-go, not counting the amazing atmosphere and location right on the lake, the staff was extremely friendly and helpful. We were immediately greeted with advice on activities in the area and places to eat. The lodge is just warm in general. (Not the weather though! Very nice weather.)

Kathy cooks breakfast every morning and it was just perfect. Included in with the breakfast is coffee and later on in the day free wine/crackers/cheese. Everything was accommodating.

The cottages are quaint, built with quality and the wood floors creak in just the right way. The bathroom is just perfect, and you get plenty of towels and nice toiletries to go along with it. The housekeeping is super and always knows how to not disturb at all. They somehow seem to always clean up just how and when you want them to, almost omnisciently.

The private beach you get access to is nice. I reccommend renting bikes and biking the trail to Squaw Valley and to Truckee.

No other place in Tahoe City has the same authenticity and friendliness. 10/10 And we will be back!

Room Tip: Wake up for the breakfast! It's worth it. The area is safe and feel welcome to walk around durin...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank AmandakP
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

135 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
sonoma county, CA
Level Contributor
38 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 98 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 15, 2012

The grounds are very nice. The lake is close enough but not in the back of the property as it is insinuated. The small private beach that the Cottage Inn is free to use is much more crowded than the public beach. We stayed in the Bears Den because of our tiny dog. This is the only room to stay in for that reason but it was unpleasant due to the people upstairs as when they walk the entire cabin creaks and moans. It is a deal breaker for future stays. The morning breakfasts were great; eggs bene, breakfast panini etc. We'd be back time and again if not for the loud, annoying creaking. One very odd thing to note: as we were driving up to the lake from home, we received a text at 6:30 a.m. stating that the receipt of our balance had just gone through on our credit card. What? We hadn't even arrived yet! I called to check and I was informed, rather curtly, that payment was the morning we arrive NOT UPON arrival! Hmmm!

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank jojoagogo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
susanne425, General Manager at Cottage Inn, responded to this review, October 11, 2012
thank you very much for your review.
I do wish to comment on a few things though. we are on the lake side of the highway, and where the path takes you from our grounds to Tahoe Park Beach, a private homeowners beach, you just have to cross that little street on the lake side of us to get to the beach area.When a guest calls and makes a reservation, we do explain ,that we charge for a multiple night stay the remainder (1.nights prepayment is done at time of booking) on the morning of arrival to give us more time during the check-in period to explain the lodge and show guests to the rooms.this is also written in the confirmation we email at time of booking.
Our cottages were built in the late 1930's and are all wood structures. Unfortunately there are noises here and there.But had we known right then that this bothered you we would have been able to move the folks upstairs to another room.We try to make everyone's stay as pleasant as possible, but we need to know right away to be able to solve the issue. Yes, due to the fact that you had to bring your dog-an exception on our end as we don't take dogs-this was the only room available to accept you with your small pet.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sonoma, California
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 23, 2012

We just returned from our second stay at the Cottage Inn on West Lake Tahoe Sunnyside resort area. Although they are a busy Inn, they have many rooms so you can usually get a reservation for a few nights without much effort. Each room is themed and very clean, some more spacious than others. The breakfast is wonderful and the staff is attentive. It's an adult crowd (no kids under 12) which adds to the relaxation. The bonus is the location, a short distance (2 mi) from the summer-time crowds that descend upon Tahoe City. There is access to the private HOA lake-front picnic area and swim beach. You can grab a cocktail, lunch or dinner at the lovely and popular lake-front Sunnyside Inn just down the road. The is a small store and a few good eats around the corner, as well as a bike trail that heads in opposite directions for 10 miles. There are a few cons... the rooms mostly boast queen beds that look like a full, that feel too firm and too small for us (and we have a queen). At night and early morning, it can also get noisy from the ever-growing road/traffic noise that seaps into the rooms if windows are open. It can make it hard to get a good night's rest and stops us from staying more than a few nights (that and the prices aren't cheap). I hope this spurs a bed upgrade in the future... until then, we will most likely return for amenities, prime location and easy access to our favorite part of the lake.

Room Tip: away from the road.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank sacsonoma
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
susanne425, Manager at Cottage Inn, responded to this review, October 11, 2012
we appreciate your second review very much.
all of our rooms have either 1 queen or 1 king bed. Both of the rooms you stayed in this time have 1 queen and we always buy the medium type firmness of the mattresses.. Mattress firmness is very personal and we went with the medium to have the chance of making the mattress softer by adding pads to them.We have made a note in your file to add the pad on your future stay.
Not all of the rooms can handle a king size bed but we will add more in the future where space allows us to do so.
Around the Lake is only one major Highway and almost all lodging facilities are located along that Highway.Within the next weeks we will replace the windows in the building you stayed the first nights with new triple pane glass hoping that that will make it quieter.
looking forward to seeing you next year again
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
california
Level Contributor
30 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2012

My Wife and I try to get up to Lake Tahoe once a year for our anniversary. We always stay at the North Shore and usually at B &B's. This year we tried the Cottage Inn for the first time. It turned out to be a good choice. The staff were there when you needed them and were friendly and helpful. The rooms are as cute and clean inside as they are on the outside. The grounds are beautiful, very Tahoe esque . It is in a good location with access to a private beach where we enjoyed a little picnic on the shore. Also within walking distance to a little market and Sunnyside where you can go for food and drinks on their deck on the lake. The Cottage also offers afternoon wine and snacks to enjoy which is a good idea while waiting for the Tahoe city traffic to die down. A very good choice for a romantic get away. I am sure we will be staying there on our next Tahoe visit.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank CaliforniaRiverrat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
vacaville, ca
Level Contributor
120 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 119 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 7, 2012

The last time we were here was approximately seven years ago, maybe more, so I didn't know what to expect. Fear not, this place is still FIRST RATE! The owners and staff were so delightful and kind and went out of their way to help us and answer any and all questions. We have been here twice before and had the Enchanted Cottage and the Hideaway which were large, more expensive rooms. This time we were going to spend most of our time outside, so we opted for the less expensive smaller rooms. We had the Teepee Room and it was immaculately spotless and cozy and charming. So incredibly clean! And the bed was comfy. The breakfast was delicious and quite filling! I have only been here in the winter with the snow so it was a real treat to see how close Sunnyside is and the wonderful lakefront ammenities!! Sunnyside is a hoot and a good bang for your buck as well. We had a bottle of wine and some cheese that we bought at Wonderful Tahoe House (I think that was the name, a bakery and gourmet shop right up the road) at one of the picnic tables at the beach. We just had a wonderful time!! We will absolutely be back, and SOON!!

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank shelley w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saint Paul, Minnesota
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 6, 2012

Best place you'll ever stay! The cottages are wonderful. The grounds are perfect.

Room Tip: Look at each cottage.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Robert A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego, California
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 4, 2012

We have stayed at the Cottage Inn for the past two years. We drive up in December/January to enjoy the skiing on the north shore. We picked the B&B based on reviews and a friend's recommendation and we are so glad we did! All of the cottages on site are absolutely adorable and oh so cozy. They sit right near the lake, and some cabins even have a view. We have stayed in the newer cottage in the "sail away" room, as well as "skiers chalet". Both were spacious, had a fireplace, and a hot tub (a must after a long day of skiing!). They serve an amazing breakfast every morning (quiche, french toast, eggs, etc). I was really surprised how great it was. I was expecting a continental type of breakfast but it was homemade and delicious! Plus they have a small happy hour each night where they serve wine and snacks in the main cabin. It is a great way to meet some of the other guests and relax. Plus the cottage is in a great location. There are a ton a great restaurants minutes away. The fabulous Sunnyside restaurant is walking distance, as well as a convenience store. Plus all the really nice ski resorts are minutes away. Homewood (one of our favorites) is a 3 minute drive down the road. Alpine and Squaw are about 15 minutes away, and Northstar is about 20. You couldn't ask for a better spot! While we were there they had a ton of snow, even got a foot overnight! I was concerned we wouldn't be able to get our car out the next morning, but they had all the roads plowed, as well as the sidewalks before we even woke up. And the staff is very friendly and helpful. They have recommended some great restaurants, hiking trails, and places to visit. We absolutely love this place! We plan to make this an annual trip, and we will be staying at The Cottage Inn every time.

Room Tip: if you are planning to ski/snowboard, choose a room with a tub!
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank LadyClute
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Tahoe City
0.2 mi away
Sunnyside Restaurant and Lodge
2.1 mi away
Americas Best Value Inn-Tahoe City/Lake Tahoe
5.2 mi away
Resort at Squaw Creek
Resort at Squaw Creek
#5 of 5 in Olympic Valley
4.0 of 5 stars 931 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
17.1 mi away
Marriott Grand Residence Club Tahoe
Marriott Grand Residence Club Ta...
#9 of 70 in South Lake Tahoe
4.5 of 5 stars 709 reviews
8.6 mi away
Cedar Glen Lodge
Cedar Glen Lodge
#1 of 7 in Tahoe Vista
5.0 of 5 stars 731 reviews
1.0 mi away
Granlibakken Tahoe
Granlibakken Tahoe
#1 of 7 in Tahoe City
4.0 of 5 stars 395 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cottage Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cottage Inn

Address: 1690 W. Lake Blvd., Tahoe City, CA 96145
Location: United States > California > Lake Tahoe (California) > Tahoe City
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 5 B&Bs / Inns in Tahoe City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates):
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Cottage Inn 2.5*
Number of rooms: 22
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Cottage Inn,located 2 miles south of Tahoe City,is a cluster of charming cottages with an 'old Tahoe' feel but 'todays' amenities.All rooms have private shower bathrooms, gas fireplaces, TV/VCR/DVD, seating area, some with a 2 person bathtub for special occasions.A full breakfast is served every morning (included in stay) in the main lodge as well as cookies and snacks/wine in the evenings.Our guests have access to a private beach adjacent to our property,bike path southbound or northbound can be picked up behind the property.Secure bike storage onsite.Boat/kayak/paddle board rental nearby.Many restaurants easily to be reached within a few minutes.We are located close to major ski resorts like Homewood,Alpine Meadows and Squaw Valley. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travelocity, Odigeo and Agoda so you can book your Cottage Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cottage Hotel Tahoe City

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing