We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good trail” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Biz Johnson Trail

Biz Johnson Trail
Hwy 36, Susanville, CA 96130
5302521100
Improve this listing
Ranked #1 of 5 Attractions in Susanville
Type: Biking Trails, Hiking Trails, Sports
Attraction details
California
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
3 attraction reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Good trail”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2012

The community touts this trail for bike riders. It could be a little cleaner but good views from trail.

Visited July 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

21 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    16
    5
    0
    0
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Susanville
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 attraction reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Rails to Trails”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 19, 2012

Bike riding or hiking on this trail along the beautiful Susan River is one of my great escapes. Dogs love it, too!

Visited June 2011
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Jose, CA
Senior Contributor
45 reviews 45 reviews
9 attraction reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
57 helpful votes 57 helpful votes
“Nice long bike trek”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 24, 2012

Nice trail along the river out of Susanville, beautiful in spring and early summer if you go up along huge meadows 10-15 miles, can continue another 7 miles through less interesting small tree forest and brushland. Bridges and railroad tunnels are interesting.

Visited January 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
QUINCY
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
9 attraction reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Great Bike riding”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 2, 2012

In the summer the USFS offers shuttles from the Visitor's Center - an outstanding way to do (a choice of) 5, 12 20 miles of cycling on a old rail bed. People used road bikes (few), mountain bikes (lots, but not necessary unless one wants to go off the trail) and urban/cruiser bikes.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sacramento, California
Top Contributor
62 reviews 62 reviews
22 attraction reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
“Great trail for hiking and biking. Perfect Boy Scout event.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 22, 2011

We rode this trail over the weekend with boy scouts and had a great time. We ran into other boy scout troops that were doing the same thing and everyone was raving about how much fun it is.

The Bizz Johnson Trail runs along the Susan river from Susanville to Mason Station. If you ride that direction most of the trip is uphill. We went in at Mason Station and the first 7 miles are fairly flat (uphill at a 3% grade) but the remainder of the trail is primarily a downhill coast through some gorgeous country. The geology is stunning and some of the views are breathtaking. We rode over old bridges, and through two railroad tunnels. Very dark and the scouts loved it. Bring headlamps or make sure your bike lights are functional.

We stopped for lunch as Goumaz which is a great place to enjoy the shade, rest and re-fill water bottles at the icy cold faucet. The ride from Mason Station to Susanville took our fastest riders 2 hours, but those of us who stopped to enjoy the scenery did it in 4 hours.

Bathrooms are available at Mason Station and at the Goumaz stop. Bring sunscreen and wear sunglasses. We went in August and the weather wasn't too hot, but most recommend doing this in the fall when the leaves have turned. It seems like a great trail to hike on any time of year. You don't have to do the 25 miles, there are other trailheads to go in and out on. This is a perfect boy scout outing.

Visited August 2011
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Biz Johnson Trail also viewed

 

Been to Biz Johnson Trail? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Biz Johnson Trail, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.