We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not bad, but not great.” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Quality Inn Santa Clara Convention Center

Save Saved
You added Quality Inn Santa Clara Convention Center to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Quality Inn Santa Clara Convention Center
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   1280 Persian Dr., Sunnyvale, CA 94089   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Choice Privileges Points
Ranked #10 of 34 hotels in Sunnyvale
Seattle, Washington
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
27 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
“Not bad, but not great.”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 21, 2013

Husband had an out of town job, and I often join him when he goes. This was the room the company chose. The hotel is older, and a little run down, the biggest detraction for me was the lack of elevator, as I'm partially handicapped. But, we made due for the first few days and then were relocated down to the bottom floor. It's actually a large room with windows that open and close, which is nice in the California spring weather. The bed was huge. There is a small exercise room with a washer and dryer, and that was nice. The staff seemed nice as well. There is morning breakfast of the usual fare, nothing special, but it gets you going. Plenty of parking. There are a few cons:
The wifi SUUUUUCKS!!!! No excuse for bad wifi these days, esp if you style yourself as a business hotel. Also, the bathrooms are odd. The door opens and slams smack into the toilet, and it's actually tricky to enter the bathroom. You sort of have to squeeze in. The hotel is in an odd spot as well, and I wouldn't have chosen this one on my own, if I'd had the choice, to be honest.
The Vietnamese restaurant next door was great, and they were super nice to me!

Room Tip: No elevator, so if you're handicapped, ask for bottom floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

72 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    34
    18
    9
    2
    9
See reviews for
14
11
12
31
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (11)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Bloomfield Hills, Michigan
1 review
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 28, 2013

Very clean quiet room with everything you would need. Had a fabulous 3 nights stay. Staff were all very polite and helpful. Was delighted to see 2 new bottles of mineral water, snacks in the room. Stayed for 3 nights in early February. During my stay the hotel was changing Beds for the rooms.

We stayed on the Second floor in a King size room. It was newly remodeled. No funny smells which I am always sensitive to. The room had a nice big flat screen TV, fridge, microwave, coffee maker, iron and ironing board, reclining chair and other furniture's. The shower and toilet area is very clean.

Complimentary hot breakfast included coffee, juices, make-your-own waffles, cereals, generic pastries, yogurt, bananas, apples and oranges. Egg omelet patty, potato tater tots and sausages were kept in a warming tray Everything refilled several times, no shortages.

Most importantly I must commend on the outstanding staff, they recognized my elite membership with choice hotels. I never expect to enjoy 3-star hotel service at average price.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego, California
1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed November 6, 2012

The room was adequate. However, accidentally left my watch upon checking out. Within a few hours later when I realized I left it in the room, I called the front desk but the hotel clerk was not helpful and didn't want to be bothered. Called again and got the same response and the watch was gone. A hotel with good standing would have immediately looked into it and saved the watch for me to collect it. I would not expect the staff to steal an expensive item that was left by a customer who repeatedly inquired about the item the same day it was left.

If you should choose to stay in this hotel, beware of your valuables and make sure you don't forget anything because you will never see it again.

Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
South Carolina
Top Contributor
60 reviews 60 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 41 cities Reviews in 41 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 31, 2012

This dirty, dingy, run-down motel is hideous. The desk clerk refused to accept a U.S Army ID card as identification, he refused to acknowledge status as 'platinum member' and was excessively rude. There's mold in the bathroom and the windows haven't been cleaned since my last visit. The exercise machines are on their last legs or alredy dead. I stayed here three years ago and hoped for some improvements. Sadly, I was mistaken. This is, by far, the worst Choice motel in the country. I'll sleep in my car before staying here.

Room Tip: To choose a good room here, go ANY where else!
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Elk Grove
1 review
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 18, 2012

My room was clean and comfortable and had many amenities. There was a small fridge, microwave, coffee pot and supplies for coffee, ironing board and iron, hair dryer, and a big flat screen television. The room was very clean and felt safe. The location was in an out of the way place, and when I arrived I was a little surprised by this, but overall the stay was comfortable and I thought the price fit the room.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com

Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bellingham, Washington
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2012

This is only the second Quality Inn I have experienced but they have both been excellent. The manageress was charming and professional and the high standards were carried throughout the hotel. The room was clean, comfortable and well equipped with complimentary wifi. We were too tight for time to use the pool but it looked clean and there was a fitness room and coin operated laundry. The breakfast was the icing on the cake with a good selection including eggs, bacon and sausage and a waffle maker. I wonder if all Quality Inns are this good?

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charleston, il
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 19, 2012

We were VERY pleased with our accomodations! The hotel was very clean everywhere; the personnel were very friendly and helpful; the beds were super-comfortable; the breakfast was extensive and well-maintained. And the price was very reasonable.
Highest marks in every category!

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Quality Inn Santa Clara Convention Center? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Quality Inn Santa Clara Convention Center

Also Known As:
Quality Inn Sunnyvale
Sunnyvale Quality Inn
Address: 1280 Persian Dr., Sunnyvale, CA 94089
Location: United States > California > Sunnyvale
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#9 Business Hotel in Sunnyvale
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Quality Inn Santa Clara Convention Center 2*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Sunnyvale Quality Inn Centrally located Only One mile from Santa Clara Convention Center and Paramount's Great America, this value hotel offers superb amenities, business features, package specials, excellent guest services and fine features. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, Priceline, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Tingo, HotelsClick, Choice Hotels, Agoda, Venere and Otel so you can book your Quality Inn Santa Clara Convention Center reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Quality Inn Santa Clara Convention Center, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.