We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Regular stays in Sunnyvale” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Vagabond Inn Sunnyvale

Vagabond Inn Sunnyvale
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Vagabond Inn Sunnyvale to your Saves list
Vagabond Inn Sunnyvale
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   816 Ahwanee Ave, Sunnyvale, CA 94086   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #13 of 34 Hotels in Sunnyvale
Napa, California
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Regular stays in Sunnyvale”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 11, 2014

This hotel is a great value that has been recently renovated. Comfortable beds, friendly staff, and quiet. They take exceptionally good care of regulars particularly when rooms are tight and other hotels are charging double and triple regular rates. Loyalty is well deserved.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kamlesh P, Owner at Vagabond Inn Sunnyvale, responded to this review, February 28, 2014
Dear Guest,
Thank you very much for taking time to write your comments. We are happy to know that we were able to meet your exception. Thank you for choosing our place. Hope to see you again.

Thanks and Regards,
Ken
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

78 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    29
    19
    13
    5
    12
See reviews for
8
16
10
42
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (12)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Leesburg, VA
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed December 19, 2013

Total dissatisfaction with this hotel. On my third night, the hot water went out. No technician available. They wanted to move me to another room. Total inconvenience to me. Other than that, the room was clean.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minneapolis, Minnesota
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 27, 2013

The Vagabond Inn was safe, clean and comfortable. At first, the price seemed high; but for Silicon Valley, it was fair. The staff was exceptionally friendly and cooperative. Upon arriving at the hotel without a reservation, the clerk at the front desk apologized that all of the hotel's rooms were reserved for the night -- but I was welcome to check back later to see if anyone had cancelled a reservation. However, as soon as the General Manager discovered that I was a retired military veteran; he offered me a room at a reduced rate, and took his chances with reservations & potential No-Shows. I was treated exceptionally well by the entire staff.

Room Tip: Always ask for the military discount.
See more room tips
Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kamlesh P, Owner at Vagabond Inn Sunnyvale, responded to this review, December 23, 2013
Dear Guest
We are happy to have helped you. Thank you so much for the review. Hope to see you again.

Thanks and Regards,
Ken
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Phoenix, Arizona
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 27, 2013

Our company has been staying at the Vagabond Inn in Sunnyvale for over 10 years now. They are always willing to find a place for us if we need a last minute reservation. The staff is courtious and efficient and the rooms are clean and comfortable. The location has easy access to all Silicon Valley freeways.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Apache Junction, Arizona
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 28, 2013

This accommodation is affordable and very comfortable. I have been coming her for over seven years. It is in a neighborhood just off the 101 freeway and could not feel safer than your home. The staff is friendly and very helpful and most have been here since I first started staying here. My favorite things about staying here are the spacious rooms and the amazing water pressure in the shower. Of course I really like the ambiance of the place and the people who also stay here. I am away all night and sleep in the day time. It is always quiet and pleasant. Stay here for a relaxing time.

Room Tip: All the rooms are good and recently remodeled.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kamlesh P, Owner at Vagabond Inn Sunnyvale, responded to this review, November 1, 2013
Dear Guest,
Thank you So much for your review. We are happy to know that you like to stay in our hotel. We will try to keep providing the service that we do to bring you back.

Thanks and Regards,
Ken
GM/Owner
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sunnyvale, California
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 25, 2013

I stay at the Vagabond Inn every week as a long distance commuter. For the price you get a great value. The Free Wifi is very helpful and usually pretty quick (If the place is packed with business folks, the Wifi slows down during peak hours).

Rooms are comfortable, roomy and have the usual amenities. Easy location and close to everything in Silicon Valley. Pool and free danish/coffee for breakfast and popcorn in the afternoon/evenings. Quiet, clean, and friendly. Can't beat it for the value.

Room Tip: Rooms on East side second floor get warm (hot) in the summer. Otherwise they are OK.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kamlesh P, Owner at Vagabond Inn Sunnyvale, responded to this review, November 1, 2013
Dear Guest,
It's good to know that you like to stay in our hotel. Now we have improved our wifi speed and we will try to keep providing the service which can make your stay happy.

Thanks and Regards,
Ken
GM/ Owner
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 20, 2013 via mobile

The staff members at the front desk was extremely rude, confusing, and arrogant. After checking in, I walked in to my room with cockroaches and bugs crawling all over my bed, ceiling, and bathroom! So I went back to the front desk and cancelled my 3 night reservation and demanded for my money back. They said it would take about 3 business days for the credit to be refunded but it has been 2 weeks and no refund on my account so far! I keep calling back and they keep giving me the run around, telling me that they don't have any records of my stay or credit card refund when I have a confirmation given to me by the front desk agent. Horrible experience and even worse staff!

  • Stayed September 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Vagabond Inn Sunnyvale? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Vagabond Inn Sunnyvale

Address: 816 Ahwanee Ave, Sunnyvale, CA 94086
Location: United States > California > Sunnyvale
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Best Value Hotel in Sunnyvale
#5 Business Hotel in Sunnyvale
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Vagabond Inn Sunnyvale 2*
Number of rooms: 60
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Vagabond Inn Sunnyvale reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Vagabond Hotel Sunnyvale

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Vagabond Inn Sunnyvale, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.