We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great room” 5 of 5 stars
Review of BEST WESTERN Harbour Inn & Suites

Save Saved
You added BEST WESTERN Harbour Inn & Suites to your Saves list
Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
BEST WESTERN Harbour Inn & Suites
16912 Pacific Court Highway, Sunset Beach, CA 90742   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Save up to 20%
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Sunset Beach
ORACLE
2 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Great room”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 19, 2012

Exactly what we wanted after looking for hotels in the area. Very large room with private balcony overlooking harbor. Small hotel 25 rooms, great service. Parking under hotel is tight. Will stay again when in area.

Room Tip: Go for the harbor view with balcony.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

79 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    34
    32
    6
    6
    1
See reviews for
21
32
7
6
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (22)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Las Vegas, Nevada
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 13, 2012 via mobile

I had read previous reviews about lack of customer service and an uncaring attitude especially with noisy room assignments. It's all true as I am sitting here listening to loud traffic and still waiting to hear back from the manager after over 6 hours.

Everyone here has said they are sorry that my room request was not honored but other guests are being assigned to those rooms based on their requests! What I have yet to understand is why their request is more important than mine?

Plusses: clean room, room size, tall shower head, proximity to the beach.

Minuses: VERY NOISY, mattress hard, view of dead plants and bird droppings from balcony, bathroom sink as a nightstand (it's next to the bed), no regard for customer requests and most importantly staff just didn't care! BeWare!!!!

  • Stayed October 2012
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 12, 2012

Unexpectedly awesome view of the laguna of Huntington Harbor right under our smallish but cute balcony. Some slight traffic noise from Pacific Coast Hwy. but our room was in the back, so nothing major. Good size room, with a mirrored jacuzzi (no comments, use your imagination to fill in the gap), good, solid king size bed, tiny but well appointed shower. The proximity to canoe and paddle board rentals a big plus, as parking would have been scarce if we wouldn't have had our guest spot under the hotel. Nice, accommodating staff: I came to the reception late one night asking for a source of cream and sugar for our coffee, and I was allowed to get them from the breakfast room. By the way, the so called continental breakfast is included, but honestly, there is not much to chose from, so we preferred the Starbucks a couple of blocks North (another major plus!)
We truly enjoyed the more relaxed atmosphere of Sunset Beach to the noisy hipe of Huntington Beach, with its scores of teenagers running around and its ridiculous prices. The beach a couple of blocks away is super wide and also much quieter.
But the best was Huntington Harbor behind the hotel: we had a blast rowing and paddling two consecutive perfect mornings on the channels. It just felt a little eerie how the wonderful properties along the water, each with its decks and boats, seemed deserted in mid August... Makes you wonder if too much of a good life could become boring perhaps?
It was not cheap staying at BEST WESTERN Harbour Inn & Suites, but by comparison to other hotels, I guess it could be considered a bargain. I think we were fortunate to get a room in the back, with a perfect view, and so many options for a truly romantic stay. Ask for Room 210, you will enjoy it.

Room Tip: Ask for rooms in the back. Try to get the ones with a jacuzzi and views of Huntington Harbor. You wi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lake Arrowhead, California
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 1, 2012

Beautiful views from our room. Large, clean well appointed room. Comfortable bed. Accomodating staff.

Made my birthday weekend (and my son's wedding weekend) very special!

A special thanks to Juan!

Mr and Mrs Kenneth Olson

Room Tip: views of the harbor from room 325 and 324 are spectacular!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minnesota
Top Contributor
75 reviews 75 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
54 helpful votes 54 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 23, 2012 via mobile

First, at the time that you book a room, be sure to ask for a room off of PCH. The noise levels are truly too loud and cannot be masked. If you wait to request a room at the back until you arrive, you won't get one. Second, book early if you need two beds; the sleeper sofa is far too uncomfortable to get any sleep. The mattress was all springs. Third, if you like a good breakfast, plan for an added expense to eat elsewhere. The quality of the breakfast is very, very low. Fourth, if you are coming in the summer and plan to use the air conditioner, be sure to bring along ear plugs. You will not believe how loud it is as it blasts on and coughs off. That said, it is hard finding many affordable places in Sunset Beach. So, just come prepared.

Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Jose, California
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 29, 2012

After living in California for many years, 5 of which in Santa Barbara, I thought our recent Christmas vacation to SoCal would be nice but nothing surprising. How pleasantly surprised was I. The outside of this hotel looked OK but inside the room was large and well-equiped. We had nice sleep and woke up early. Breakfast in the spacious upper floor lounge was so relaxing ... sipping hot coffee while looking out to the back canal in the morning light made me feel like in heaven. Huntington Beach is just a short drive away where we hanged out all morning then came back to wash the sand off our feet before we went on to see other attractions. We paid our annual pilgrimage to Downtown Disney at night, just to shop and soak in the holiday festive air. On the departure day while checking out, I asked the friendly gentleman at the front desk if it would be worthwhile to stop by Long Beach, a town that I had had the wrong impression of a rusty industrial harbor. We were so glad that we took his recommendation and visited the Aquarium of the Pacific in Long Beach, which was one of the very best aquariums that we have ever seen. To top it off, we then took a harbor cruise out to the sea, enjoying the magnificent sunny breezy California weather and scenery - truly the climax of our fun filled vacation!

Room Tip: An upper floor room closer to the lounge and office
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
new york, ny
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 24, 2012

The staff are very attentive and nice, and sincere. The location is great, you can walk to many restaurants and bars, a surf shop is across the street to rent gear, parking is sufficient, and the room was a good size, with a microwave and mini fridge which was great. It's an older place and not the Ritz, but we really enjoyed our stay and felt very safe.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to BEST WESTERN Harbour Inn & Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about BEST WESTERN Harbour Inn & Suites

Address: 16912 Pacific Court Highway, Sunset Beach, CA 90742
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Sunset Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Free Parking Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Sunset Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located just a short walk from the beautiful beaches of southern California, the Best Western Harbour Inn & Suites offers all the amenities to ensure an amazing beach getaway for a reasonable price. Located on Huntington Harbor in Sunset Beach, the hotel is a short distance from a variety of beach activities including biking on the boardwalk, volleyball, kayaking, surfing, sport fishing, windsurfing, kite surfing and much more. Each of the 25 guest rooms are decorated in one of four unique tropical themes and features a microwave, refrigerator, cable satellite television and high-speed Internet access. Also includes, free continental breakfast in the Harbour View Lounge. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, getaroom.com, Priceline, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Hotels.com so you can book your BEST WESTERN Harbour Inn & Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Harbour Inn And Suites
Best Western Harbour Hotel Sunset Beach

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage BEST WESTERN Harbour Inn & Suites, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

;