We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location and Cost” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Ramada Sunnyvale/Silicon Valley

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Save
You added Ramada Sunnyvale/Silicon Valley to your Saves list
Ramada Sunnyvale/Silicon Valley
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   1217 Wildwood Avenue, Sunnyvale, CA 94089   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save 15%; Earn 500 Points
Ranked #16 of 35 Hotels in Sunnyvale
Write a Review

257 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    29
    82
    73
    42
    31
See reviews for
74
28
26
106
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (33)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
San Diego, California, United States
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 10, 2014

Very nice lobby, outside of rooms very run down. Rooms had nice furniture, flat screen, nice rugs, and comfy bed. That being said sheets were stained, pillows lumpy, and bathroom was way small. I mean extremely small. Door open is an inch from tub and almost brushes toilet when closing. As stated before the toilet seats are the wrong size and slide around. I'm 5'9 and was eye level with the shower head, which got water all over the floor from bouncing off the back wall. The sink and mirror were outside the bathroom and extremely nice, also liked full length mirror on back of bathroom door. Great fridge, full size desk and plugs on every lamp. Heater/ac unit was at least 20 year old with weird pipes and electrical coming out of floor and ceiling. Took about 8 mins to start blowing hot air. We also had the same gap at the door to floor, luckily it was cold so no ants. Window is huge which was great for light, but twice had loud conversations right outside. Otherwise did not hear neighbors, but our bathroom must be up against the maintenance room as banging on the back wall was very common. Room was over all very clean, a few chips in bathtub and poor wallpaper job and my personal pet peeve....dirt in the light switches. Overall bathroom was a 1 out of 5 and room brought the score up. Staff was very nice. Brought us more pillows and very pleasant. Breakfast had waffles, eggs, bagels, pastries, fruit, cereal, sausage, ect. Was not impressed by restaurant, pricey and had a very strong fish smell. Location of this hotel is perfect. Just off the 101 on the edge of a quite neighborhood with a 711 a block over and great places to eat all out and down Lawrence Exp, highly recommend Tasty Subs and Bella's Cafe.

Room Tip: Ask to be away from maintenance office, by 103,
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miho T, Manager at Ramada Sunnyvale/Silicon Valley, responded to this review, February 26, 2014
Dear Lindsay H,

Thank you for taking the time out of your busy schedule to post your review on TripAdvisor. We appreciate your detailed feedback on your recent stay and we are certain your review would be helpful to other travelers interested in booking with us in the future.

We were pleased to learn our complimentary breakfast was satisfactory and found our staff to be pleasant. Your feedback, both positive and negative are important to us as making every guests stay comfortable is one of our goals to achieve.

Lindsay H, thank you again for your business and we look forward to welcome you back in the future.

- Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boulder, Colorado
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed February 5, 2014

For starters, I was in a wing in which all the rooms but mine were gutted. That made it seem creepy at the outset. The drains in the sink and bathtub were both very slow--yuck. The fan for heat was so loud I had to turn it off and froze all night.

The front desk personnel were nice and helpful, but I cannot imagine ever staying here again.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miho T, Manager at Ramada Sunnyvale/Silicon Valley, responded to this review, February 12, 2014
Dear Janet H,

Thank you for taking the time out of your busy schedule to post review on TripAdvisor. We apologize for the less than satisfactory experience during your stay with us.

Maintenance issues that you mentioned in the review will definitely be look into and resolve immediately. Again, we apologize to failed to exceed your expectations.

Despite a few maintenance issues you had experienced during your stay, we were pleased to learn that our front desk staff were nice and helpful to make your stay something positive. As we continue to work on our property upgrade, we hope you give us another chance to be in your service to make your stay right.

Thank you for choosing Ramada Silicon Valley. We appreciate your business and comments.

- Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michigan
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 27, 2014

The hotel is currently under renovation. Unfortunately, our room was not renovated. A little dirty, AC/Heat unit VERY loud, as a result we couldn't run it at night because it kept us awake and it got very cold. Broken hair dryer, unable to swivel TV for others to watch. Should be better once renovation is complete. Decent location, staff was friendly and it was quiet.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Ramada

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miho T, Manager at Ramada Sunnyvale/Silicon Valley, responded to this review, February 2, 2014
Dear Wendy L,

Thank you for your recent review on TripAdvisor. We appreciate both positive and negative feedback from our guests and we apologize for the areas that we fell short on your expectations during your stay.

According to our documentation, we found you called the Front Desk to report the hair dryer not working that our Front Desk staff immediately contacted Housekeeping supervisor to visit your room for inspection. Our housekeeping supervisor reported back to the Front Desk that hair dryer in the room was NOT broken, rather the guest requested to have a different dryer to dry hair quicker. We hope the alternative hair dryer that we offered you during your stay was acceptable.

In your review, you mentioned that TV in room doesn't swivel that I personally went to the room (Rm 154) to inspect. I am happy to report that TV does swivel; however I see why you may had trouble watching TV as this was set on the older furniture. Please know all guestrooms will be updated and we hope to resolve the issue that you had experienced during your recent stay.

Wendy L, we know you had many hotels to choose from and we thank you for giving us the opportunity to be in your service. We hope to welcome you back once we complete our current update. We appreciate your business and comments.

- Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
1 review
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 27, 2014

I booked the Remada online as I was attending a funeral in SanJose. I had never visited San Jose before so I wasn't sure what to expect. I booked at the Remada as my other family said they were staying in the same hotel. When we checked in I wasn't expecting much, the room was clean and presentable. I accepted that this was a Motel not a Hotel and that it did require a facelift.
There was no soul to this building and no welcoming feel.
My biggest disappointment was the cost - it was approx $96.00 a night for a twin share room.
Now soon I found out my family had checked out of the Remada as they were disappointed with the standard and were now staying at the Marriot Inn - which was located 10mins down the road. The Marriot Inn was luxury - for $10.00 more they got a king sized suite with a kitchen and lounge room and it was a newer building with a refreshing feel.
We ended up checking out of the Remada after seeing the Marriot Inn and had no Regrets.
Not a bad motel - just shop around as you can get more bang for your buck$$.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miho T, Manager at Ramada Sunnyvale/Silicon Valley, responded to this review, January 29, 2014
Dear LHath 1,

Thank you for taking the time out of your busy schedule to post review on TripAdvisor. We are sorry to learn that we didn't meet your accommodation needs.

As you may have noticed during your stay, we are currently in process of updating existing guestrooms. We are also planning to update common areas in the future. Your business and satisfaction are important to us that we appreciate both positive and negative feedback to improve our service.

We are glad to hear that you found the accommodation near by with little extra cost to meet your hotel needs. We hope you give us another chance to be in your service should you return to the area and welcome you back with updated property.

LHath 1, we thank you for choosing Ramada Silicon Valley. We appreciate your business and comments.

- Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Ramada Sunnyvale/Silicon Valley? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ramada Sunnyvale/Silicon Valley

Address: 1217 Wildwood Avenue, Sunnyvale, CA 94089
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Sunnyvale
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #16 of 35 Hotels in Sunnyvale
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Ramada Sunnyvale/Silicon Valley 2.5*
Number of rooms: 174
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Wyndham, Expedia, Cheap Tickets, Orbitz, Priceline, getaroom.com, Travelocity, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Ramada Sunnyvale/Silicon Valley reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ramada Inn Silicon Valley Hotel Sunnyvale
Ramada Inn Sunnyvale
Ramada Sunnyvale
Ramada Silicon Valley
Sunnyvale Ramada

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Ramada Sunnyvale/Silicon Valley, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.