We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent experience.....” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Roman Cucina

Roman Cucina
16595 Pacific Coast Hwy, Sunset Beach, CA 90742
562-592-5552
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #1 of 12 Restaurants in Sunset Beach
Cuisines: Italian, Pizza
Restaurant details
Long Beach
Top Contributor
129 reviews 129 reviews
59 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 59 cities Reviews in 59 cities
98 helpful votes 98 helpful votes
“Excellent experience.....”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 20, 2012

Wife and I wanted to purchase a gift for Chistmas and figured we'd eat as well.....Wednesdays are "wine night" so bottles of wine are half price.....the place was rockin busy. We love to get the calamari and their white pizza which comes with a salad......everything was perfect. The servers were actually "run walking" their way through the place.....I mentioned to my wife how fast they were all moving. Our server could not have been more attentive and helpfull.....all in all a great time.

  • Visited December 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

35 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    27
    8
    0
    0
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Huntington Beach, California, United States
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Best Italian food.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 11, 2012

My family and I have been coming to Roman Cucina for years. Actually since they opened. They have the nicest servers there, their food is the best you will ever have and their desserts are to die for. It's a great little place right across from the beach. Good for family's, date night, girls night out, holiday parties ( make reservations for that ) You can sit inside or a little patio outside. They are only open for dinner and they sometimes fill up quickly so it's good to get there at 5pm when they open. They have dinner specials every night and drink specials as well. Love this place!

  • Visited November 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sunset Beach, California
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
“fantastic service”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 18, 2012

The food is better than the italian dishes i had in Rome, florence and Venice, really!! The service was excellent and i love eating outdoors.

Visited April 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Las Vegas, Nevada
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Worth travelling for!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 7, 2012

I'd been to the Laguna location previously on the recommendation of a local football coach and really enjoyed it. I went to the Sunset Beach location hoping it was half as good and it was that and more! The outside bar on the patio was terrific, the bartender friendly, the food was as plentiful and delicious as always and best of all, after you have eaten all that food a walk on the beach are steps away!

The lasagna and the meatballs are a must at every visit. As a matter of fact, I'll be there Saturday night and can't wait!

  • Visited September 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Long Beach, CA
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Love it! Love It! Love it!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 13, 2012

Did I say I love this restaurant?

Search no farther than Sunset Beach, CA, on the south direction of Pacific Coast Highway for this little treasure of an Italian restaurant.

Start with the fried calamari appetizer. Crispy, light and tender. The pasta dishes won't disappoint you. Generous "al dente" portions with loads of different items to go with your dish. Check out their complete menu on their web site.

The food servers are ALL very attentive, energetic, friendly and dare I say, good-looking. Never had to ask for anything. They anticipate your needs, whether he's your server or not.

We've been there three times this summer and never left disappointed or hungry.

They have good deals on pasta dishes on Tuesdays and wine specials on Wednesdays.

I wish they would open before 5:00 p.m. on Sundays. Italians love to eat early on Sundays if they'e not at the beach.

Try it. You'll love it.

  • Visited September 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Roman Cucina also viewed

 

Been to Roman Cucina? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Roman Cucina, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.