We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Stay!!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The Domain Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added The Domain Hotel to your Saves list
The Domain Hotel
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   1085 East El Camino Real, Sunnyvale, CA 94087   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 35 Hotels in Sunnyvale
Sunnyvale, California
1 review
“Great Stay!!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2013

We needed a room last minute and had a WONDERFUL experience! The front staff was super friendly, giving us a great rate and tons of perks! The wine hour was really fun and the food was excellent. Jeff, the bartender, was awesome! My only complaint is the lounge chairs at the pool were in need of repair, but otherwise everything was great. And the breakfast was good, too!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Todd M, Manager at The Domain Hotel, responded to this review, August 7, 2013
Dear Emster1073,

Thank you so much for your positive comments. I have checked our pool furniture and we are having them repaired right away. I apologize we didn't catch this earlier. We look forward to serving you in the future

Sincerely,

Todd Metzger
Front Office Director
Domain Hotel * A Joie De Vivre Hotel
1085 E El Camino Real, Sunnyvale CA
Tel: 408-247-0800
Fax: 408-984-7120
!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

594 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    333
    178
    54
    16
    13
See reviews for
64
79
76
318
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (130)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Meadow Vista, CA
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 24, 2013

We are budget minded travelers, looking for comfort.
This was our second stay at The Domain. Both times were equally enjoyable. It appears to be an old "motor lodge" located on El Camino Real that was completely renovated to look nothing like a motor lodge on the inside. Sleek and spacious lobby. Check in has been fast both times.
The weekend rates are highly discounted as the hotel thrives on the weekly business crowd. We were automatically upgraded before we arrived, and upon arrival received a second upgrade to a suite, with breakfast coupons for both days. Awsome!
The suite upgrade was nice, but I don't think I would pay the suite price to stay there. It has two walk out balconies, two flat screen tv's, and was quiet until the construction crew working two buildings away started work. But that's what happens when you sleep in on a Monday morning.
Our "raison d'etre" was the Mountain Winery, and the hotel location is quite convenient at about a half hour easy drive.
Our room was on the thrid floor facing the street and overlooking the pool. Traffic or people noise was not an issue.

Room Tip: Be sure to join the "Joy of Life" club before making your reservation. At the least, you...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Todd M, Manager at The Domain Hotel, responded to this review, July 29, 2013
Hello RIC95722,

We would like to thank you for choosing The Domain Hotel for your stay in the Bay Area. Nothing is more gratifying then receiving positive comments from our guest. The Mountain Winery is beautiful and we hope you enjoyed the suite!

Please don't hesitate to reach out to me directly before your next stay if you need help with reservations.

Sincerely,

Todd Metzger
Front Office Director
Domain Hotel * A Joie De Vivre Hotel
1085 E El Camino Real, Sunnyvale CA
Tel: 408-247-0800
Fax: 408-984-7120
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Honolulu, Hawaii
Senior Contributor
48 reviews 48 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 20, 2013

Stayed for 5 nights. Room looks a lot bigger in the picture. It's clean and comfortable. Air condition is loud when it turns on, so loud that you can't hear the tv, but we got used to it. It's next to the main street, but hear no street noise. Didn't wake up early enough to try the breakfast. Garage parking elevator takes you right to the room floor. The location is the best part. Takes 15 minutes to everywhere we wanted to be: San Jose, Santa Clara, Palo Alto, Cupertino, and Milpita. There is a lot of great Asian food all around the hotel, we also had great pizza at the next mall.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Todd M, Manager at The Domain Hotel, responded to this review, July 29, 2013
Hello Honolulustar,

Thank you so much for your comments about our hotel. We are actually replacing many of our air conditioning units this year. Thank you again and we look forward to seeing you in the future!

Sincerely,

Todd Metzger
Front Office Director
Domain Hotel * A Joie De Vivre Hotel
1085 E El Camino Real, Sunnyvale CA
Tel: 408-247-0800
Fax: 408-984-7120
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego, California
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 19, 2013

This review has been a long time coming but that just supports my following comments even more. I frequent the Domain and absolutely love the hotel and staff. Its boutique atmosphere makes it feel much more like home .Jeff the bartender is awesome. He always treats me to a smile and good to see you again. The breakfast server is always there when you need her. Finally, the check-in staff, ALWAYS courteous and spot on with the check-in. I love the room set up and how the hotel is managed. If you have the opportunity to stay in Santa Clara this is the place!

Room Tip: Book early and watch for the upgrade specials as your reservation gets close. There a bonus!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Todd M, Manager at The Domain Hotel, responded to this review, July 20, 2013
Dear Troutmmr,

Wow! Thank you for your positive comments. We take guest satisfaction very serious and always want to put out a great room product. We are so happy to have you as a regular guest and look forward to seeing you again!



At your service,

Todd Metzger
Front Office Director
Domain Hotel * A Joie De Vivre Hotel
1085 E El Camino Real, Sunnyvale CA
Tel: 408-247-0800
Fax: 408-984-7120
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 18, 2013

I had an excellent stay at the Domain. The staff is very friendly. The nightly Happy Hour was a definite plus; especially the great drinks poured by Jeff the bartender. He was friendly and always had a cheerful demeanor.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Todd M, Manager at The Domain Hotel, responded to this review, July 20, 2013
Dear SSAPP317,

Thank you so much for your comments. We are proud of the happy hour that we recently have added. It has been a huge hit with our guest! Stay tuned for an all new drink list and more upgrades to the food and beverage menu. It will provide you with taste of Northern California!



At your service,

Todd Metzger
Front Office Director
Domain Hotel * A Joie De Vivre Hotel
1085 E El Camino Real, Sunnyvale CA
Tel: 408-247-0800
Fax: 408-984-7120
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 18, 2013 via mobile


I traveled up for a weekend to hang out with friends. There must have been something going on in the area, room prices were over $200. I called this hotel after reading positive reviews on Trip Advisor. Very professional on the phone and helped me get a far better rate than was showing for other hotels on expedia. Staff was great! Britten and Holly were fantastic. Clean and easy stay with a real retro -zen like feel. Loved it!

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Todd M, Manager at The Domain Hotel, responded to this review, July 20, 2013
Dear Passportstamps19,

We always recommend booking with our hotel directly, then we can provide the exact service and room type you may need. Thank you so much for you comments about our staff. Holly is one of our newer additions and we will let her know her hard work is paying off.



At your service,

Todd Metzger
Front Office Director
Domain Hotel * A Joie De Vivre Hotel
1085 E El Camino Real, Sunnyvale CA
Tel: 408-247-0800
Fax: 408-984-7120
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 15, 2013 via mobile

Jeff & Fitz in the bar and Britany at the front desk made my 26 day stay one to remember.
Reasonable drink and food prices to boot!
Whenever I come to the South Bay Area this will always be my first choice.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Todd M, Manager at The Domain Hotel, responded to this review, July 20, 2013
Hello Yodave53,

Jeff and Fitz are customer service rock stars! Thank you so much for your positive comments. We look forward to seeing you in the future.


At your service,

Todd Metzger
Front Office Director
Domain Hotel * A Joie De Vivre Hotel
1085 E El Camino Real, Sunnyvale CA
Tel: 408-247-0800
Fax: 408-984-7120
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Domain Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Domain Hotel

Address: 1085 East El Camino Real, Sunnyvale, CA 94087
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Sunnyvale
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 35 Hotels in Sunnyvale
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — The Domain Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 136
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This boutique hotel in Silicon Valley is ideally located where Sunnyvale meets Santa Clara, Domain Hotel offers travelers a contemporary feeling hotel that infuses the technology vibe of the valley through its services and amenities yet embraces the natural outdoor beauty of Northern California through its inspired decor offering guests a unique choice in room type - tranquility or awakening rooms. The stylish guestrooms feature flat-screen LCD TVs, sleep number beds and ample work space. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Hotels.com, Expedia, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, Booking.com and Tingo so you can book your The Domain Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Domain Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.