We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A True Oasis” 4 of 5 stars
Review of BEST WESTERN Trailside Inn

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added BEST WESTERN Trailside Inn to your Saves list
BEST WESTERN Trailside Inn
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   2785 Main Street, PO Box 759, Susanville, CA 96130-0759   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Save up to 20%
Ranked #4 of 10 Hotels in Susanville
Grants Pass, United States
1 review
“A True Oasis”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 12, 2013

After a grueling day without air conditioning in our "Rental Truck" in 103+ temperatures we rolled into this motel over heated, over tired, and just plain over it! We had made our reservation ahead of time on line to be sure to be able to stay in a Best Western Motel. The staff recognized our fatigue and discomfort and went out of their way to get us into our rooms and make us aware of the ammenities available (swimming pool / AC). We will definitely stay here from now on as we pass through your area. Kudos to the staff...

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

229 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    77
    86
    47
    12
    7
See reviews for
63
72
17
40
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (19)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Mobile, Alabama
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 12, 2013

I have stayed at the Best Western in Susanville several times while visiting family - what really makes me mad is they charge your card before you even check in - they had it ready for my signature before I got there - people were nice though that was a good thing. I would suggest if you want to stay someplace nice with good food to stay at the Casino - since the Black Bear burnt down you can't get food close by without driving

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jersey City, NJ
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 7, 2013

This hotel is privately owned and keeps to the high standards of Best Westerns. While not a new property, the rooms are immaculate, beds are comfortable, bathrooms are roomy (enough), and management is lovely. Breakfast is included and is typical of the chain...very generous for this kind of hotel. Stay here if you are in or near Susanville.

Room Tip: All seemed fine. We had a regular room, not an upgrade, and it served us well.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rugby, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
102 reviews 102 reviews
31 hotel reviews
Reviews in 48 cities Reviews in 48 cities
50 helpful votes 50 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 30, 2013

We didn't have anywhere booked this night and was starting to get a bit concerned as to where we would be sleeping that night. We drove into Susanville and didn't really see anywhere that took our fancy but it was too far to drive to find somewhere else. We drove around a bit and came across a Best Western.

This hotel looks a bit dodgy from the outside but the room we were in looked like it had been renovated recently. The room had wooden floorboards as well as wooden/pine draws. The beds were comfy and had plenty of pillows. The sink area was outside of the bathroom but there were 2 sinks which meant there was plenty of space. Overall the room was clean and the furnishings made the room look bright.

There was a small outdoor swimming pool which was very cold and a bit dirty.

The free breakfast was ok. It only offered cold food but it's better than nothing.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cave Creek, Arizona
Top Contributor
169 reviews 169 reviews
27 hotel reviews
Reviews in 63 cities Reviews in 63 cities
52 helpful votes 52 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 28, 2013

We stopped at the BW Plus Trailside Inn after traveling from Bend, Oregon. After staying at several BW hotels on our 2 week trip we found this hotel to be on a par with the other BW hotels we stayed at. The room was very good, service good & it was nice to see a BW hotel in a town of this size. We enjoyed the breakfast, met some interesting people there & liked the Jimmy Dean breakfast sandwich that we did not see in other BW.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Orleans, Louisiana
Top Contributor
146 reviews 146 reviews
55 hotel reviews
Reviews in 73 cities Reviews in 73 cities
51 helpful votes 51 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 18, 2013

This is not a particularly new facility, but it has obviously been very well maintained. Our room was nicely furnished with rustic style pine furniture, which was a pleasant change from the typical hotel room style. Furniture included a desk and chair plus a comfortable chair beside the bed. The dresser was large, with more than the usual number of drawers and correspondingly larger amount of space on top. The dressing area counter included a double sink. All the ground floor rooms, which are the majority, have parking right in front which makes unloading and loading luggage easy. The second floor seemed to be somewhat thin, as we could hear folks walking about in the room above us. Fortunately, the noise level was not exceptionally loud, and did not disrupt our sleep. The sole disappointment was the fact that we discovered in the morning that the shower did not work. When I reported it as we were checking out, one of the desk clerks immediately went to the room to investigate and presumably order repairs.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to BEST WESTERN Trailside Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about BEST WESTERN Trailside Inn

Address: 2785 Main Street, PO Box 759, Susanville, CA 96130-0759
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Susanville
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 10 Hotels in Susanville
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — BEST WESTERN Trailside Inn 3.5*
Number of rooms: 85
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Everyday is an adventure when you choose the BEST WESTERN Trailside Inn, with many wonderful places to explore located nearby. Named one of the top towns in which to live in Outdoor Life Magazine, Susanville is an outdoor lovers dream - and this Susanville hotel is the perfect place to call home while exploring the area. From hiking at Lassen Volcanic National Park to fishing at Honey Lake, Eagle Lake or Lake Almanor, there is something for everyone in this picturesque town. The Bizz Johnson Trail, stretching 30 miles, offers world-class mountain biking, hiking, annual marathons and other events. Bird watchers and nature photographers can observe osprey and more in the grounds surrounding the property. You can also enjoy visiting Lassen County Parks and Susanville Ranch. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Booking.com and TripOnline SA so you can book your BEST WESTERN Trailside Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Susanville
Susanville Best Western
Best Western Trailside Hotel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage BEST WESTERN Trailside Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.