We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice comfortable Stay” 4 of 5 stars
Review of High Country Inn

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added High Country Inn to your Saves list
High Country Inn
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   3015 Riverside Dr, Susanville, CA   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 10 Hotels in Susanville
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Spokane, Washington
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Nice comfortable Stay”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 4, 2014

The room was clean and in good shape probably remodeled recently as the tile and shower looked fairly new. It was a large and comfortably sized room with the usual amenities. Good value for the price and comfortable.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HCI95, General Manager at High Country Inn, responded to this review, March 6, 2014
Thank you so much for your kind review! Especially the compliments as to a supposed remodel. We're glad to hear you found us in such fine shape as our last remodel was in 2003! Hope to see you soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

124 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    57
    54
    8
    2
    3
See reviews for
36
51
12
9
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (20)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Ripon, California
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 20, 2014

Recently stayed three nights while in Susanville visiting family. Rooms are large, well appointed and clean. The breakfast offers a wide variety of choices. Staff are extremely helpful and pleasant. Can't go wrong staying here.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HCI95, General Manager at High Country Inn, responded to this review, February 24, 2014
Thank you so much for your review!! Can't wait to see you again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Willows, California, United States
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 17, 2014

Great location, right across the street from mcd's and safeway, with walmart down the street... rooms were large and clean, with decent beds.. staff was friendly and everything seemed to be perfect... no complaints here.. I will defin choose this motel if i ever venture through susanville again..

Room Tip: stayed in upper floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HCI95, General Manager at High Country Inn, responded to this review, February 18, 2014
Thank you so much for your review! We're thrilled to hear you enjoyed your stay here with us. Hope to see you again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gainesville, Texas
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 12, 2014

Wonderful location, very clean rooms, and top-top-top customer service! Regret I lost the name of the receptionist - but she was superb. Would definitely stay here again. And reasonable rate was the icing on the cake!

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HCI95, General Manager at High Country Inn, responded to this review, January 13, 2014
Thank you so much for your review!! We are always thrilled to hear our guests enjoyed their stay at our property and are even more excited to see you and yours again, hopefully soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reno, Nevada
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 28, 2013

Stayed one night while on a two-day fishing trip to the area. The room was clean and extremely comfortable, and the front desk staff was very helpful and friendly. The complimentary continental breakfast setup was great - they even included breakfast sandwiches. Safeway is conveniently located just across the street. I'll most definitely stay here again the next time I have the opportunity to stay in the area.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HCI95, General Manager at High Country Inn, responded to this review, January 6, 2014
Thank you so much for your lovely review!! We're always glad to hear our accommodations are up to par and we're glad to hear you enjoyed your stay. Can't wait to see you next time!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milwaukie, OR
Top Contributor
50 reviews 50 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 16, 2013

Stayed here five days while in Susanville on business. The hotel was clean, well- appointed and featured free wifi and breakfast. As a woman traveling alone, I appreciated the safety that a card key was necessary to get into any place in the inn except the main lobby, as all the other downtown Susanville hotels had direct access to room doors from the outside. There were a couple of days where TV cable went out for a short while, but the staff was immediately on task to fix it and I understand that this was a new issue due to a new cable provider. I would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HCI95, General Manager at High Country Inn, responded to this review, November 19, 2013
Thank you for your review! We are so glad to hear you found your room to be clean, comfortable, and safe. Our staff takes great care to make sure the rooms and grounds are to the liking of our guests and we always take safety into consideration as a first priority. Thank you for your grace in regards to the T.V. adjustments you experienced during your stay. Everything should be up and running smoothly for your next visit. Can't wait! :)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kensington, California
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 25, 2013

This was a nice place for a two night stay: clean rooms, good standard breakfast (kids like the fresh waffles, I liked the biscuits and gravy). We made ample use of the pool -- not too cold in mid-October. The jets in the hot tub were not working. We notified the office. It took a few tries, but eventually they got it up and running again (on our second night). There is a pizza place is just across the parking lot for dinner. We were there for a run (Bizz Johnson). The hotel offered free showers Sunday afternoon for guests who checked out Sunday morning. We didn't end up using it (I finished too late and we had to head home), but I thought it was a nice touch.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HCI95, General Manager at High Country Inn, responded to this review, October 26, 2013
Thank you for your review, Matt. We are so glad you enjoyed your stay here with us over the Bizz Johnson Marathon weekend. We're pretty fond of the fresh waffles AND the biscuits and gravy ourselves. We're always glad to hear our guests are taking advantage of our amenities be it the pool and spa area or the extra shower rooms for our runners. We're always happy to hear about our guests experiences here with us as it allows us to find ways we can improve and to know where we are doing well. Hope this message finds you and yours happy and healthy and we hope to see you staying here with us again soon!!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to High Country Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about High Country Inn

Address: 3015 Riverside Dr, Susanville, CA
Location: United States > California > Susanville
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 10 Hotels in Susanville
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2 star — High Country Inn 2*
Number of rooms: 66
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Hotels.com and Odigeo so you can book your High Country Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
High Country Hotel Susanville
Country Inn Susanville
Susanville Country Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage High Country Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.