We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“lovely linn” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Hanford House Inn

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Sutter Creek
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
The Hanford House Inn
Save
You added The Hanford House Inn to your Saves list
61 Hanford Street, Sutter Creek, CA 95685   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #3 of 6 Sutter Creek B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence 2014
los angeles
1 review
“lovely linn”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 13, 2008

robert and athena were wonderful hosts, waiting for us when we got there after a long drive, with some wine and cheese and snacks. Our room, the blue room, was very pretty and cozy.Sutter Creek is a charming town,( but if you are there monday and tuesday, , most of the restaurants are closed.) I would totally recommend it.

  • Stayed August 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

166 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    150
    11
    3
    1
    1
See reviews for
15
121
3
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (31)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Julian, California
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 23, 2008

We stumbled upon Hanford House during our travels down Highway 49. The town of Sutter Creek is charming and inviting (a wonderful old gold mining town) and we found ourselves wanting to stay there for the night. The proprietors of this bed & breakfast were wonderful. They were friendly and anxious that we should enjoy our stay in the town. The room was lovely and comfortable. Each room in the B&B has its own theme and, after being taken on a tour of the rooms, we chose the British Banker -themed room.

Local wine was served in the early evening with cheese and other appetizers. The wine and food served were excellent. The owner of the Inn was interested in our travels and suggested a walk through town citing areas of interest.

We are early risers and, so, missed the breakfast, but homemade scones and coffee were put out early. Absolutely delicious! We were sorry to leave this great place.

All in all, it was an unexpected delight to discover Sutter Creek and the Hanford House Bed and Breakfast.

  • Liked — Charm. Location in gold country.
  • Disliked — None.
  • Stayed July 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Benicia, CA
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2008

My husband & I celebrated our 25th Wedding Anniversary and loved this B & B. We stayed in a gorgeous, comfortable room...."Gold Country Escape" Our room had a deck with a great view of the hills. It was a perfect place to relax! The Robert & Athena, along with Buddy, are awesome people. They advised us of places to visit during our 3 night / 4 day stay. We enjoyed the breakfast & appetizers that were included with our stay....delicious! We did not realize that there would be so much to do....shopping, wine tasting, exploring mines in the "Gold Country"/ We need to come back for all the other activities we did not have a chance to do. We will definately plan other visit to Hanford House and bring some other friends along.
I would recommend all our friends to stay at Hanford House!

Stayed June 2008
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego, CA
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 24, 2008

This is the "greatest place to stay"! We spent 2 nights, and had an amazing time. Robert and Athena are such gracious hosts, and fun to be around. This is not a "stuffy" place... it's relaxing, has wonderful amenities, fabulous food, and just overall a great place to stay. If we lived closer, we would be there on a regular basis. Everything was in good order, but I would say that the hospitality, and friendliness of the owners/hosts and other guests, was really the highlight. Sitting around in the late afternoon, with wine and cheese, was awesome! I felt like I was leaving "new family" when we checked out. If we are even close to the area again, we will be back!!!! And, we will recommend it to any of our friends who will be there....

  • Liked — The graciousness of the hosts
  • Disliked — Trying to find the location, using Garmin GPS
  • Stayed June 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sparks, NV
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 17, 2008

If your coming to the Jackson / Sutter Creek Area - you will really enjoy this B & B! We Stayed here for three wonderful days, celebrating our 25th Anniversary and the new owner's: Robert & Athena were so hospitable they made our stay a most memorable one. Our first afternoon here, we lounged in the common area, sipped some wine, ate fantastically prepared Hors d' oeuvres, and visited with our host & hostess and some other really nice guests. In the morning, coffee, paper, & delicious scones were delivered to our door. After we got ready, we met with other guests for a gourmet breakfast especially prepared by Athena! Well whether you are here for peace & quiet or you are outgoing, the Hanford House is a beautiful place to stay, we highly reccomend it. Sutter Creek is a quaint little town in historical old gold mining country with lots to do and so close to Amador County Wineries. Say Hi to Buddy!

Steve & Heidi

  • Liked — THE AMENITIES - OF COARSE!
  • Disliked — The driveway entrance.
  • Stayed June 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seal Beach, Ca
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 8, 2008

We were just starting a trip from LA to Donner Lake and needed a halfway point to stay for a night. On a whim, we decided on Sutter Creek -- have always wanted to stay there. Got the AAA guide book out and called the Hanford House B&B Inn.

We got a beautiful room (the Blue Room), with the kindest host and hostess -- Robert and Athena. And we can't forget their dog, Buddy, a King Charles Cavalier Spaniel, who was a fun part of our stay.

The Inn is beautifully decorated, very quaint, sparkling clean, and comfortable.

Athena set a very artistic evening table of wines and cheeses in the dining room. It was a wonderful evening. We spent hours visiting with other guests who came to the dining room, and when Robert and Athena (and, of course, Buddy) had time, they sat down with us to visit, too. A cozy, fun time was had by all.

In the morning, we were treated to Athena's cooking -- a wonderful omelette with fresh spinach and feta cheese, an exotic spicy sausage, fresh fruit, juice, coffee, homemade scones, and the Inn's homemade granola, which was wonderful.

After this spectacular experience, we are definitely spoiled -- we will be back next time to stay longer just to enjoy the experience again and explore the beautiful countryside.

We highly recommend the Hanford House B&B Inn and have already done so to many of our friends and family.

  • Liked — We were taken care of in every way -- wonderful and friendly care
  • Disliked — n/a derful and friendly care-- everything was great
  • Stayed June 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York, NY
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
28 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
81 helpful votes 81 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 21, 2008

I was a little apprehensive about staying here. When I booked, the reservations process was a bit cumbersome; however, my opinion of the place quickly changed when I arrived. I discovered that the people who I had made the reservation with, no longer owned the property. I was warmly greeted by Athena and Robert who had just taken over the property eight days earlier. This was your typical B&B setting but what set it apart was the warmth and friendliness of the owners. I stayed in a suite separate from the other rooms, it was extremely large, had a fireplace and huge bathroom and a balcony just outside the room. The bed and linens were superb and the atmosphere was serene. It was hot the weekend I stayed, 103 degrees but Robert thoughtfully had placed a portable A/C unit in the room which kept it nice and cool. I was in town for a wedding and the living room of the property was a convenient place to meet the other members of the wedding party. At every opportunity either Athena or Robert asked if we needed anything and seemed genuinely interested in our responses. The decor of the property could use some changing. The breakfast area is covered in "bear graffiti" (from an old theme of the B&B) that I did not find at all charming and some of the wicker furniture could be changed for more comfortable sofas and chairs. But again, what made the place so enjoyable was the attention of the owners. At one point my phone lost reception, so Robert just handed me his with no hesitation. Small gestures like this make for a well run inn. If I ever must return to Sutter Creek I will most definitely return to Hanford House. When choosing a B&B in the area you won't be disappointed with the Hanford House.

  • Liked — the owners
  • Disliked — bear graffiti
  • Stayed May 2008, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Hanford House Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Hanford House Inn

Address: 61 Hanford Street, Sutter Creek, CA 95685
Location: United States > California > Sutter Creek
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 6 B&Bs / Inns in Sutter Creek
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 16
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Inn features ten tastefully decorated air conditioned guest rooms, all with full private baths, robes, telephone, cable television, fireplaces, homemade breakfast and more. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
The Hanford House Bed And Breakfast Inn
The Hanford House Hotel Sutter Creek

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Hanford House Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.