We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice Lunch” 4 of 5 stars
Review of J & D's Steak House - CLOSED

J & D's Steak House
36 Main Street, Sutter Creek, CA 95685
(209)267-0535
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Cuisines: Steakhouse
Dining options: Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Stockton
Top Contributor
108 reviews 108 reviews
88 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 47 cities Reviews in 47 cities
41 helpful votes 41 helpful votes
“Nice Lunch”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 8, 2013

Cute restaurant in an old Mother Lode town. We had the cup of soup & half a salad for lunch. The salad was very good, I thought the clam chowder was good but the others thought it was to spicy and they couldn't eat it. The one individual who ordered a sandwich for lunch did enjoyed it. We would return.

Visited September 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

76 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    27
    23
    11
    7
    8
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Sacramento, California, United States
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Excellent tender steaks”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 27, 2013

The rib eye is wonderful. I have also had the steak Cobb salad is excellent. The Martinis are okay, I guess the current bartender schools are teaching shake every thing. The meats they serve are high quality, very tender and flavorful. Service is very good.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
lathrop ca
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Fabulous Place”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 27, 2013

This place rocks. I drive an hour and fifteen minutes to indulge my inner child in a fabulous meal. Great food is high on my list. If its not freshly prepared and flavorful I don't bother . Everything I have ever had in this establishment has been excellent with great service cause of course good service is a must too. Always freshly prepared and delicious. The flat iron steak is amazing as is anything I have ever had the pleasure of eating there.
They also have a downstairs room that is perfect for any special event. I highly recommend this place. Its the top of my list .Bon Appétit

  • Visited July 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Winters, ca
Top Contributor
178 reviews 178 reviews
53 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 65 cities Reviews in 65 cities
133 helpful votes 133 helpful votes
“Great food for a little town.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 14, 2013

Yes, it was noisy, so sit near the back for a little peace. I had a burger and my partner had salmon - both highly recommended. Love the beer choices and potato chips while waiting for the meal. Great service!!

  • Visited July 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reno, Nevada
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“Just OK”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 5, 2013

Had dinner, pasta dishes and calamari appetizer. Rate it an "OK", nothing special, nothing bad. Not much else open in Sutter Creek at 9pm!

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed J & D's Steak House also viewed

 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage J & D's Steak House, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.