We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Bathrooms need updating” 3 of 5 stars
Review of BEST WESTERN Silicon Valley Inn

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added BEST WESTERN Silicon Valley Inn to your Saves list
BEST WESTERN Silicon Valley Inn
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   600 North Mathilda Avenue, Sunnyvale, CA 94085   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Stay 2X get $50 gift card
Ranked #10 of 35 Hotels in Sunnyvale
El dorado hills
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Bathrooms need updating”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 17, 2012

The hotel rates are high for the quality of the stay. Old bldg. noisy stairs, outdated toilets, rooms with shaded windows. Different rates during weekdays, even if you book few consecutive days...they get away with the high rates due to the location and that most business people are writing off the lodging on their expense accounts.
...Just saying!!

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

196 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    54
    71
    41
    20
    10
See reviews for
21
31
25
108
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (34)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Sacramento, California, USA
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 11, 2012

The hotel room was pretty nice. It seemed like everything is new. It has a fridge and a microwave which is nice. It was also quiet.

The two bad parts were the hot breakfast and the wifi. The hot breakfast didn't taste very good. The eggs were bland and they try to make them taste better on Tuesdays and Thursdays by adding mushrooms. Nope, still bland. The sausage sucked and tater Tots on Tuesdays and Thursdays are not a replacement for the sausage even though the sausage sucked. The wifi was useless. I got 15%+ packet loss, which means the Internet was incredibly slow.

Wow, that sounded negative. But if you have your own Internet Service and eat somewhere else, this place is perfect. You can hang out, watch some reality shows, sleep well, and then go do whatever business stuff you need to do.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cincinnati
Top Contributor
145 reviews 145 reviews
42 hotel reviews
Reviews in 72 cities Reviews in 72 cities
60 helpful votes 60 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed November 27, 2012 via mobile

Got this room through Priceline as an average deal. The room was clean and had a comfy bed. WiFi performed OK although very slow when we first arrived. It's noisy here, though. I could hear water running in other rooms frequently, and someone stomping around in their room upstairs many times in the night. Breakfast had a few hot items, was included in the rate.

Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Teplice, Czech Republic
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 21, 2012

We stayed in the hotel just for one night on our way between SJ and SF. The hotel has a good location near the highway and is easy to find. Offers the BW standard incl. standard US breakfast. There is McDonalds oposite the hotel operating till midnight if you come late in the night and looking for something to eat.

Room Tip: Ask for the building A upper floors not facing the highway.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CA
Top Contributor
120 reviews 120 reviews
48 hotel reviews
Reviews in 53 cities Reviews in 53 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 1, 2012

Sometimes with the Best Western name you get great places and then you get 'not' so great places. This was on the longer rung of that rating. It was priced properly but had a room that was across from a paking lot from someone who was playing music very loud. It was unfortunate but the amenties in the room itself were acceptable. The shower head sprayed all over the room. Overall an average to below average experience.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kingston, Arkansas
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 8, 2012

Okay place to stay, not horrendous or anything. As I was squeezing between the wife and the bed, I realized that this place was the smallest room size I've seen since Hong Kong! I can kind of see it in Hong Kong, everything is gold-plated expensive there and compact is necessary, but this place is Silicon Valley. But no kidding, after I started looking at it, I noticed that everything seemed to be scaled down from normal size. The bathroom door wouldn't close til you backed around by the tub, the staircase from 1st to 2nd floor was about the size you'd find in a small tract house, the lobby was pretty miniaturized, the "grand" entry felt cramped (I'm only about 5'9" tall).

Other than the crampedness (if that's a word) didn't care for the low-def TV signal coming out of the odd electronic setup. Didn't make sense having a relatively decent flat screen TV with 1960's picture quality.

All in all, I wouldn't NOT recommend this place, but it's definitely a little quirky. The bed was pretty comfortable, and it wasn't particularly noisy, so I guess it's okay.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Top Contributor
62 reviews 62 reviews
52 hotel reviews
Reviews in 42 cities Reviews in 42 cities
65 helpful votes 65 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 26, 2012

Generally a good, clean, functional hotel. However, some comments:
(1) On three mornings of the five we stayed, there was no hot water supply. Had to shower with ice cold water!
(2) The breakfast area is too small and gets very crowded with people jostling around.
(3) It would be worthwhile to provide a direct access from the northern wing to the main (southern) wing, instead of going around the street.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kesh B, Manager at BEST WESTERN Silicon Valley Inn, responded to this review, September 27, 2012
Dear Guest

Thank you for taking time to review our hotel.

I would like to apologize for not exceeding your expectations.

Sorry about the hot water issue. One of our water heater failed over night ,and we installed a new water heater next day.

Sorry about the building situation, city of Sunnyvale doesn't allow us to make a drive way between two buildings, so we have to use a main street to enter in the next building.

We are really sorry any inconvenience.

Thank you for your stay

Kesh Bavaria
Manager
Best Western Plus silicon Valley Inn

If I can provide any assistance, please don't hesitate to contact me directly at 408-735-7800.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...

Been to BEST WESTERN Silicon Valley Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about BEST WESTERN Silicon Valley Inn

Address: 600 North Mathilda Avenue, Sunnyvale, CA 94085
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Sunnyvale
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#9 Business Hotel in Sunnyvale
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — BEST WESTERN Silicon Valley Inn 2.5*
Number of rooms: 100
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Best Western Silicon Valley Inn is a AAA Sunnyvale/Silicon Valley/San Francisco Bay Area hotel offering special value lodging. Hotel is centrally located near Paramount's Great America, Winchester Mystery house and Bay Area events and golf courses. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, BookIt.com, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Hotels.com and Odigeo so you can book your BEST WESTERN Silicon Valley Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Silicon Valley Hotel Sunnyvale
Best Western Sunnyvale
Sunnyvale Best Western

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage BEST WESTERN Silicon Valley Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.