We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Really Classy hotel for a good rate” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The Domain Hotel - a Joie de Vivre Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added The Domain Hotel - a Joie de Vivre Hotel to your Saves list
The Domain Hotel - a Joie de Vivre Hotel
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   1085 East El Camino Real, Sunnyvale, CA 94087   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 35 Hotels in Sunnyvale
Edmonton, Canada
Top Contributor
207 reviews 207 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 53 cities Reviews in 53 cities
114 helpful votes 114 helpful votes
“Really Classy hotel for a good rate”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 1, 2013

Stayed here one night.
They are super clean and quiet. Their rate was amazingly cheap for the area, especially since they are close to the airport.

I would recommend this hotel anyone flying in to San Jose!

Service is awesome, the sleep quality was really good.
Very clean and tidy. Rooms are big and clean.
We didnt take the breakfast, it didnt look too appealing.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Todd M, Manager at The Domain Hotel - a Joie de Vivre Hotel, responded to this review, November 18, 2013
Dear Fahym,

Thank you for choosing The Domain Hotel while traveling through San Jose. Your survey and comments are greatly appreciated and will only help us continue to improve! Stay tuned for more updates on our Facebook page.

Sincerely,

Todd Metzger
Front Office Director
Domain Hotel * A Joie De Vivre Hotel
1085 E El Camino Real, Sunnyvale CA
Tel: 408-247-0800
Fax: 408-984-7120
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

593 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    332
    178
    54
    16
    13
See reviews for
63
79
76
318
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (129)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Kildeer, Illinois
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 29, 2013

Enjoyed checking in on Sunday 10/27. Great front desk staff. Ruby was especially nice! Both me and my wife enjoyed interacting with her and liked her cheerful attitude! The place has been renovated with modern decor ans looks very nice as compared to when I stayed two years ago!

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Todd M, Manager at The Domain Hotel - a Joie de Vivre Hotel, responded to this review, November 18, 2013
Dear Rashid O,

Thank you for choosing The Domain Hotel for your stay in the Bay Area. We are delighted to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us. Our number one focus is always the guest! Ruby will be delighted to hear she made your stay!

Sincerely,

Todd Metzger
Front Office Director
Domain Hotel * A Joie De Vivre Hotel
1085 E El Camino Real, Sunnyvale CA
Tel: 408-247-0800
Fax: 408-984-7120
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
Top Contributor
74 reviews 74 reviews
27 hotel reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
77 helpful votes 77 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 29, 2013

A solid evening at The Domain Hotel. The entrance was difficult to locate at night so take notice of the sign on the right on East El Camino Real. The area shuts down by 10.00p and as there is not a restaurant on-site or late night amentiesbut overall, a nice hotel with friendly staff. Nothing fancy but provides what is needed for a quick, short stay in the area.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Todd M, Manager at The Domain Hotel - a Joie de Vivre Hotel, responded to this review, November 18, 2013
Dear Ashia,

Thank you for choosing The Domain Hotel for your stay in the Bay Area. Your survey and comments are greatly appreciated and will only help us continue to improve. There are some late night options in the area for dining, We've had a list created at our front desk for future occurrences.

Sincerely,

Todd Metzger
Front Office Director
Domain Hotel * A Joie De Vivre Hotel
1085 E El Camino Real, Sunnyvale CA
Tel: 408-247-0800
Fax: 408-984-7120
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Falls Church VA
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 27, 2013

The hotel itself is attractive and so are the rooms. Due to a mixup in my reservation, I had to stay elsewhere the first night but afterwards I was given an upgrade to a lovely suite. For me the best part of my stay was dealing with the front desk staff. They answered all questions and settled all problems with such pleasant manner. I don't want to name names because I'm afraid I'll leave someone out who was equally helpful. I want to especially mention your great bartender, Jeff. I came for one drink and ended up spending three hours having supper and visiting with all the people there - Jeff was like the party host.
My only negative comment was that the Sleep Number bed didn't seem to work right (didn't matter as it was comfortable enough but I did want to try it) and the jets in the suite's jacuzzi wouldn't work at all, despite following all the instructions.
I certainly plan to stay there the next time I come to visit my family.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Todd M, Manager at The Domain Hotel - a Joie de Vivre Hotel, responded to this review, November 18, 2013
Dear AFHJ,

Thank you for your positive comments about our guest service. I have had the sleep number bed and Jacuzzi fixed in your room inspected by maintenance. Please do not hesitate to contact me directly at any time and I will personally oversee your stay to ensure your satisfaction. We look forward to serving you in the future.

Sincerely,

Todd Metzger
Front Office Director
Domain Hotel * A Joie De Vivre Hotel
1085 E El Camino Real, Sunnyvale CA
Tel: 408-247-0800
Fax: 408-984-7120
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North Bethesda, Maryland, USA
Top Contributor
59 reviews 59 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 25, 2013

I've stayed at the Domain Hotel several times, all on business in Silicon Valley. Free internet, complimentary (and decent breakfast). The place even has a (small) bar, with a happy hour and a (modest) room service menu. It has a small exercise room, but guests may also use a large, commercial gym across the street. No it is not a five star hotel but a much better value and a California friendly staff. Yes El Camino Real, the thoroughfare the hotel is situated on, is strip mall central but this also means there are multiple dining options a few minutes away. Because of it's relatively small size it is easy in and easy out. What's not to like? Not much in fact.

  • Stayed October 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Todd M, Manager at The Domain Hotel - a Joie de Vivre Hotel, responded to this review, November 18, 2013
Dear Steve,

We love that we could be your home away from home while on the road. Our "California friendly" staff would be happy to have you back anytime.

Sincerely,

Todd Metzger
Front Office Director
Domain Hotel * A Joie De Vivre Hotel
1085 E El Camino Real, Sunnyvale CA
Tel: 408-247-0800
Fax: 408-984-7120
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pacifica, California
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 23, 2013 via mobile

Loved the hip design and vibe. Amazing value on the weekend. Room carpets are being changed soon which is needed. The public carpet and furniture is new and looks great. Service was awesome...especially front desk and Jeff the bartender. All friendly, fun and solicitous.

  • Stayed October 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Todd M, Manager at The Domain Hotel - a Joie de Vivre Hotel, responded to this review, November 18, 2013
Dear Pachamama67,

You have a great eye for decoration! Thank you for staying with us, and we hope to see you soon.

Sincerely,

Todd Metzger
Front Office Director
Domain Hotel * A Joie De Vivre Hotel
1085 E El Camino Real, Sunnyvale CA
Tel: 408-247-0800
Fax: 408-984-7120
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pacifica, California
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 23, 2013 via mobile

I found the hotel to be very hip but laid back. The service was really great, especially the front staff. Jeff the bartender was so friendly, fun and solicitous. Recommend it highly if you're in the area for business.

  • Stayed October 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Todd M, Manager at The Domain Hotel - a Joie de Vivre Hotel, responded to this review, November 18, 2013
Dear Pachamama,

Thank you so much for your positive comments and cool vibes! We've just updated some our lobby carpet and look to do a full remodel of our business center. Stay tuned for updates!

Sincerely,

Todd Metzger
Front Office Director
Domain Hotel * A Joie De Vivre Hotel
1085 E El Camino Real, Sunnyvale CA
Tel: 408-247-0800
Fax: 408-984-7120
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Domain Hotel - a Joie de Vivre Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Domain Hotel - a Joie de Vivre Hotel

Address: 1085 East El Camino Real, Sunnyvale, CA 94087
Location: United States > California > Sunnyvale
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Sunnyvale
#1 Business Hotel in Sunnyvale
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — The Domain Hotel - a Joie de Vivre Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 136
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The newest boutique hotel in Silicon Valley ideally located where Sunnyvale meets Santa Clara, Domain Hotel offers travelers a contemporary feeling hotel that infuses the technology vibe of the valley through its services and amenities yet embraces the natural outdoor beauty of Northern California through its inspired decor offering guests a unique choice in room type - tranquility or awakening rooms. The entire hotel has been renovated as of January 2008 and new guestrooms feature flatscreen LCD tvs, sleep number beds and ample work space. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, Travelocity, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your The Domain Hotel - a Joie de Vivre Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Domain Hotel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Domain Hotel - a Joie de Vivre Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.