We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A disappointing experience” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Staybridge Suites Sunnyvale

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Staybridge Suites Sunnyvale to your Saves list
Staybridge Suites Sunnyvale
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   900 Hamlin Court, Sunnyvale, CA 94089   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Special Weekend Rate!
Ranked #6 of 35 Hotels in Sunnyvale
Basingstoke, UK
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“A disappointing experience”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 23, 2012

Stayed for 6 nights on business in a room on the second floor. Good points: the room, actually a studio would be a better description. Spacious, clean and well equipped. Location: close to the freeway so good connections to San Jose or San Francisco.
Negative points: The hotel is a bit tired and jaded looking from the outside. Could do with a good renovation. During my stay between 4th and 10th August, there were internal renovations going on, so breakfast was provided outside under canvas pergola. Shame this was not made know at the time of booking. Buffet breakfast was very average at best as was the limited choice dinner provided in the evening. Swimming pool was miniscule and the gym was poorly equipped and tiny. All in all, not very good value for $150+ per night.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

86 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    29
    42
    10
    2
    3
See reviews for
12
3
8
56
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (15)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Arizona
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 1, 2012

My husband always stays in this hotel on his buisiness trips and never had a complain. Its clean, the breakfast is good, the stuff is friendly and very helpfull. In April I stayed for a coiple of days with my husband. I had a little black pouch with a memory stick, a plug and my Pandora Bracelett in it. We went out for a day and I forgot the pouch in the Hotel room. When we came back later that day, the pouch was gone and so was my bracelett. Nothing fancy, a $ 150 braclett.
We reportet the missing item and after a long "Investigation", lots of emails back and forth, couple of phone calls, the Manager James Wardell told us it was not his stuff who stole the bracelett. However he offered me to send me a Pandora Gift Card, so I could replace it. Well, its August now and I am still waiting for the gift card.
We will never stay here again.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Staybridge Suites Sunnyvale, responded to this review, August 26, 2012
Dear Zwergnase,

Thank you for submitting your review of our hotel. I certainly appreciate you taking the time to bring this matter to our attention. We take comments such as these seriously and would like to follow up with you. I have sent you a private message in effort to obtain more information.

I look forward to hearing back from you very soon.

Sincerely,

Lera M
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Orlando, Florida
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 28, 2012

I stayed here for three nights while I was in the area and was very impressed. The rooms are more like small apartments than the average hotel room. You have a full kitchen, full size refrigerator, stove top, coffee pot, a desk, a living room, a seperate bedroom and large bathroom. I'll admit, I was a bit wary about the kitchen possibly being dirty. You never know what other people's cooking habits are like, but everything throughout the entire hotel room was incredibly clean. I was on the bottom floor and was a bit concerned because I could see daylight through the door frame, but I never saw any bugs. The A/C worked great, and there was plenty of warm water in the shower. What made my stay even more impressive was that both buffet style breakfast AND dinner was free everynight in the eating area off the lobby. They even offered free beer and wine at dinner time. The hotel arranges social events on site a few times a week. The staff was friendly and helpful. Staying here felt more like living in a safe, comfortable apartment complex than staying at a hotel. The location seemed a bit odd, tucked behind a much more "shady" hotel in a business park type area off the main road (Matilda), but it was good because it was walled in from the shady hotel and it was quiet. I will definitely be staying here again when I visit the Sunnyvale area in the future.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlantic City, New Jersey
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed February 29, 2012

it smells inside the room. Shuttle service schedule is very rigid and the staff are not flexible. Might as well call your cab.

Save your money to other hotel....

Room Tip: some staybridge is good but this one in sunnyvale is terrible
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bangalore, Karnataka, India
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 21, 2011

Basic, clean, Safe and comfortable choice for extended stay .... Value for money ...

Room Tip: I would choose the rooms closer to the laundry during long stay...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Northern California
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 15, 2011

I needed a suite that had 3 bedrooms and would not break the bank that was located in the Palo Alto area. After an hour or so of searching to no avail, I came across the Staybridge Suites in Sunnyvale. The price was right, it had good reviews, so I booked it. This place was fantastic! I cannot stand going into a room that has a smell or dirty restrooms. Our room was very clean, bathroom was very clean, and instead of the typical two towels and calling for service, there were six! The location was close to freeway access but it is also in a cul-de-sac, amost hidden away. I was surprised at its quiet location. Front desk staff was friendly and helpful. We were there for a cross-country meet, so had to leave early and could not enjoy the breakfast. The room was spacious. I had a girl athlete and a boy athlete, so it was perfect. She had her own bedroom with adjoining bathroom. He slept in the pullout which he said was comfortable, and I had a bedroom and adjoining bathroom. It also has a full kitchen! If I had known that, I would have come prepared to make spaghetti the night before. I would highly recommend this place to anybody.

Room Tip: There is a basketball court there, and we were next to it. It wasn't a problem, but there were...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chennai (Madras), India
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 15, 2011

Stayed there for two weeks. The rooms are so spacious and comfortable and the hotel location is serene. apart from complimentary breakfast also complimentary dinner with drink on select few days. The food was not so great to talk about but ok. Free shuttle service on request upto certain distance was a nice offer. Overall the experience was pleasant.

Room Tip: Try to select the room overlooking the pool but it was non smoking one.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Staybridge Suites Sunnyvale? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Staybridge Suites Sunnyvale

Address: 900 Hamlin Court, Sunnyvale, CA 94089
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Sunnyvale
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#9 Business Hotel in Sunnyvale
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Staybridge Suites Sunnyvale 3*
Number of rooms: 78
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the heart of Silicon Valley, Staybridge Suites Sunnyvale offers excellent accommodation for the high tech or leisure/family traveler, perfect for training, relocation and all lengths of stay. The hotel features one and two bedroom suites, much like spacious apartments with fully equipped kitchens, living/dining areas and an excellent work area offering complimentary high-speed Internet (wired and wireless) and Herman Miller ergonomic chairs. Our property boasts ample amenities for work and play, such as an all season outdoor pool and Jacuzzi, cardio room, sports court/BBQ area, and 9-hole mini-golf. Complimentary shuttle service to close by destinations is available. The property is conveniently located off Highways 101 & 237 and close to Shoreline Amphitheatre, Moffett Field, Santa Clara Convention Center, Twin Creeks Sports Complex and Murphy Avenue's Restaurant Row in downtown Sunnyvale.Businesses: NASA/Ames, Lockheed Martin, Yahoo!, Juniper Networks, SGI, SiemensSchools: Stanford University, Santa Clara University, SJSU, Cogswell Polytechnical CollegeHospitals: El Camino Hospital, Stanford Medical Center, Lucile Packard Children's Hospital, Palo Alto Veterans HospitalLocal attractions: Twin Creeks Sports Complex, Great Mall, Silicon Valley Tech Museum, Santa Cruz Mtns Wineries, Paramount's Great America, Winchester Mystery House. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, IHG, Booking.com, Priceline, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, Hotels.com, Agoda, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Staybridge Suites Sunnyvale reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Staybridge Suites Sunnyvale Hotel Sunnyvale
Sunnyvale Staybridge Suites

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Staybridge Suites Sunnyvale, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.