We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The best kept secret in the bay area” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Comfort Inn

Save Saved
You added Comfort Inn to your Saves list
Comfort Inn
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Comfort Inn
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   595 North Mathilda Avenue, Sunnyvale, CA 94085   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #19 of 34 hotels in Sunnyvale
Santa Barbara, California
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“The best kept secret in the bay area”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 19, 2011

I almost hate to write this review because part of me doesn't want to let the cat out of the bag. This is the area's best kept secret as far as hotels go. And part of what I like about it, is that it's civil and quiet and clean. It never seems crowded or noisy like a lot of hotels in this price range. You won't find children riding the elevators or running up and down the hallways here. Most of the guests are business travellers, who keep to themselves and there is a real civility about the place you don't see much of anymore. If you're looking to get some work done and a good night's sleep-this is the place for you. I've stayed here many times over the past 4 years, both for pleasure and business. And I always come back. It's the best deal in the area. You're in the heart of silicon valley, a short drive to San Jose, 40 miles to San Francisco. Close to SFO airport. There is all kinds of shopping and dining in the area. Try and avoid the rush hour as traffic is bad up and down the bay area. But you're so close to many of the small towns around silicon valley, each with their own charm and distinctions. It's conveniently located not too far off the freeway, but far enough to avoid the noise of traffic.

I stay in hotels around 100-300 days out of the year. And this place is better than a most of the "bigger" chains I've stayed in- who charge about 1/3 more the price.
The rooms are large, with great amenties (huge TV screen, DVD player, fridge, microwave). Comfortable, clean and quiet. That's what I like. The service is also very good. I've always been treated with respect and they do there best to accomodate my needs.
Bookng in advance always gets you a better deal.

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

11 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    2
    8
    1
    0
    0
See reviews for
1
1
3
7
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (2)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Bangalore
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 22, 2009

Comfort Inn, Sunnyvale, CA is a good choice for business travellers who want to stay with all comfort at resonable rates. The rates are very attractive, and what you get is a good deal for the facilities available.

The hotel has a mini kitchenette and is good for a quick breakfast or dinner, but that may not be needed given the wide of choice of dining places surrounding the hotel. Facilities available include wireless internet and complimentry breakfast.

One of disadvantages, if you are shopaholic, is that most shopping destinations are minimum of a mile away form the hotel.

Overall, good value for the business only traveler.

  • Liked — Lodging Facilities
  • Disliked — Location
  • Stayed June 2008, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pasadena, California
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 24, 2008

This really is a nice motel. I typically stay at Hampton Inns, but in an attempt to save money, I've been trying out some of the other chains. In my estimation, this specific motel is comparable to an average Hampton Inn in terms of cleanliness and overall feel of the room. It's superior to any Holiday Inn or Holiday Inn Express that I've stayed in. The gentleman at the front desk was very courteous. The lobby itself isn't much, but who cares about that sort of thing. There is also a nice little sushi restaurant called Sushi Club that is just a 3 minute drive from the place that is quite good (most of the clientele are Japanese).

The room came with a flat-screen HD (?) television. The bed was firm and very comfortable. I got a room that faced the main avenue in front, but there was no noise that kept me from having a good night's sleep.

Nothing fancy, but really solid.

I just think that for the price, you can't beat this place.

  • Stayed November 2008, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Monterey, California
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 7, 2007

Quiet, safe, and clean. All I needed for a business stay. I found the facilities to be more than adequate, the room was large and comfortable, and the location near highways 237 and 101 was extremely convenient. I'd stay here again.

  • Liked — Clean and inexpensive.
  • Stayed February 2007, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fairfax, VA
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
38 hotel reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
44 helpful votes 44 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 23, 2006

On the surface, the room was fine. Typical Comfort Inn decor. The room also had a refrigerator and microwave. Internet is wired or wireless and worked very well. The problems I had were all little, but added up to be annoying...

- No obvious sign on building to indicate the lobby. The building looks like an office building and has multiple entrances none of which looked like the lobby. I tried them all and finally found the lobby.
- Extreme lack of TV Stations. They only had 12 stations. Take out the all news stations, The Weather Channel and the HBOs and you only had 5 or 6 "general purpose" stations.
- Breakfast lacking selection and NO seating area. Had to take everything back to my room.
- Vanity was too tall for me (I'm 5'5") and the sink was mounted so far back that when I washed my face, my chest got all wet because the water wasn't going back in the sink, it was going on the counter.
- Pillows were hard as rock.

If you don't spend a lot of time in the room, those things may not bother you, but they did bother me. Location is good - right off 101 - near the airport and high tech companies. I think I might try a different hotel the next time I'm in the area.

  • Stayed June 2006, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Comfort Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Comfort Inn

Address: 595 North Mathilda Avenue, Sunnyvale, CA 94085
Location: United States > California > Sunnyvale
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free Parking Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #19 of 34 hotels in Sunnyvale
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Comfort Inn 2*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Despegar.com so you can book your Comfort Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Comfort Inn Sunnyvale
Sunnyvale Comfort Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Comfort Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.