We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good hotel in Sunnyvale” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The Domain Hotel - a Joie de Vivre Hotel

Save Saved
You added The Domain Hotel - a Joie de Vivre Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
The Domain Hotel - a Joie de Vivre Hotel
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   1085 East El Camino Real, Sunnyvale, CA 94087   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Stay & Play Package!
Ranked #2 of 34 hotels in Sunnyvale
Dallas, Texas
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Good hotel in Sunnyvale”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 13, 2013

good clean spacious rooms. extremely friendly and helpful staff at all hours. free parking and free wifi. The sleep number mattress and its adjustable setings made for two very comfortable nights of sleep.

Ony inconsistency across three diferent stays was the hot water experience in the shower. Did not have a problem on one stay. The hot water did not last for more than 2 minutes the second and this last time, the water did not get past lukewarm in the morning.

That said, all the other things about this hotel are attractive enough that I will be making a reservation for my next trip in February.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Todd M, Manager at The Domain Hotel - a Joie de Vivre Hotel, responded to this review, January 14, 2013
We would like to thank you for choosing The Domain Hotel for your stay in the Bay Area. Nothing is more gratifying then receiving positive comments from our guest. We apologize for the water temperature issue and are committed to solving this issue. We are excited to serve you in the future.

Sincerely,

Todd Metzger
Front Office Director
Domain Hotel * A Joie De Vivre Hotel
1085 E El Camino Real, Sunnyvale CA
Tel: 408-247-0800
Fax: 408-984-7120
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

481 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    258
    147
    49
    16
    11
See reviews for
46
74
69
264
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (97)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Tonganoxie, Kansas
Top Contributor
63 reviews 63 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 12, 2013

First, the Staff was very nice, both at the front desk and in the breakfast dining area. The hotel lobby is welcoming, and over all it was a very nice hotel. My room had a refrigerator and nice amenities. The shower had hot water.

However, the Sleep Number bed in the room didn't work, which left me trying to sleep on a very uncomfortable bed. There was never any hot water in the sink and although the room had a state of the art thermostat, it didn't appear to be connected to anything. If it was still in the process of being installed, a note would have been nice; but there was nothing, except the old-fashioned wall unit that sounds like a jet engine and either provides too much heat or too much cold.

So, I brushed my teeth in ice water, I froze all night long because I couldn't run the heater and have any hope of sleep and the bed surface was as hard and unforgiving as if I had been sleeping on the ground. I was there for two nights, and to be honest I just told myself I was on a camping trip and managed to get through it.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Todd M, Manager at The Domain Hotel - a Joie de Vivre Hotel, responded to this review, January 14, 2013
I would like to thank you for choosing The Domain Hotel for your stay in the Bay Area. I would like to personally apologize for the heating/ water temperature issues you experienced during your last stay, this is not the level of service we look to provide at anytime, and have made updates to plumbing in attempts to solve this issue. Your comments are greatly appreciated and will only help us continue to improve our service. Thank you for your comments.

Sincerely,

Todd Metzger
Front Office Director
Domain Hotel * A Joie De Vivre Hotel
1085 E El Camino Real, Sunnyvale CA
Tel: 408-247-0800
Fax: 408-984-7120
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fountain Valley, California
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 8, 2013

I would like to comment on the employee, Jensine. She was very helpful, and made a difference in our stay. We were impressed with her professionalism, and customer service. She did not deliver the usual robot-like service we usually experience, but rather felt that she genuinely did want to help us and answer our questions. You should have more employees like her - she definitely makes a difference!

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Todd M, Manager at The Domain Hotel - a Joie de Vivre Hotel, responded to this review, February 12, 2013
Thank you for choosing The Domain Hotel for your stay in the Bay Area. Your survey and comments are greatly appreciated and will only help us continue to improve! Rest assured that your positive comments were shared with Jensine!

Thank you for your continued business,

Todd Metzger
Front Office Director
Domain Hotel * A Joie De Vivre Hotel
1085 E El Camino Real, Sunnyvale CA
Tel: 408-247-0800
Fax: 408-984-7120
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bay Area
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 31, 2012

Great hotel. Access to rooms through underground parking lot. Free parking and great free breakfast. A little bit better than their sister hotel down the street (wild palms). Rooms on the top level all have balconies. Very quiet hotel. Executive rooms are corner rooms and feature a living area and fridge. This is also a remodeled hotel and its a bit more upscale from their sister hotel. Maids tend to keep to themselves. More of an upgrade and the suites are definitely worth it. The bathrooms have a jet spa tub with entrances both from the living area and bedroom. Black out curtains work well. There is also a pool that is hardly used. CLose to a lot of fast food places.

Room Tip: corner suites are the best option.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Todd M, Manager at The Domain Hotel - a Joie de Vivre Hotel, responded to this review, January 14, 2013
We would like to thank you for choosing The Domain Hotel for your stay in the Bay Area. Nothing is more gratifying then receiving positive comments from our guest. We are excited to serve you in the future.

Todd Metzger
Front Office Director
Domain Hotel * A Joie De Vivre Hotel
1085 E El Camino Real, Sunnyvale CA
Tel: 408-247-0800
Fax: 408-984-7120
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Moab, Utah
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 20, 2012

I needed to visit the San Jose area so I headed to the internet seeking a hotel close to the airport at a reasonable price. When I found the DOMAIN I was impressed by their website and how they described their rooms. I'm a "constant" traveler so a nice, quiet and relaxing room is very important to me. Many times you read a good description of a hotel but then when you "land"...you say OMG. Not this one.

DOMAIN was easy to find and had a great relaxing atmosphere. Free & easy parking is always a plus. The rooms were extremely clean and the bed was to die for!! Very impressed by the staff as well. I highly recommend this hotel to you travelers!

I stayed at this hotel twice in one month...on my way to Hawaii and on the way back.

Room Tip: 3rd floor worked for me.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Todd M, Manager at The Domain Hotel - a Joie de Vivre Hotel, responded to this review, December 22, 2012
Your comments are greatly appreciated and will only help us continue to improve. We are aware that you have many options when choosing where to stay while traveling and we thank you for continuing to choose us and sharing your experience with the world!

Todd Metzger
Front Office Director
Domain Hotel * A Joie De Vivre Hotel
1085 E El Camino Real, Sunnyvale CA
Tel: 408-247-0800
Fax: 408-984-7120
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 20, 2012

Very nice hotel with large spacious rooms. The location is perfect if you are on a business trip, they have a lot of restaurants in the vicinity. Overall a very positive experience, would definitely recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Todd M, Manager at The Domain Hotel - a Joie de Vivre Hotel, responded to this review, December 22, 2012
We would like to thank you for choosing The Domain Hotel for your stay in the Bay Area. Nothing is more gratifying then receiving positive comments from our guest. We are excited to serve you in the future.


Todd Metzger
Front Office Director
Domain Hotel * A Joie De Vivre Hotel
1085 E El Camino Real, Sunnyvale CA
Tel: 408-247-0800
Fax: 408-984-7120
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 18, 2012

I travel 30% of my life, one of my favorite destinations is the Domain hotel in San Jose!
I always feel like I am at home, they know my name and my requirements. Privacy is always a high priorty, the place is clean and afforable for like properties in the area.

They make a terrible business trip an absolute pleasure. Take the time to visit, you will return again and again.

Room Tip: Corner suites make you forget you are in a hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Todd M, Manager at The Domain Hotel - a Joie de Vivre Hotel, responded to this review, December 22, 2012
We are delighted to have you as our guest and look forward to serving you in your future stays in San Jose!

Todd Metzger
Front Office Director
Domain Hotel * A Joie De Vivre Hotel
1085 E El Camino Real, Sunnyvale CA
Tel: 408-247-0800
Fax: 408-984-7120
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to The Domain Hotel - a Joie de Vivre Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Domain Hotel - a Joie de Vivre Hotel

Address: 1085 East El Camino Real, Sunnyvale, CA 94087
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Sunnyvale
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Sunnyvale
#2 Family Hotel in Sunnyvale
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — The Domain Hotel - a Joie de Vivre Hotel 3.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The newest boutique hotel in Silicon Valley ideally located where Sunnyvale meets Santa Clara, Domain Hotel offers travelers a contemporary feeling hotel that infuses the technology vibe of the valley through its services and amenities yet embraces the natural outdoor beauty of Northern California through its inspired decor offering guests a unique choice in room type - tranquility or awakening rooms. The entire hotel has been renovated as of January 2008 and new guestrooms feature flatscreen LCD tvs, sleep number beds and ample work space. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Expedia, Orbitz, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Tingo, BookingOdigeoWL, Despegar.com, Priceline, Agoda and Venere so you can book your The Domain Hotel - a Joie de Vivre Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Domain Hotel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Domain Hotel - a Joie de Vivre Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.