We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Was worth the Search” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Maple Tree Inn

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Maple Tree Inn to your Saves list
Maple Tree Inn
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   711 E El Camino Real, Sunnyvale, CA 94087   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #5 of 35 Hotels in Sunnyvale
Beaverton, Oregon
1 review
“Was worth the Search”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 3, 2010

Drove from Oregon to San Jose California and arrived really late at night without reservations. The Front Desk guy was very accomadating in getting us settled in. The Breakfast Was Great lots of options even asian options the Breakfast hispanic lady washing the dishes was very lovely. Loved this place will be back again this year!

  • Stayed March 2010, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

165 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    62
    61
    27
    8
    7
See reviews for
43
21
14
73
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (30)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Washington DC & San Diego CA
Top Contributor
68 reviews 68 reviews
31 hotel reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
107 helpful votes 107 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 3, 2010

I'm a female traveling to Sunnyvale monthly for business. I value comfort, cleanliness, and bang for buck----and I stay only here. Although I could rack up a lot of frequent flyer points staying elsewhere, I can't see wasting money by paying twice as much to stay someplace else. Here are the pluses:
1) Free hi-speed wifi, which is 100% dependable and very fast.
2) Nice rooms, comfortable beds, very clean.
3) TERRIFIC, FREE breakfast with lots of choices---it's not just continental
4) Great location, lots of good restaurants around, convenient
5) Really nice pool, jacuzzi, and workout room
6) Free parking
7) Friendly, helpful staff
8) GREAT RATES (under $100 per night)

The only thing this hotel doesn't offer is frequent flyer points (it's not part of a chain) and room service. If that's worth an extra $100 per night to you (and your firm), then by all means go to a chain hotel. And if you can find something to complain about at this hotel, then you are just way too nitpicky. I have recommended this hotel to friends and colleagues, who liked it just as much as I did. It's nice, not luxurious (although the pool area is extra-nice)---but then keep in mind that you're paying about half what you'd pay elsewhere, AND getting a great free breakfast to boot (f you have kids, that alone will save you $40), and free wifi, and free parking---all amenities for which the big chains typically charge.

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fresno CA
Top Contributor
60 reviews 60 reviews
36 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
59 helpful votes 59 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 4, 2010

Just got back from a short 2-day stay at the Maple Tree Inn. We were pleasantly surprised at how nice this hotel was for the price. I think we got an exceptional deal because of the holiday. What really made us stay here was the minimal $10 per night charge for our dog compared to the $100 per stay one of our favorite chains charges. However, we would stay here again even without our dog. The rooms were clean with nice toiletries. I'm always afraid we will get a "pet room" but the room had no smell from any previous tenants! The breakfast buffet was a perfect way to start the day with eggs, waffles, sausage, oatmeal, cereal and many other items. I especially liked the rice! We were about 15 minutes from downtown as well as the HP Pavillion (Hubby went to a Sharks game) Would stay here again without any hesitation!

  • Stayed December 2009, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Baldwinsville, New York
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 4, 2009

The Maple Tree Inn is probably classified as a business hotel. Its rooms are large and clean, the WiFi works, the check-in / check-out process is efficient. It's what you want your hotel to be. The buffet breakfast had eggs, sausage, biscuits and gravy, as well as the traditional cereals, pastries and juices. They also had oriental breakfast items (rice, soup) available. The only downside was that the breakfast room sometimes was filled to capacity, but there were several overflow areas.

An evening hospitality hour featured an open (wine, beer, soda) bar, pizza, and cheese and crackers.

  • Stayed November 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 28, 2009

Stayed here for 3 days in October. Fairly reasonable hotel, location was very convenient. Only downside is lack of restaurant or bar - my colleague and I arrived at 10.25pm after travelling for 9 hours, all we needed was a beer and a quick bite to eat. Nowhere in (or out!) of the hotel was open, so I had to go to bed with a packet of chips from a vending machine. I guess that is more just the area than the hotel itself.

Aside from that, from 4pm - 6.30pm you can get 2 free alcoholic drinks per guest and these were always served with a smile in a cafe-style room with a TV. There's also a great steakhouse across the road and a couple of other bars/grills a block or so away (just be aware that during the week everything seems to shut by 10pm!).

The room was small but functional and the bed was comfortable.

All in all I have no major complaints, but if you're looking for a bit more life and a bar and can stretch to a little more then I would suggest the Embassy Suites instead.

  • Stayed October 2009, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, CA
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 27, 2009

We traveled with our dog and I was excited about a place that appeared to have good reviews and was pet-friendly (pet fee was a very reasonable $10). Breakfast was really good - there was fresh fruit, some hot food, yogurt, coffee, juices, ramen. They put us on the bottom floor room, which was fine, but here are some things that made the stay generally unpleasant:

1) Trash was not taken out of the room in either of the trash cans (one of the trash cans had a styrofoam box with some kind of food item in it?);
2) Hair was on the mattress/sheets;
3) Room smelled like smoke even though ti was non-smoking (the smoke of people smoking outside was wafting in);

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
California
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 1, 2009

A small clean hotel. Really a gem. Location is very good. Not located in a "hotel alley" with 10 others at some freeway interchange.

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Maple Tree Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Maple Tree Inn

Address: 711 E El Camino Real, Sunnyvale, CA 94087
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Sunnyvale
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Family Hotel in Sunnyvale
#6 Business Hotel in Sunnyvale
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Maple Tree Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 177
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Enjoy the balance of affordable luxury at Maple Tree Inn in Silicon Valley. Maple Tree Inn offers elegant accommodations, value-added services and amenities, and a prime location in Sunnyvale, California. Maple Tree Inn offers two indoor meeting spaces as well as a new outdoor venue that can accommodate up to 125 guests in formal dining as well as 150 people for a beautiful outdoor ceremony. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Booking.com and Tingo so you can book your Maple Tree Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Maple Tree Hotel Sunnyvale
Maple Tree Sunnyvale

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Maple Tree Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.