We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful hotel with wonderful staff” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Sutter

Save Saved
You added Hotel Sutter to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Hotel Sutter
53 Main St., Sutter Creek, CA 95685 (Formerly The American Exchange Hotel)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 2 hotels in Sutter Creek
Lindfield, United Kingdom
1 review
“Beautiful hotel with wonderful staff”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Spent a night at this newly renovated hotel. The bedroom and bathroom were beautiful and the staff were really helpful and welcoming. We didn't have a chance to eat at the hotel but the menu looked wonderful. Would have loved to stay more than the one night.

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

9 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    2
    4
    1
    1
    1
See reviews for
1
6
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (3)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Reno, Nevada
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

We spent a weekend in The Sutter Creek area, and had dinner at Hotel Sutter. Dinner was very good and prices were reasonable. We started with Happy Hour (3-7) and moved to the dining room. Our reservation netted us a table near the open windows, where the misters could be seen working constantly because it was a very hot day. Service was prompt and friendly. The scallop appetizer was very good an was our entrees. The restored hotel is beautifully done. Hope to stay there in the future.

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 21, 2014

Fresh faced. Lovely old building with new bathrooms, gorgeous dining and bar area face out front walk. Man cave/Ladies lounge = basement pub is fun and relaxing. That Panda guy stayed out all night, came back saying, that "Everyone is friendly", with a smile and a glow.
Room #206 right at the top of the stairs and right by the elevator... But, all was a quiet night. Air conditioning/ heater with control panel above the headboard, gallons of shampoos and potions, blow dryer, but no fridge.
They send you across the street with vouchers for morning coffee OR pastries at Caffeine's ... Just try and get her to crack a grin.

Stayed July 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Walnut Creek, California
1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 18, 2014

I posted this on yelp as well. My future in laws live in nearby Volcano so we used to recommend this hotel to everyone we know who was visiting them. Initially we went here for New Years when they had just recently opened under new management. We were really impressed with the food and the remodel.

Flash forward to March of this year, we started looking at wedding venues in the area and immediately thought about reserving some or all of the rooms here. We toured the rooms and while very small they were modern and quaint. At that time the third floor had communal bathrooms but we were told that they were remodeling that floor so every room would have a bathroom, we were thrilled. In May we booked a local venue and my soon to be mother in law called and talked to the event coordinator and told her we definitely wanted to reserve 10 rooms and we wanted to have our rehearsal dinner there. I then went down there on May 23 to give them a deposit check and tell them that we actually want ALL the rooms for TWO nights. Low and behold they had no record of the 10 room hold. They also would not take my check that day because the event coordinator wasn't there and because we were more than a year out so they couldn't put a reservation in the system yet. They promised that the event coordinator would call in a few days to finalize everything. Well she never called and after repeated calls and emails over a three week period my mother in law drove down there and while the event coordinator wasn't there(again) she finally got an information packet emailed to her. When she called to finalize details and finally put a hold on all the rooms she was informed by the owner that someone "just" squeezed in right in front of us and booked the whole place and the banquet room for a rehearsal dinner. The owner offered to "accommodate" our rehearsal dinner on the balcony. Um no. How can someone squeeze in before us when we have been trying to give you a check for a month!

In the end I think this is a blessing is disguise. The food and service has been getting progressively worse every time we have gone here(as the reviews reflect) and given how quickly businesses go in and out of business in this area I have a feeling that this place may not still be around in a year. The last thing I need is to try to scramble for lodging at the last minute before for our wedding.

Room Tip: Try the Hanford House in Sutter Creek or National Hotel in Jackson. Both have been around longer and...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Penn Valley, California
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 3, 2014

Had a couple of meals and drinks here, while spending a couple of days in Sutter Creek. Food and service was very good with reasonable cost. Good mixed drinks and an okay offering of micro brews.
Be sure to try the "Cellar"in the evening. .. complete bar fare, including dart board!

Stayed June 2014, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Valley Springs, California
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 19, 2014

This place has been remodeled under new ownership. It is a very very nice historic hotel that has been remodeled very nicely. The is an excellent restaurant and bar downstairs. Multiple rooms and suites upstairs with balconies overlooking the main street of this historic 1849 gold rush town of Sutter Creek. There is also dinning available on the upstairs balcony. The food is excellent and the prices are reasonable. Will definitely be back!

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sacramento, California
Top Contributor
274 reviews 274 reviews
31 hotel reviews
Reviews in 79 cities Reviews in 79 cities
78 helpful votes 78 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 16, 2014

Had our wedding at a local vineyard. Coordinated with Hotel Sutter for guest lodging, rehearsal dinner, and shuttle. Staff was extremely professional. Helped us every step of the way. Went above and beyond. The rehearsal dinner was EXCELLENT. Made in house - everything was fresh and delicious. All of our guests were extremely satisfied with the hotel and loved the shuttle they provide to and from the wedding venue (as wine was obviously featured). We even had report that an excellent after-party was had by all at the downstairs bar that is open late. Would highly recommend them for any of your wedding needs.

Room Tip: If having a private bathroom is important- make sure your room comes with one.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Hotel Sutter? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Sutter

Address: 53 Main St., Sutter Creek, CA 95685 (Formerly The American Exchange Hotel)
Location: United States > California > Sutter Creek
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 hotels in Sutter Creek
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Tingo and BookingOdigeoWL so you can book your Hotel Sutter reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Sutter, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.