We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Charming” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Grey Gables Inn

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Sutter Creek
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Grey Gables Inn
Save
You added Grey Gables Inn to your Saves list
161 Hanford St., Sutter Creek, CA 95685   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 6 Sutter Creek B&B and Inns
Sunnyvale, California
1 review
“Charming”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Everything was wonderful. The room was lovely, beautifully decorated, very clean, and very quiet, as were the common areas. The food was delicious, generous and beautifully presented. Everything was modern and well-maintained.
The only caveat is that Tuesdays and Wednesdays (in winter at least) a lot of the restaurants, stores and area wineries are closed, so if that's on your agenda, you may want to plan ahead. But overall, a lovely experience and we will be back.

  • Stayed November 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

223 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    207
    12
    2
    1
    1
See reviews for
19
143
1
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (32)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Campbell, CA
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

This was either our 2nd or 3rd return to Grey Gables. Sue and Roger are great hosts -- made us feel at home and provided a nice afternoon tea from 3 to 4 pm. (We didn't partake of the wine/appetizers at 6pm, so no comment on that). The room was fantastic -- large, a couple of little nooks by the windows. Even though it was on the main road, it quiets down nicely at night, so not a problem.

Sutter Creek is kind of funky -- some restaurants aren't open on Monday/Tuesday, but we found one that was. It's nice to be able to walk the 2-3 blocks to the restaurants.

Room Tip: Rosetti Room is large and is the only room on the top floor, so is very quiet. Two flights up from...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Palmdale, California
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 11, 2014

The wife and I stayed here for three nights while visiting with relatives in the area. Most pleasant. Susan makes WONDERFUL breakfasts, and the wine and cheese hour in the PM is also quite nice. Room was spacious, clean, well appointed, and quiet. Weather was mild, so can't really judge adequacy of the HVAC. Location is very convenient. We walked to dinner one evening in Sutter Creek and had a fine meal and pleasant walk back.

Highly recommend this inn for anyone wanting a nice, quiet, highly civilized place to stay close to Sutter Creek.

Room Tip: You book a specific room when you make a reservation, and each has its own specific nature. There a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canyon Country, United States
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 10, 2014

This was our first experience at a B&B and it will be the standard by which we judge future B&B experiences. So sorry for them, because I don't think anyone else will ever stack up against the Grey Gables and Sue and Roger. The attention to decorating detail is unimaginable, the cleanliness beyond any place we've ever stayed and the breakfast superb. Sue's breakfast is not only a delight to behold, it tastes just as wonderful. We were there to visit family in town and didn't have time to enjoy the tea time and wine in the evening, I would have really enjoyed that. We highly recommend a stay with Sue and Roger at this spectacular inn.

Room Tip: We stayed in the Byron Room on the main floor. Noise was never a problem, and we were very close to...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 10, 2014 via mobile

You would have to look long and hard to find a better B&B. The rooms are well appointed, comfortable, and theme decorated. The breakfast are superbly prepared and a culinary delight. The host, Roger and Sue, are attentive to their guest and make you feel at home. The tea and cake at 4 and the wine and cheese at 6 brings everyone together to enhance this experience. This is our second trip here in as many years. We rated this property as excellent last year after our first trip. Normally the second trip would not measure up to the original high experience. It not only met the original bar that was set, it exceeded it. This is a must stay in Sutter Creek.

Stayed October 2014, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auburn
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 2, 2014

I enjoyed staying in the beautiful, comfortable room. We loved the afternoon tea and wine with appetizers. Owners were very pleasant and gracious hosts. Easy walk to restaurants, wine tasting, and shopping.

  • Stayed October 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
California, United States
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 24, 2014 via mobile

It was our anniversary and the first time we stayed at a B&B. Sue and Roger were so welcoming and friendly. Our room was exquisite! We learned that some of the decor was actually from England. The whole inn was spotless! (Great for my germ-a-phobe self). The tea and wine hours were very enjoyable and breakfast was delicious! We can't wait to go back!

  • Stayed September 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Grey Gables Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grey Gables Inn

Address: 161 Hanford St., Sutter Creek, CA 95685
Location: United States > California > Sutter Creek
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 6 B&Bs / Inns in Sutter Creek
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Whether you're looking for a romantic weekend for two, or a quiet place to be by yourself…the English charm of The Grey Gables will fit your mood to a TEA. With eight elegantly decorated guestrooms furnished with authentic antiques, each room has air conditioning, a fireplace, and full private baths, some with classic clawfoot tubs. In true English tradition, there’s afternoon tea with cake, evening wine and hor d’oeuvres, and a gourmet breakfast. ... more   less 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Grey Gables Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.