We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“If You're Looking For Gold....Eureka!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Eureka Street Inn

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Sutter Creek
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Eureka Street Inn
55 Eureka Street, Sutter Creek, CA 95685   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #4 of 6 Sutter Creek B&B and Inns
San Francisco
Top Contributor
65 reviews 65 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
75 helpful votes 75 helpful votes
“If You're Looking For Gold....Eureka!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2008

The real beauty of Eureka Street Inn in Sutter Creek is greater than the location or the beautifully manicured property itself, it's in the form of the hosts, Sandy and Chuck Anderson. They make one feel so welcomed and comfortable it is hard to resist adding them to your short list of people you want to spend more time with. It was 20 years between visits to Sutter Creek for me and I now find myself trying to work it into a biannual or even annual event. I imagine myself whiling away hours reading on the front porch.

The property is located a block away from the main street, Old Highway 49. We slept like babies here partly because the bed was so comfortable, but mostly because after 45 years, the town was successful in getting the state to go along with a bypass that routes freeway traffic away from rather than through the town. The property is intimate, only having 4 rooms to let, but each one has a unique character and any one of them would be lovely. The bathrooms were generous in size and included toiletries.

The craftsman style house was filled with craftsman style oak furniture and accessories just perfect for the period theme. It was cozy on a grand scale. All guests enjoyed mingling in the living room and on the front porch, and this was only possible because of the limited number of rooms. It would not have worked half as well in a larger property.

I secretly dreaded a country B&B imagining patchwork quilts and funky mismatched furniture, like the hotel on our first foray into this area, but Eureka Street Inn was very tastefully decorated in a restrained and refined manner.

The dining room with its built in cabinetry was very comfortable to use and all guests were served breakfast there at 9:00 a.m. My traveling companion does not especially like interfacing with complete strangers, but enjoyed our stay and the breakfast conversations. All this was in part due to the excellent food. On the first morning we were served fresh fruit and yogurt in beautiful antique teacups with saucers. I regret that I did not get a photo of it, but I did manage a photo of the puff pastry encased omelet, with sausages and a lemon pound cake. On the second morning of our stay, the fruit was bananas and strawberries with a pomegranate coulis. The main dish was a tour de force of caramelized apple covered French toast with strawberries and ham. It was so moist, it was almost a bread pudding. We loved it.

  • Liked — Warm atmosphere
  • Disliked — Nothing!
  • Stayed March 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

29 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    27
    2
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
3
19
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (8)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
central valley california
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 6, 2008

The Inn is delightful, the innkeepers charming, friendly and knowledgeable about the local attractions. Made excellent recommendations on restaurants and shopping. The room was clean, cozy and large. The craftsman style home has the authentic feel of early California. We plan to return.

  • Liked — The innkeepers and authentic accomodations
  • Disliked — The shower was pretty small
  • Stayed March 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
California
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 14, 2006

We have stayed at many bed and breakfast inns and were more than delighted with our stay at the Eureka Street inn. Sutter Creek is a wonderful respite and a great place to spend the weekend. The Eureka Street inn is truly the best place to stay in Amador County. The place is immaculate, the Craftsman architecture of the inn is beautiful, the breakfasts were yummy! and the innkeepers, Chuck and Sandy are interesting, warm and terrific hosts. We relaxed on the most inviting and comfortable front porch, and our room was cozy, comfortable and delightful. We plan to return again and bring some friends with us! Christine, Pasadena, California

  • Liked — Ambiance, location, food
  • Disliked — Not good for small children
  • Tips/Secrets — Hosts will make dinner reservations ahead and this is a good idea as restaurants are excellent and crowded
  • Stayed September 2006, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brentwood, CA
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 25, 2006

This was my second stay here, and what an absolute treat it was again. Chuck and Sandy are the greatest hosts and made everything about our stay, warm, welcoming, and pleasant. We booked this place with a few other couples, so we actually had the place to our own little group. We managed to have a great relaxing time here and after a long long day of wine tasting (and too much buying!), it was nice to sit on the porch and relax with a glass of wine and some snacks. Great place and great hosts-!!! We will definitely return again in the future.

  • Stayed July 2006, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, CA
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
82 helpful votes 82 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 9, 2006

Had a very relaxing, affordable 2 night stay here in October. The hosts, Chuck and Sandy, are very sweet and welcoming. The location is ideal, being a block or so away from the main street -- while everything is close, the house itself is peaceful and quiet. One thing to be aware of is that breakfast is communal, something to think about if you don't like socializing before coffee (we thought it was fine). We enjoyed our stay very much and plan to return.

  • Stayed October 2005
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 24, 2004

This is an absolute gem of a place to stay. Every detail is looked after. The innkeepers, Chuck and Sandy are so sweet and make sure that your every need is met. The rooms are decorated beautifully and are very clean.The breakfast is delicious and the company is great. It is close to all of the cute shops and restaurants in Sutter Creek that you can walk a few blocks and you can really enjoy everything. Yet it is just far enough away that you do not hear the hustle and bustle on the main street. I just love this place. Great place, great food, great people, great location... What more can a person ask for ? I know I return next year.

Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay
Also consider these accommodations in or near Sutter Creek
Wheelchair acce...
Show More
0.5 mi away
Days Inn Sutter Creek
Days Inn Sutter Creek
#1 of 2 in Sutter Creek
4.0 of 5 stars 218 reviews
Suites, Fitness...
Show More
4.1 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Jackson
Free internet...
Show More
3.6 mi away
BEST WESTERN Amador Inn
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Romantic, Indep...
Show More
8.2 mi away
The Hotel Leger
The Hotel Leger
#1 of 1 in Mokelumne Hill
4.0 of 5 stars 78 reviews
Free Parking, I...
Show More
14.9 mi away
The Robin's Nest
The Robin's Nest
#1 of 3 in San Andreas
5.0 of 5 stars 28 reviews
Wheelchair acce...
Show More
0.1 mi away
Hotel Sutter
Hotel Sutter
#2 of 2 in Sutter Creek
3.0 of 5 stars 7 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Eureka Street Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Eureka Street Inn

Address: 55 Eureka Street, Sutter Creek, CA 95685
Location: United States > California > Sutter Creek
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 6 B&Bs / Inns in Sutter Creek
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Eureka Street Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added Eureka Street Inn to your Saves list