We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Hidden diamond” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The Domain Hotel - a Joie de Vivre Hotel

Save Saved
You added The Domain Hotel - a Joie de Vivre Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
The Domain Hotel - a Joie de Vivre Hotel
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   1085 East El Camino Real, Sunnyvale, CA 94087   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Stay & Play Package!
Ranked #2 of 34 hotels in Sunnyvale
1 review
“Hidden diamond”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 23, 2013 via mobile

I had a wonderful stay there but it is to pass it by it looks more like an apartment
!lovely inside and very clean not too many smiles from the front desk but professional!I had a pizza and drinks at bar from a funny and friendly bartender his name started with a j but not sure!there is nothing like a good bartender to make a bad day good!I would refer people here just hard to find overall good experience!

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Todd M, Manager at The Domain Hotel - a Joie de Vivre Hotel, responded to this review, June 30, 2013
Hello Veronica,

We are delighted to have you as our guest and look forward to serving you in your future stays in San Jose! We will pass on your comments to Jeff.

Please come back and see us anytime!

Sincerely,

Todd Metzger
Front Office Director
Domain Hotel * A Joie De Vivre Hotel
1085 E El Camino Real, Sunnyvale CA
Tel: 408-247-0800
Fax: 408-984-7120
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

484 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    260
    148
    49
    16
    11
See reviews for
47
74
70
265
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (98)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
San Jose, California
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 23, 2013

My wife and I went to visit fiends who were staying here. We hadn't heard of it before. Boy, were we pleasantly surprised! Nice, clean grounds, Easy parking.The lobby was very inviting. We met our friends for drinks at the Bytes Bar during happy hour. The bartender,named Jeff, was very friendly and made us feel welcomed. Our friends said they were very pleased with their room and they were glad they stayed here. Overall, we all agreed The Domain Hotel was a hidden gem and we will definitely recommend it to all our friends.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Todd M, Manager at The Domain Hotel - a Joie de Vivre Hotel, responded to this review, June 30, 2013
Hello Stephen,

Thank you so much for your positive comments, we will ensure Jeff knows about them!

Please come back and see us anytime!

Sincerely,

Todd Metzger
Front Office Director
Domain Hotel * A Joie De Vivre Hotel
1085 E El Camino Real, Sunnyvale CA
Tel: 408-247-0800
Fax: 408-984-7120
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atascadero, California
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 21, 2013

We have stayed twice now in the past few months. Everyone at the Domain is very friendly and helpful. The atmosphere is beautiful, I LOVE the free parking, and they were very accommodating to our large group. The rates were very reasonable, and the location is quiet with easy access. The breakfasts were very nice, and the rooms were very clean and comfy. I loved too that they had a fridge, that was very helpful to our family. Thank you , thank you!

Room Tip: They do have adjoining rooms, that would be fun to ask for if you are traveling with others. I have...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Todd M, Manager at The Domain Hotel - a Joie de Vivre Hotel, responded to this review, June 22, 2013
Dear Margie,

Thank you so much for your comments. We'd be happy to help you with booking in the future, if you would like adjoining rooms please don't hesitate to contact me in advance so we can have it set up for you.

Sincerely,

Todd Metzger
Front Office Director
Domain Hotel * A Joie De Vivre Hotel
1085 E El Camino Real, Sunnyvale CA
Tel: 408-247-0800
Fax: 408-984-7120
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sunnyvale, California
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 21, 2013

We've attended several small conventions at this hotel and have always been impressed by their level of service and willingness to make things work. There's plenty of space for side conversations in this striking, arty layout. The central elevator connects the garage with the conference areas for easy set-up and take-down, even if it's raining. Rooms surround the conference area; there's no long inside commute. Jeff, the energetic, enthusiastic bartender at "Bytes" can get you smiling at the end of a long day.

Room Tip: There's a nice view of the Santa Cruz mountains from the South Facing rooms. If your conference...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Todd M, Manager at The Domain Hotel - a Joie de Vivre Hotel, responded to this review, June 22, 2013
Dear Gerald,

You have a great eye for detail. We are delighted you enjoyed your stay. Please come back to see us soon!

Sincerely,

Todd Metzger
Front Office Director
Domain Hotel * A Joie De Vivre Hotel
1085 E El Camino Real, Sunnyvale CA
Tel: 408-247-0800
Fax: 408-984-7120
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 20, 2013 via mobile

This place was great! I'm going to stay here every time I'm in the area! Very pleased with the service & overall hotel! Very comfy beds, great restaurant, fitness center & pool! The ambiance of the hotel as a whole is great, the decorations are beautiful & the workers are great!

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Todd M, Manager at The Domain Hotel - a Joie de Vivre Hotel, responded to this review, June 22, 2013
Dear Katie,

Nothing is more gratifying then receiving positive comments from our guest! Thank you so much. Please come back to see us soon!

Sincerely,

Todd Metzger
Front Office Director
Domain Hotel * A Joie De Vivre Hotel
1085 E El Camino Real, Sunnyvale CA
Tel: 408-247-0800
Fax: 408-984-7120
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gilroy, California
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 19, 2013

If you are looking for a very comfortable, friendly place to stay in the Sunnyvale area of CA, the Domain Hotel is the place to stay.
My experience of the Domain where I have had many an evening both as a venue for meetings and events has been nothing but positive. Despite the fact that the group I work with are a non-profit organization and the rooms we use for our meetings and venue are donated to us by the Domain Hotel, the staff have been nothing but supportive, helpful and courteous. All our needs are met to our specification constantly by a friendly staff. I would highly recommend this hotel for meetings and venues, clean and comfortable with a focused staff making sure that you have a constant satisfactory experience.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Todd M, Manager at The Domain Hotel - a Joie de Vivre Hotel, responded to this review, June 22, 2013
Dear Patricia O,

Nothing is more gratifying then receiving positive comments from our guest. Your comments are greatly appreciated and will only help us continue to improve. We are aware that you have many options when choosing where to stay while traveling and we thank you for continuing to choose us.

Sincerely,

Todd Metzger
Front Office Director
Domain Hotel * A Joie De Vivre Hotel
1085 E El Camino Real, Sunnyvale CA
Tel: 408-247-0800
Fax: 408-984-7120
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 19, 2013 via mobile

And on it goes on; consistent, fantastic service, friendly and personable staff, ways conversational and always interested and attentive. I dig. Staying at this place, I've been coming to the domain for 4 years, and in that time I've never had a bad stay

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Todd M, Manager at The Domain Hotel - a Joie de Vivre Hotel, responded to this review, June 22, 2013
Dear Kingswood,

Wow! Thank you so much for your loyalty to our property. Please don't hesitate to contact me if you need any help booking future reservations.

Sincerely,

Todd Metzger
Front Office Director
Domain Hotel * A Joie De Vivre Hotel
1085 E El Camino Real, Sunnyvale CA
Tel: 408-247-0800
Fax: 408-984-7120
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to The Domain Hotel - a Joie de Vivre Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Domain Hotel - a Joie de Vivre Hotel

Address: 1085 East El Camino Real, Sunnyvale, CA 94087
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Sunnyvale
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Sunnyvale
#2 Family Hotel in Sunnyvale
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — The Domain Hotel - a Joie de Vivre Hotel 3.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The newest boutique hotel in Silicon Valley ideally located where Sunnyvale meets Santa Clara, Domain Hotel offers travelers a contemporary feeling hotel that infuses the technology vibe of the valley through its services and amenities yet embraces the natural outdoor beauty of Northern California through its inspired decor offering guests a unique choice in room type - tranquility or awakening rooms. The entire hotel has been renovated as of January 2008 and new guestrooms feature flatscreen LCD tvs, sleep number beds and ample work space. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Loews Hotels, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Booking.com, Tingo, BookingOdigeoWL, Despegar.com, Priceline, Agoda and Venere so you can book your The Domain Hotel - a Joie de Vivre Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Domain Hotel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Domain Hotel - a Joie de Vivre Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.